Kindle Price: $0.99

Save $11.96 (92%)

Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Gifted (The Gilded Shackle Book 1) by [Griffith, C.T.]
Kindle App Ad

Gifted (The Gilded Shackle Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.9 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$0.99

Length: 258 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Matchbook Price: $0.00 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

A long-time fan of sci-fi and fantasy, C.T. Griffith began developing the world of The Gilded Shackle in the 1980's as a setting to run Dungeons and Dragons games. She has a total of nine books planned for The Gilded Shackle project, which will be the first of many other series set in the world. An avid tabletop roleplaying gamer and artist, she still plays and draws when she can. Ms. Griffith lives in the Midwest with her three borzois. You can see a list of her other works and her upcoming publishing schedule at www.ctgriffith.com.

Product Details

  • File Size: 1099 KB
  • Print Length: 258 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Bonnemeade Enterprises, Inc. (November 1, 2015)
  • Publication Date: November 1, 2015
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B017GJG39E
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #287,509 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The action is happening on different planet, where humanity has now come to live. Here they encounter the planet’s natural inhabitants, and we find out about a starship crash, where the survivors teach humans about “magic.” The different species evolve, and we then learn about the new species and their customs throughout the book.
We find out about the Special Reserve Humans who were sold because of their high quality, about magic demonstrations, and other fascinating details about this new world.
I loved reading about the main character’s adventures as he finds his way through the complicated world of politics and magic he finds himself in. Very well written, I couldn’t put this book down! I can’t wait for the next book in the series!
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Step into the world of the Empyrean. You will meet many characters and live in a world of magic and fantasy.

The characters that Ms. Griffith created in this story are entertaining and full of depth. The story focuses on Teine and person he is gifted to. However there are so many secondary characters that keep you entertained.

The story also did a wonderful job of describing the environment so that you felt like you were there. This is a intriguing story of a fantasy world where their is plenty of action, danger, magic, and adventure.

When you open the first page be prepared to be swept into a fantasy with intriguing characters that make you keep turning the page until the very end.

Read and reviewed for Kylie's Fiction Addiction. I received a gift copy in exchange for an honest review.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I haven't finished this first book, about 3/4 through, but I bought the next one and I am sad that the author doesn't have more. Luscious character development and world building. Mostly clean, nothing graphic, well, so far. Well written as far at grammar and editing. I love the story. I thought it was a children's book by looking at the cover, but it definitely is not. I am mesmerized. C.T. Griffith, please get your butt in gear and write more!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I just finished your first book in the Gilded Shackle series. Terrific! The beginning captured my attention right away. I liked the characters and the world seemed complete with enough mysteries to keep me wondering. The social concepts in the book have depth and it seems there is room for the story to expand in many directions. The writing reminds me Anne McCaffrey's work, which is high praise from me since she is one of my most favorite authors.

Another plus is that the Kindle version is basically error-free. I have been reading so many Kindle books that they don't appear to be edited at all. It is pleasant to find one that doesn't distract with missing words and errors.

I do have to note that the cover art, however, gives the impression of being a book for a very young audience, which it is not.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I downloaded the sample of this book, giving it a chance despite my initial reaction to the cover. The sample hooked me and I had to buy the novel in its entirety. C.T. Griffen did a wonderful job with world building and character development. Gifted follows the story of Tiene, a young human slave on the cusp of manhood. The flow and undercurrents of the story are highly reminiscent of Anne McCaffrey to me, which is saying a lot because she is one of my all time favorites. I seriously teared up for a second because the nostalgia of my childhood was re-created so perfectly. Now, in saying that... this is not for children. Unless the children are like me and have a college reading level when they are in the fifth grade. It has many adult themes and lots of action and magic! Gifted is a fantasy novel worth reading. Well done, C.T. Griffith! I cannot wait to read the second installment!

P.s. I loved this book so much, I bought a print copy!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I found this book to be a dellightful fantasy with some interesting and unexpected plot twists. The main character, Tiene is a young man with a bright future ahead of him that suddenly goes in a completely new direction when his masters, the elf-like Aoife decide he should be a "stud" and he is gifted to the heir to a large estate. His new master is decidedly "odd" and reacts to the magic storms in a unique way. The characters and pacing of the story kept me engaged and I enjoyed the author's very different take on humanity's place in the universe of the future. A charming fantasy by a new author and I can't wait to read the next installment!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
From the first page, I knew three things.
1. This is not my usual genre.
2. This is well written.
3. This is intriguing.

C.T. Griffith has written a novel that is reminiscent of the works of Anne McCaffrey. She has created an enchanting world with all of the makings of an epic

This story follows​ Tiene as he enters manhood and is whisked away to fulfill whatever duties are set to him by his masters. I cannot wait to read the next book!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Gifted (The Gilded Shackle Book 1) by C.T. Griffith is a mix of science fiction, fantasy, paranormal, and pagan folklore. Don’t be fooled by the cover as I was, Gifted is not a children’s or young adult book. While advanced readers in those age groups could read the words, more mature readers will better understand the complex plot and themes.

Gifted is set on another world that is filled with magic and lore. This world is ruled by Empyreans who have enslaved the humans after they arrived on this planet. Ms. Griffith’s descriptive writing provides wonderfully rich settings that are easy to visualize while reading. The plot is action-packed, and the tension builds throughout the story. The ample plot twists kept my engaged. Ms. Griffith has interspersed this complex political tale with a few touching moments and some humor; however, it is mostly a tale of political power struggle with a very large cast of characters.

The massive cast of characters all have imaginative, and impossible to pronounce, names that are sure to delight avid fantasy fans. I am sure each of those names was mispronounced in my mind while I was reading! The main character, Tiene, is a young adult human male who is spared castration when his master, Aoife, decides that Tiene would make a good stud. Yes, the life of a slave can be dicey! Tiene and his compatriots are all wonderfully developed; it is easy to empathize with their situation and the political maze they must navigate while serving the ruling class.

Ms. Griffith has plans for a nine book series that is sure to be an epic Fantasy tale of adventure. Fans of Sarah M. Cradit’s The House of Crimson and Clover series are sure to enjoy Ms. Griffith’s fantasy series as well.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Gifted (The Gilded Shackle Book 1)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Gifted (The Gilded Shackle Book 1)