YED Save up to 90% on textbooks Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 New Year, New You Valentines Day STEM Shop Popular Services animestrike animestrike animestrike  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Shop Now NYNN

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 48 reviews
on May 1, 2013
I'm running a Hackintosh build with this board, and it overall works fantastic. There are a few things that you should be aware of about this board, though, both in general and Hackintosh specific.

One of the most important things to know, both for Windows and Mac, is that this board is picky about what power supply it's paired with due to its "all digital" power management. A lot of folks dismiss this issue assuming everything that meets the ATX standard will work, but that's simply not the case. My Seasonic 850W 80 Plus Gold ATX12V/EPS12V Power Supply - X-850 SS-850KM would only sometimes work with this board - When I try to power it on, one of the case fans often spins up a tiny bit, then nothing. I've triple checked all the connections and there are no shorts or anything, and have verified both that the PSU works with other boards and that another PSU works with this one. Others have experienced this issue, too, search Google and Youtube for details. I'm hoping that Gigabyte can address this with a future BIOS revision, version F11 and the F12 beta do not fix it.

According to my research, the following PSUs have had at least one owner encountering this issue:
-Corsair CX750 (Forum post on tonymacx86)
-Corsair Enthusiast Series TX850M (YouTube comment)
-Corsair AX860i (YouTube video by babak91)
-EVGA NEX650G Gold (Amazon Comment by Thoraya Binzagr, thanks!)
-Gigabyte Odin GT 1200W (Review on another site)
-Pc Power and Cooling Silencer mk ii 950w (YouTube comment)
-Seasonic 850W 80 Plus Gold (My own personal experience)

Others have reported success with the following PSUs:
-Antec TruePower Trio (This is what I'm currently using, from my previous build. Now discontinued.)
-Cooler Master M2 Series
-Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold Series
-EVGA NEX650G Gold
-Seasonic Platinum
-Thermaltake (model not specified)
-XFX (model not specified)

Of particular note is that many Corsair PSUs have issues, as the CX750 is recommended alongside this board by the "CustoMac Pro" Hackintosh build on tonymacx86, yikes.

Another general issue is RAM speed detection. I don't know whether to blame my RAM or my motherboard for this, but my Corsair Vengeance 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory (CMZ32GX3M4X1600C10) was not detected as DDR3 1600Mhz, and I had to enable the XMP profile in the BIOS for it to run at the full 1600Mhz speed.

There are also some Hackintosh-specific issues:

-The green audio line out in the back suffers from skips and drop-outs in OSX (but works great in Windows). This is easy to work around, though. Just use the orange or black line outs, or the front headphone out, or the optical out as none of those ports have issues. Just configure which output to use in System Preferences. I have not tested HDMI audio.

-The Wi-Fi from the included card does not work with OSX. It uses an Atheros chip, which to my knowledge there isn't a reverse engineered driver for yet. The Bluetooth from the same card works, but you have to connect it to one of your internal USB 2.0 headers in addition to taking up the PCI Express x1 slot.

-While I have not verified this personally, reports are that Thunderbolt devices cannot be hot plugged, and must be switched when the computer is off. Otherwise Thunderbolt works fine, though the controller does not show up in System Profiler.

-Peter's excellent review reports that USB 3.0 devices connected via the board headers and the VIA chip only get USB 2.0 speeds in OSX. I have not verified this as I don't have any USB 3.0 devices yet.

Even despite these issues, this is a great board, and I recommend it for anyone who wants a VERY future-proof Hackintosh. One of the other reviews says that the board does not have a firewire port, but this isn't correct. There is no port on the back, but the board has the necessary header to connect a front port. If your case does not have a port, there are 5.25" bays that can add one using this header, in addition to other goodies like USB or card readers. Speaking of headers, the board is loaded with them. There are 3 internal USB 3.0 headers (enough for 6 ports without a hub), two USB 2.0 headers (2 ports each) in addition to the expected controls for HD audio, switches and LEDs on the front. I can verify that the ports from the USB 3.0 and the red-colored USB 2.0 header will power and charge devices even when the computer is powered off.

For a Hackintosh, you'll want to use no DSDT (which removes a lot of configuration and frustration), and use the following Multibeast settings for Mountain Lion:
-UserDSDT or DSDT-free installation
-Drivers & Bootloaders -> Drivers -> Audio -> Realtek ALC8xx -> Without DSDT -> ALC898
-Drivers & Bootloaders -> Drivers -> Network -> Intel - hnak's AppleIntelE1000w v2.1.7
If you're using integrated video, that's it. If you're using an NVIDIA card, you'll also want to check:
-Customization -> Boot Options -> GraphicsEnabler=No
66 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2012
What a pain in the ass at first since I'm a total newb. Damn its running strong tho!

Love it!

OS: OSX Mountain Lion 10.8 + Windows 7 Ultimate x64
CPU: Intel i7-3770K (Clocked to 4.4 Ghz on air)
RAM: 32 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
GPU1: EVGA GeForce GTX670
GPU2: EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti FPB
PSU: Antec TPQ-850 850W
HDD: 256GB GB SOLID STATE for Win 7, 128GB for OSX, 5TB Rotational's (7200RPM)
1515 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2014
This board has EVERYTHING going for it. mSATA with intel hybrid drive configuration (takes an SSD and a mechanical drive, and pairs them as a "super" hybrid drive), dual thunderbolt ports, plenty of I/O and PCIe and USB 3, and so on... It's even GREAT for running as a Hackintosh...

So why the low score?

This motherboard is PLAGUED by a power supply incompatibility that appears to be related to it's PowIR regulation technology. It appears that cheaper, single rail PSUs (under 700 watts) tend to work well with this board, but when you get into multiple rail PSUs of higher wattages, people are running into absolutely INSANE incompatibilities!

The motherboard often does not even complete the POST before powering down, whenever you try and power it up on an incompatible PSU. IF you can get it to stay on long enough, sometimes you can run the board flawlessly then!. On my current 950 W PSU, It can take over 100 pushes of the power button before it "sticks". Then I'll get MONTHS of up time! Suffered a power outage last month... a FEW HUNDRED power cycle attempts before it stayed on... It took OVER AND HOUR to power up, pressing power repeatedly, every time it shut itself down!

If you run the PSU under a tester , or another mobo, it's PERFECTLY FINE!!! If you run the Z77X-UP5 TH on a lower power, cheaper PSU, it starts first try! It's absolutely insane, and there are people who STILL don't believe it!

The general consensus seems to be that it has to do with power rail loading balance. Gigabyte used PowIR chips to regulate the power to the CPU, vs the traditional discrete Power MOSFETs controlled externally. Modern motherboards get 12 volts DC from the PSU, then use MOSFETs to regulate that power down to lower voltages for the CPU. Those lower voltage regulated sources have MUCH higher currents though. If you sent a motherboard 1.8 volts at 100 Amps, you'd need insanely thick wires and they'd get very hot. Passing low voltage, high current through wire will waste more of the total wattage available as heat, than passing high voltage, lower current. Its the same principal behind the high power transmission lines between the power station and your home. Likewise, in order to efficiently get power from the PSU to your CPU, the power is transmitted as higher voltage (12 volts), lower current. This is regulated to a lower voltage, but higher current, and this is where the PowIR technology of the Z77X-UP5 TH seems to falter...

Many computers now require more power on 12 volts than can be safely delivered by a single power source, so larger power supplies tend to have multiple 12 volt "rails". It just means you have extra 12 volt supplies side by side. Each one can provide it's own independent power to different parts, like you GPU, or your hard drives... or your CPU. It's believed that the PowIR technology might be faulting out when two different power rails supplying CPU power become unbalanced during power up due to one PowIR chip drawing more power than it's neighboring chips. Maybe the rise times of the different rails don't match, or maybe the loading is different enough to cause differing voltage drops, and the supplies take a fraction of a second to compensate.

I don't know... Whatever is happening... The motherboard glitches out and immediately shuts down, before the POST can even be performed! once you are passed the PSU's power rail rise times... It seems the motherboard may stay operational on the supply for MONTHS!

Apparently, the Thunderbolt ports won't work on a Hackintosh without first being "activated" from Windows. Some firmware thing, I think... Between this and the PSU issue, it makes the extra money I spent on this board to get Thunderbolt utterly worthless, as I built a stroked Mac OS Hackintosh machine, and don't run any type of Windows on it! I could have saved $100 and AVOIDED the PSU issues by going with a different mobo...

/)_-

For all the trouble I've had going through different power supplies, to find one that works with it... I simply CAN NOT recommend this board.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
Tons of features, amazing performance. Couldn't be happier!

Dont hesitate with buying this board. Its incredible.

I have it running with an i5, EVGA GT 640 and 16gb DDR 3 and an SSD. This thing just screams!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
So, foolishly I figured a better power running board would in theory help me to increase my OC substantially on my 2600K... well it didn't. But! It is rock solid at 4.5GHZ and this board is feature-rich! Have no need or desire to upgrade to Haswell, or Ivy at the moment, but if the time comes, Ivy is plug-n-play in this late to the game board.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2013
dual booting windows 8 and mac mountain lion works great for both. I had a little trouble with the board keeping the correct time replaced the cmos battery and reinstalled the bios and no problem after that. Overall I am happy with this motherboard
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2015
one of the best motherboard out there period test overclocked Z77 Duel Thunderbolt foot the bill AND DELIVERS THE GOODS U CAN BET on that and I dare anyone to say different , don't waste your tine if you have never use one nor understand how to get the most out of this board sure I have many other brands of motherboard under my belts ASUS.MSI,Intel, do I need to go on and a few lower motherboards when I SAY LOWER I TALKING THE PRICE. THE Big guns (Intel, Asus ,MSI ,ASRock ,GIGABYTGE) NOT NECESSARY IN THAT ORDER
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2013
On the first build and OS install, don't mess with the factory BIOS except to activate ACHI if using a SSD, and XMP if you have performance memory modules.Simply load the programs one at a time and restart if the program ask for a restart. This is a Gigabyte product, it's designed well, it's tested well, it works well. My self made rig is a Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, I use four G-Skill Trident X memory 2400 mhz modules with the heat spreaders still attached, a Samsung 840 Pro SSD, Intel 3770K, all fitting nicely inside a Corsair 600T white case. Here is the secret to make it fit and work everyone....you must break from conventional wisdom where your cpu fan pulls air from the front of the case and pass it through to the back of your case. You must install your Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX or similar size Zalman product vertically, with the front of the fan facing down and the rear positioned up blowing towards the top of your case. When installed this way all four memory slots are filled with four millimeter to spare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
I only had to re-assemble the PC and check the plate for the motherboard panel as it was sightly blocking the thunderbolt port, this is a common issue and im glad i found the solution on forums using Google as i thought the first time that the thunderbolt port was not the same size as the apple cables.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
This board is solid. Installed all new components, turned it on and everything worked out of the box.

1 - I made a few changes in the BIOS: Set memory profile to XMP, set to RAID
2 - Installed Windows 8 Pro from DVD.
3 - Installed Gigabyte included drivers off of 2 included CD's.
4 - Opened Intel Storage Manager and setup a RAID1 array with the 2 3TB drives.
5 - Formatted the 3TB RAID1 as GPT basic volume. Windows recognized full 2.7 TB array.
6 - Everything worked great out of the box, no errors so far. I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised.

System:
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH motherboard with BIOS rev F11 pre-installed
USB3 front panel included with motherboard
WIFI / Bluetooth card included with motherboard
i7 3770k CPU
Cooler Master 212 Plus cpu cooler
32 GB DDR3 1866 MHz GSkill ram
Intel 180 GB SSD (OS installed on this drive)
2 x 3TB Seagate drives configured in RAID1 array (GPT format, basic volume)
Corsair CX500 power supply
Rosewill Challenger case (older version without USB3 headers)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse