Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Noah Gundersen GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,293 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,371 reviews
on December 18, 2016
This movie is an inspiring story on every level. I would not have heard of this autobiographical story except for Dr. Ben Carson's run for the presidency this year. He grew up in tremendous poverty in inner-city Detroit, and was well down the road to failure. All he had going for him was his single mother, who was illiterate but deeply faithful. She would not let her boys give up. When they wanted to watch television, she demanded they read books each week and report to her. An adolescent crisis turned young Ben to faith, and cemented his commitment to scholarship.

His increasing achievements in university and medical school were not enough to fully blunt the idiotic prejudices of a few people in his career. Dr. Carson overcame these obstacles the way minorities often do: by working harder and achieving more. Dr. Carson became a pioneer in pediatric neurosurgery, becoming the first to separate conjoined twins joined at the head in a 24-hour marathon operation in 1987.

Dr. Carson appears in a cameo in the movie with his wife - see if you can spot him! He is interviewed in a special feature, and is astonishingly humble and genial for such a phenomenally talented man. I will only add that I expect America to benefit from his public service starting next year.

No, not everyone is capable of doing everything. Nevertheless, this movie should inspire the hopeless, who have given up on improving their lives: you can do better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2017
WOW!! I've always had a soft spot for Cuba Gooding, Jr. and again he gives a stellar performance in showing us how one can do anything you put your mind to if you have the faith, a good mother, a great wife and a desire to do your best and to constantly strive to rise above oneself whenever possible. This story, which is based on true incidents tells all of us that if we really want, we can become the best of the best, if that is our desire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2017
Wonderful true story. Amazing what a little motivation can do for your children. A mother who couldn't read raised two gifted and talented boys to help others. Ben Carson is one of her sons. He is now our Housing and Urban Renewal head of state after a very successful career as a pediatric surgeon at Johns Hopkins Hospital. Very inspiring!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2016
This is a wonderful, inspiring movie about Doctor Ben Carson, who is currently running for the GOP nomination for President of the United States. In watching this film, it makes you aware of what a compassionate, intelligent, hard-working, truly-caring individual he is. Cuba Gooding, Jr. does an OUTSTANDING job portraying Dr. Carson throughout the course of the movie. The film is very well done and very detail-oriented. If you are looking for an insight into the character of Dr. Carson, this would be an excellent film to watch and add to your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
When growing up in Detroit, young Ben Carson faced many challenges, as his mother raised Ben and his brother by herself, the family had financial challenges, and the boy's anger sometimes led to violence. But his mother was determined to steer Ben and his brother in a positive direction, and she prevailed, instilling in her boys both a deep Christian faith and a love of learning (despite her own illiteracy). He ended up becoming perhaps the world's greatest brain surgeon. Having retired of surgery, he continues to inspire millions by his positive example.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2017
After viewing the preview from another film, this movie should have won a film award. I gold my mom about this movie, then friends and family and it's been passed around so much, I've only seen it once
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
Ben Carson is the intelligent, humble, God-fearing type of individual that would make a GREAT President. He has the intellect and wisdom to seek knowledge and understanding from other persons before making national decisions, should he feel lacking in some particular aspect. I would be honored to be led by a man of such intelligence and character. I loved the fortitude he has shown to come from started to where he is now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2016
This was a Great Movie to watch I Loved how Cuba Gooding Jr. played Ben Carson he did a Great job playing him .. Cuba Gooding Jr. is a Good Actor I Love watching almost all his movies ,I think they made a Good choice picking him to play Ben Carson's role. All the other actors were good in this movie as well its a Good Family movie to watch I recommend it this movie really touched my Heart !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2015
Excellent movie which my husband and I watched last year. Quite a riveting account of Dr. Ben Carson's life; what he came from and decisions he made to turn his life around. Now, one of the top pediatric neurosurgeons in the U.S., this movie is worth watching with a very climatic conclusion in the end. Cuba Gooding Jr. and Kimberly Elise are phenomenal actors well cast in their prospective roles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
Wonderful portrayal of one of America's blessed and gifted surgeons. We have shared this movie with several friends that were unaware that it existed, even as Dr. Carson pursues the Presidency Of The United States. As the American people are calling for wholesale change in our political structure, perhaps we need to forget the professional politicians and put our trust into a devoted and trustworthy individual who is not constantly looking for future votes, but measures things as to what is right.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse