Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 85 reviews
on March 6, 2017
hard read but intriguing look into how evil can justify itself
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2017
It was just okay.. but good if this interests you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2016
Item was as advertised & arrived promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2016
Great gift for my girlfriend , she loves it thanks Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
Item arrived in good condition. Very happy with order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2013
I live in Suburbs and visit my son often in Chicago. Feeling the vibes walking down some of those same streets and some buildings still existing (but very changed) gives you the feeling they're still there. The book was thrilling to read seeing the path he took in life - bullets flying - lives lost - and he makes it through to be brought down for TAXES.We also had the pleasure to visit Alcatraze Island and toured the prison - awesome walking tour - saw his cell - how he lived there for 15 years.The VD massacre still has questions unanswered ---- Loved the book for all the great history and each mans territory -their dress -corrupted cops butting heads/killed - and their crazy nicknames ! My husband and I recently went into Hillside-Mt.Carmel Cemetery and saw his family grave - beautiful and amazing he is right there.Google for directions very easy - then take his gang names with you and others great to see their names.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
An absolutely fascinating look into Chicago mobs in the Prohibition era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
Very happy with my order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
A very well-researched meticulous account of the life, career, and case-building that created the downfall of Al Capone, with many supporting characters (some with very short half-lives) and a great deal of period detail and some incredible trivia. Like if it hadn't been for Prohibition, the Lexington might have been sunk in 1942. (trust me on this one.)

Among other things, this is a guy you might want to have had a beer with, and the crooks are far more interesting than the good guys (only a few of whom were truly untouchable and competent). No wonder such glamor was associated with these guys.

Two other tidbits: President Hoover turns out not to have been as incompetent as we generally assume. And Boardwalk Empire fans will recognize quite a number of the real-life players in this dramatic retelling of the unintended consequences of our country's biggest self-inflicted Constitional error.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
Very interesting history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse