Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Noah Gundersen GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 343 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 421 reviews
on December 10, 2016
I originally saw the film and loved the action, the twists and the smooth and kindness of Chili Palmer. I read the book and it was very good, but the movie improved the depth of characters in seeing action and emotions the book glossed over. I am a book fan and almost never enjoy the movie over the text, but here the actors and director went over the top....I have watched this film several times over the years...and each time enjoy it more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2015
The book is rich and textured, an amazingly epic roller-coaster ride. The movie is, ah, done well for, I guess, how the screenplay was written but strips out all the reasons to love/hate the characters. And also, like all movies I reckon, it condenses various scenes into small totally made-up scenes that will give the audience the thin broth of what's happening without any meat nor any comfort food. Ouch! Worth a watch but definitely not a second watch, and falls way, way short of the pleasure of the novel. Look at me, hey, look at me..... love that line, Travolta's perfect as Chili.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2017
Probably John Travolta at his coolest here. The entire movie is a host of great catch phrases and cool. Probably need to watch this movie at least once a year for the charming sweetness of it all.. Love it - Wish Hollywood made more movies like this instead of the same comic book story over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2016
One of the few films based on an Elmore Leonard novel that succeeds in capturing the author's humor. The key is that all the characters are despicable and stupid. What's really funny here is how little difference there is between being a loan shark in Miami and a movie producer, except perhaps that the former is cooler. The criminals in LA aspire to being in the movies--and some succeed with the skills they have honed in their former profession. Given the characters, the viewer expects they will to try to "get" shorty by killing. Instead, they are trying to sign him to a film. Cleverly, the film may (or may not) be the story we are watching unfold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2017
Enjoyable film, if a little thinly plotted. Much like the Leonard novel, there are numerous colorful characters, giving the ensemble cast plenty of room to shine. Travolta is the star, and gets most of the best lines, but it's guys like James Gandolfini, Delroy Lindo, and Dennis Farina who steal the show. Russo and Travolta have fantastic chemistry, and Hackman's turn as the bumbling Harry Zimm is highly underrated comic relief.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2017
A really good movie. I thought that it would be more funny than it was, but it is well-written and well-acted.I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2016
great cast with great intertwining story lines culminating into a great finish. recommend it and the equally great Be Cool sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
Early in the 1995 film Get Shorty we see a clip of Orson Wells' film noir movie Touch of Evil, released in 1958. In the 1960s the French New Wave films paid tribute to American gangster movies. Elmore Leonard wrote the novel Get Shorty, on which this film is based.
Many Hollywood films are based on Elmore Leonard novels. Quentin Tarantino based his film Jackie Brown on the Elmore Leonard novel Rum Punch. Tarantino's film Pulp Fiction is a tribute to Elmore Leonard and other pulp writers. Out of Sight and Be Cool are also based on Elmore Leonard novels.
Get Shorty has an excellent cast: John Travolta, Gene Hackman, Rene Russo and Danny DeVito. All the action takes place in LA. The film is the story of two bit thugs and gangsters, the kind of people we find in pulp fiction novels.
For more information on this movie I recommend the editorial reviews on Amazon's product site and the special features on the blu-ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2016
Fun Movie. Many many great actors in this movie. One of John Travolta's best films. If your looking for a fun, star-studded movie to watch on a snowy night this winter, you can't go wrong with "Get Shorty."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2016
I like Travolta and his acting. He showed restraint in the role and this fact made me watched the mobie. Danny Debit was also good as well as the other actors. The ending was a surprise and unexpected
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse