& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Sold by 8191_Media and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Gieseking Plays Schumann has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Connecting listeners with great music since 1972. All used discs and vinyl are inspected and guaranteed. Customer service is our top priority!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Gieseking Plays Schumann

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, October 2, 2001
"Please retry"
$19.76 $3.07
$24.72 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by 8191_Media and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

Gieseking is best known for his Debussy. In these recordings, Gieseking plays pieces from an earlier epoch in Schumann. Most of the heavy-hitting pieces of Schumann are found. I found his playing to be very striking and original. He was definitely not simply just "going through the motions." The dynamics were accentuated quite heavily, and the tempos were also accentuated. In addition, I found that Gieseking has a very sensitive, colorful tone in Schumann that also made him famous in Debussy (in the lyrical sections). Gieseking also captures the white-hot Romanticism and emotionality of these works, displaying Schumann as one of the greatest, red-blooded poets of the Romantic period. I hate to get into recording comparisons, but I would choose Gieseking over several other Schumann interpretations, including Rubinstein and Kissin. -- Theophilus

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Carnaval, Op.9
  2. Carnaval, Op.9
  3. Carnaval, Op.9
  4. Carnaval, Op.9
  5. Carnaval, Op.9
  6. Carnaval, Op.9
  7. Carnaval, Op.9
  8. Carnaval, Op.9
  9. Carnaval, Op.9
  10. Carnaval, Op.9
  11. Carnaval, Op.9
  12. Carnaval, Op.9
  13. Carnaval, Op.9
  14. Carnaval, Op.9
  15. Carnaval, Op.9
  16. Carnaval, Op.9
  17. Carnaval, Op.9
  18. Carnaval, Op.9
  19. Carnaval, Op.9
  20. Carnaval, Op.9
  21. Carnaval, Op.9
  22. Kreisleriana, Op.16
  23. Kreisleriana, Op.16
  24. Kreisleriana, Op.16
  25. Kreisleriana, Op.16
  26. Kreisleriana, Op.16
  27. Kreisleriana, Op.16
  28. Kreisleriana, Op.16
  29. Kreisleriana, Op.16
  30. Kreisleriana, Op.16
  31. Kreisleriana, Op.16
  32. Kreisleriana, Op.16
  33. Kreisleriana, Op.16
  34. Pno Son No.1 in f#, Op.11: Intro-Un Poco Adagio-Allegro Vivace
  35. Pno Son No.1 in f#, Op.11: Aria
  36. Pno Son No.1 in f#, Op.11: Scherzo E Intermezzo: Allegrissimo
  37. Pno Son No.1 in f#, Op.11: Finale: Allegro Un Poco Maestoso

Disc: 2

  1. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  2. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  3. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  4. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  5. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  6. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  7. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  8. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  9. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  10. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  11. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  12. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  13. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  14. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  15. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  16. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  17. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  18. Davidsbundlertanze, Op.6
  19. Fant in C, Op.17: Il Tutto Fantastico Ed Appassionato-In Modo D'Una Leggenda
  20. Fant in C, Op.17: Moderato Con Ergia-Poco Meno Mosso-Piu Animato
  21. Fant in C, Op.17: Lento Sostenuto-Il Tutto Pno-Poco Piu Animato
  22. Traumerei

Product details

  • Performer: Walter Gieseking
  • Composer: Robert Schumann
  • Audio CD (October 2, 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Classica D'oro
  • ASIN: B00005OAJ7
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #589,239 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all verified purchase reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on March 23, 2005
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse