Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$12.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 218 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 254 reviews
on April 12, 2017
Just FYI because too many folks are not specifying this in their reviews and just slamming the 2.0 version with CGI update: The original 1995 version IS included on the Blu-ray, but is strangely located under the "Special Features" menu item instead of on the main menu along with the 2.0 movie.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
some of the new CGI is a bit jarring, and felt unnecessary. But the cleanup and new CGI of all "digital displays" was actually welcome. Overall, it was a good replacement for my damaged old DVD of the movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2017
This edition is the same as the original story just added a bunch of tacky CG animation effects. The effects are distracting and I felt it cheapened the artistry compared to the original. Just watch 1.0
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
I didn't much care for the CGI sequences, they didn't add enough to the experience. That's my only gripe. GITS is a classic anime that everyone should watch, especially those inclined to the cyberpunk genre.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2017
The story deserves much more, but the combination of styles brings it down... I loved the original, but this seems more like a money maker than a reimagined version. Check out the other Ghost in a Shell movies/series. They are great. This is just confusing and annoying. The original will not keep you distracted. This is a great series. Please do not let this turn you away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2017
Has original version of movie as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
The beautiful animation of GITS has been replaced with some of the WORST 3d CGI animation I've seen. I got 2 minutes into the movie and it was unbearable. It is also exclusively english dub with no option for the original voice actors' dialogue with English translations. Horrible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2017
I wanted to see this video in anticipation of the live action film. I liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2017
well worth watching the original over this remaster. only a few scenes have new CGI and those scenes arent particularly significant or even well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2016
Great quality and a good remake to a classic. The only thing I am on the fence on was the added CG parts. The non-CG original was a bit better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse