Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 49 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 59 reviews
on November 30, 2014
Decent introduction. No outstanding bad qualities, but the writing isn't always as clear and unambiguous as I would like it to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
It's a good way to learn step by step clear and human programming
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2010
If you have an interest in Processing, you will want to start with this gentle introduction. This book provides straightforward example and clear, concise code. For 200 pages the book is heavy with graphics and example code.

The book provides an introduction to the Processing environment and to the fundamentals of the language. With the knowledge in this book you will quickly be doing graphical things on the PC - a lot faster than with any Microsoft development environment!

If your goal is to use a PC language to develop graphics and apps on a PC, but don't feel that you are a 'programmer', then this is the language and book for you. The book is approachable and the language is very clean. The result is after going through this book you will have the confidence to 'do things' on a PC that you didn't think you could do. Programming is within reach of 'non programmers' again.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2011
This book is nice introduction to Processing. Nothing more, nothig less. Book will explain all of basic concepts in very understandable way. Dont expect advanced topics.
Next nice thing on this book is speed how can you find answer for your problem. It helping me a lot at my jurney of learning coding :)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2011
After ten years of absence from programming (mainly Delphi and, yes, assembly language), one morning I had an idea that required me to jump in again. I didn't want to spend time and money explaining to some subcontractor how to make a feasibility study. I wanted to "feel" it my self. First I downloaded Processing and started tinkering with its clever examples. Then I decided upon a few reachable details of my personal project. Then, during two evenings in bed before falling asleep and a few km commuting by train, I swallowed this nice and useful book. It reassured me profoundly. Then I jumped in. Wow. I still am not regretting neither the few dollars nor the few hours spent on this book. All Processing tutorials and examples are OK, but consolidating this knowledge by reading the book was a winning decision. This is a must-read for anyone who has an idea of programming and wants to learn Processing (or Java, for that manner) by exploiting those times where accessing a computer is simply not practical.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2014
If you are not a programmer or have very little experience with languages like Java, then this book is a very gentle introduction. If you are an experienced programmer, then this book is a very fast read. Poke around the web, you will find a PDF version of this available for download free. (This is true of most O'Reilly books.)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
Very clear explanations and examples on getting started with the language.
Hope to get talking from my PC to Arduino soon.
Could have waited for the new edition, but the used copy I bought was priced right and looked like it was never cracked.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2011
For those of you older than 25 you may remember LOGO. Processing is kind of like this generation's LOGO and this book is a great introduction for Processing and programming in general. For beginners and kids this book is clear and gives a good headstart into coding. For more experienced programmers the book can be quickly skimmed through to get a basic idea of syntax and the cool things that Processing can do. Highly recommended! And cheap, too! There are $50 books that do the same thing and not as well.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
Being an introduction to Processing, and with about 200 pages, the book GSWP leaves several aspects of the language without mention. So it is not a recommended choice for someone who wants to develop serious work in Processing - for that I recommend Processing: A Programming Handbook for Visual Designers and Artists. However, its very low cost, nice presentation and streamlined explanations make GSWP very valuable for a quick introduction to the language. A 4.4 points book, not enough for 5 starts for the aforementioned reason.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
This is a great book for getting started with Processing if you have never coded before, but people that already know how to program probably should get one of the bigger textbooks by Daniel Shiffman or Casey Reas instead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse