Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 15 reviews
on April 26, 2017
Great product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2013
These are three good to excellent albums from the late 70's -early 80's by a much overlooked artist. The sound quality is fine and I mainly sought this out because I could not find American Boy & Girl (not exactly a big hit at the time) in any format. Most of the songs have withstood the test of time, though a couple of the more pop oriented ones (mostly from One Eyed Jack - but there are some good tunes there as well) are slightly dated. The main reason for the 4 instead of 5 star rating is due to having to split the 3 albums into 2 CD's. Not really that big a deal unless you really were looking forward to a listening to each album straight through for some reason...

I could kick myself that I missed a chance to see Jeffreys at a very small, old theater venue recently because I had ticket to a 76'ers game that night. Doubly regretable because the Sixers @_$*$@!@! at this point.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
I always admired Garland Jeffries even though that major breakthrough seems to eluded him. These early albums for A&M made his reputation and you can hear why in abundance: gritty lyrics, smooth grooves, and a sound somewhere between Van Morrison, Lou Reed and Bob Dylan. Flash forward to his latest albums--including The King Of In Between--and you have a remarkably consistent artist whose vision and talent endures despite the commercial neglect. These are the albums that remain his core achievements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2012
Finally! It's a pleasure to see these wonderful albums on disc, especially the classic "Ghost Writer." Or is it really a classic? Time has a strange way of making some old favorite albums better than they really were, and I suspect "Ghost Writer" may be such a case. Yes, there are some fabulous songs on here, some of the best that Garland Jeffreys ever wrote ("Wild in the Streets", "Spanish Town", "New York Skyline), but the album suffers a bit from too many weak reggae-flavored tracks ("Why-O" and "I May Not Be Your Kind" are okay but not among his best tunes). In any case, it's nice to see the entire album on CD, as well as the entire "One-Eyed Jack" and "American Boy & Girl," two albums which didn't receive nearly the acclaim that "Ghost Writer" did, but in retrospect, they sound better to me now than they did way back when they were first released. The passage of time is certainly a strange thing, the way it shapes, and changes, your opinion. Whichever album you prefer, this 2-CD set offers lots of well-crafted songs from a artist who deserves MUCH more attention from the rock/pop/soul listening public. Garland Jeffreys is a great one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
My husband and his best friend were hanging out on night and started talking about old songs and he came home and asked me about this album. I told him Amazon would have it and he was so pleased when it was there at an affordable price and had EVERY SINGLE song he and his friend wanted to hear. It actually got him abck into his music again. HOWEVER, the process they used to burn it on must be highly new because it doesnt want to play in older cd players, it will skip around so be warned about that. Thats why I only gave it 4 stars otherwise it would have got 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2013
Kind of whipped me around in Seventies. He was one of very many that said "hey, go down this road for a bit", even if one night..

"If Mao could see me now".

Have now seen in concert in Phoenix area twice in last year or so: once with Jerry Riopelle, once with Springsteen. KIddos today under 50 don't even know who they're looking at. He certainly brought the urban to the desert airwaves all those years ago.

He set the table.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2011
Its about time that ghost writer is avaliable on cd. This is a lost gem of the album age and deserves its place with all the greats. It certainly was the inspiration for lou reeds great album new york just over a decade later. The sound and the songs are as fresh today as when they were originally released. Give it a listen and be transformed! the other two releases paired with ghostwriter are winners to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2013
I purchased this disc for the ghost writer disc. I stayed for the next two albums and was pleasantly surprised. I truly enjoyed this purchase. Thank you Mr. Jeffries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2015
FABULOUS 3-album compilation. I have been searching for a CD of One-Eyed Jacks for years and years. It sounds even better than I remembered!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2014
Unfortunately, to get Ghost Writer, you have to buy this 3 disc package. While the Ghost Writer songs are Garland Jefreys at his best, the songs from the other two albums are sub-par, especially the ones from American Boy and Girl, which seem like tedious exercises just to fill space on the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here