Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Josh Too and the conflicts Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(3 star, Verified Purchases). See all 266 reviews
on May 2, 2017
Needs less dialog less BS and way better music - still its ok but i just get bored each time i try n watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2017
english dub rather than sub.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2017
I like the original movie better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2017
This edition is the same as the original story just added a bunch of tacky CG animation effects. The effects are distracting and I felt it cheapened the artistry compared to the original. Just watch 1.0
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2016
Not a whole lot different than the original.. a few updated graphical scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2017
Quality of Animation could be better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2013
For such a classic anime to be upgraded in a less than stellar way is quite sad, I say this in comparison to the Evangelion series of upgrades which are flawless.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2015
When I read that this had been remastered, and voices had been re-recorded, I was sold. Unfortunately, I came away disappointed after watching it. Some scenes were totally re-done using more modern CGI and it doesn't look very good. The rest of the movie, in contrast, appears untouched without an unremastered version to compare it to, so it feels like they just reanimated three or four key scenes in the movie and left the rest alone.

As for the voices, I can tell you that at least the English dub sounds just as stilted as it did in the original, and the lip syncing is terrible. Perhaps they only re-recorded the Japanese?

Either way, disappointing, and I'll need to buy a copy of the original.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2010
First and foremost, I want to mention I saw the original version when it was released in 1995/96.
It was a landmark narrative in terms of production and story line. Not since Akira did an animated feature
go beyond its boundries and become a solid classic sci-fi masterpiece. My jaw dropped during the opening
title sequence ( those green cascading numbers turning into letters have long since been ripped off (borrowed/homaged) by
the Matrix trilogy).

Now skip forward 14 years later to V2.0

Cons:

1.Not sure what the revision was about, It certainly doesn't add to the power of the original.
They added in modern CG to replace the most memorable shots. Transition is like going
from salt water to fresh water, a bit jarring. I suggest a V3.0 and fully render the entire
narrative. With the technology in full swing and past rendered features such as Appleseed
and Final Fantasy, its a shame that a full rendered treatment wasn't applied to the entire feature.

2.The overall color of the feature has gone from that greenish/blue tint to a yellowish golden
tint to better match the new CG.

3. The iconic title/credit sequences with the cascading numbers turning into letters has
been replaced with some modern bio/morphing sequences, to me this is near blasphemy.

Pros:
1. This BR disc has the original version for viewing the old classic. BT image itself is clean/crisp.

2. 6.1 DTS ES discrete sound (fantastic audio created with the help of Skywalker Sound)

3. some extras like The making of the GITS, production report.

I would recommend that whomever buys this BR disc view the original version ( If they've not experienced GITS before ) first.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2017
The 2.0 content is bizarre, lot's of unnecessary CGI content for a movie that was damn good as is. The original film is on here though (though I've found that it's hard to get to on some players--Corel WinDVD flat out refused to play the original film).

As far as the film itself goes: don't miss it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse