Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Assassin's Creed Origins Shop Now HTL17_gno

Gimme Some Truth
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$30.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on October 8, 2010
If you are looking for most of John Lennon's 2010 remastered albums but can't quite part with $150 for the Signature Box Set, then this is the perfect package for you! For only $30, you get 72 lushly remastered tracks packed onto four thematically assembled discs. The compilers have been generous--PLASTIC ONO BAND & ROCK & ROLL are included in their entirety, while IMAGINE, WALLS & BRIDGES, DOUBLE FANTASY and MILK & HONEY are missing just a track or two each (It's So Hard/Going Down On Love & YaYa original/Dear Yoko/(Forgive Me) My Flower Princess & Grow Old original respectively). Personally, the themes are fine--but with a few extra downloads and some playlisting, you can have most of the Signature box set at pretty amazing price. BUY GIMME SOME TRUTH!
66 comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 15, 2015
I love the way these John Lennon classic's are put together! Instead of chronological order they made four unique greatest hits. #1 John's greatest political song's, #2 John's greatest love song's, #3 John's greatest Philosophical song's, & #4 John's Rock & Roll Roots! Packaged like a mini Box Set it offer's way more material than any "Greatest Hits" well suited to satisfy more than just a casual fan. And yet I would feel comfortable recommending it to a casual fan because it plays like a musical biography of John Lennon's life! The Beatles are arguably the Greatest Rock & Roll Band of all time! While "The Rolling Stones" have longevity on their side as well as a monstrous song catalogue of great quality what the Beatles did in roughly a decade is incredible with so many industry first's this would turn into a essay if I tried to list them all. As individual artist's they all proved after they broke up that each one of them were musical geniuses, each enjoying great success! I would recommend this collection of music to any John Lennon fan or fan of classic Rock & Roll!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 30, 2015
This is the best John Lennon collection of his hits for the money, whether you get the physical CD or the digital version. These are all the latest 2010 Remasters that coincided with Lennon's 70th Birthday. Only a few cuts are missing from a couple of albums and the rest of the albums are complete. I won't repeat which tracks are missing as other reviewers have already mentioned them but you do get the live version of "Yer Blues" by The Dirty Mac (why they credit it to the Plastic Ono Band here is a mystery) which is John Lennon, Keith Richards, Mitch Mitchell and Eric Clapton taken from the December 11, 1969 "The Rolling Stones Rock And Roll Circus" CD and DVD as a nice bonus.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 11, 2010
This four-CD, 72-track collection is a long-overdue replacement for the 50th-anniversary 1990 LENNON four-CD set, which, interestly, had 73 songs. The major difference between the two sets is that LENNON (compiled by Mark Lewisohn) was in strictly chronological order, starting with "Give Peace A Chance," and ending with "Grow Old With Me"; GIMME SOME TRUTH, like THE JOHN LENNON ANTHOLOGY, assigns a theme to each CD: Disc 1, "Working Class Hero," features John's political songs; Disc 2, "Woman," contains love songs and "relationship" songs about the women in John's life; Disc 3, "Borrowed Time," showcases John's songs about life; and Disc 4, "Roots," goes back to John's rock 'n' roll days, and features all 13 tracks from 1975's ROCK 'N' ROLL album.

There are 55 songs common to both LENNON and GIMME SOME TRUTH. The 18 songs on LENNON that are not on GST include: "Blue Suede Shoes," "Money," and "Dizzy Miss Lizzy" (all from LIVE PEACE IN TORONTO 1969), "Well (Baby Please Don't Go)" (from LIVE JAM), "It's So Hard," "John Sinclair," "Come Together" (LIVE IN NYC), "Aisumasen (I'm Sorry)," "One Day (At A Time)," "Going Down On Love," "Angel Baby," "Whatever Gets You Thru The Night," "Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds," and "I Saw Her Standing There" (all live with the Elton John Band), "Dear Yoko," Forgive Me (My Little Flower Princess)," "Every Man Has a Woman Who Loves Him" (the Lennon-sung version), and "Grow Old With Me" (the original demo from MILK AND HONEY).

The 17 songs from GST that are not on LENNON include: "I Don't Want To Be A Soldier Mama (I Don't Wanna Die)," "Sunday Bloody Sunday," "Tight A$," "Only People," "You Are Here," "Meat City," "What You Got," "Beef Jerky," "Be-Bop-A-Lula," "Rip It Up/Ready Teddy," "You Can't Catch Me," "Peggy Sue," "Bring It On Home To Me/Send Me Some Lovin'," "Bony Moronie," "Ya Ya," "Here We Go Again," and "Grow Old With Me" (the George Martin-orchestrated JOHN LENNON ANTHOLOGY version).

The only thing I would have done differently with this set (aside from a few of the track selections) would have been to add a fifth disc featuring John's Beatle songs, perhaps titled "Come Together." While I realize that the focus of this collection is on JL's solo career, including some of his Beatle songs would have enabled his fans to do a "compare and contrast" between the Beatle and solo material.

This superb sounding-set is the best value for money of all of the new Lennon releases and is definitely worth purchasing.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2013
How can you not love this album, it's all John, I just cannot stand Yoko Ono, so, her, I try to not listen to her screaming/singing or what ever she thinks she does other than that...a great purchase if you love John, 4 CD'S set.a grest buy....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 8, 2013
Well if you like john music and really don't have to much of his music on hand. This package deal is the one to get and enjoy his music and know you will have the best. I am a great follow of his music and will always want to hear it. He a well miss brother in the rock n roll scene party on . He still number 1!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2017
John Lennon always a wonderful buy. This is a 4 disc set with limots on it. I'd buy it again, as a gift and recommend it to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 16, 2016
Ok
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 8, 2010
Great stuff here offered to us by capitol to help celebrate John's 70th birthday...what an awesome tribute to the genius. I have been a huge Lennon fan for many years now...as a kid, i always liked his music, but never really paid much attention to it. By the time i had entered 8th grade in school i had met a friend that was really into the Beatles music...i couldn't believe that she would actually be into an older band, and didn't quite understand why...next thing i know, she gave me one of their records to listen to as she had a double copy...the album was Magical Mystery Tour..from that point on, the beatles have been my all time favorite rock and roll band. John Lennon on the other hand is my all time favorite musician ever!! Hands down!! Needless to say, i have collected all the Beatles discography on both album and cd, and all John Lennon discography on both album and cd....and of course the other 3 beatles solo music as well. It's always a pleasure to hear anything yoko releases from John that we haven't heard...however, on this box set, it's remastered classics from the genius himself. What a great job the team has done remastering all these wonderful songs...everything crystal clear as if recorded yesterday. not to mention the release of Double Fantasy "stripped down"...total classic!! great merchandise here to celebrate John's Birthday..i can't thank you enough to everyone that is responsible. If you're a true Lennon fan...there is no way possible you can go wrong with these new 2010 releases...what's not to like!!...I have only purchased this product, and the DF stripped down cd, so i can't review the other ones "signature box", " the hits"....but i'm sure they are as classic. After listening to the stripped down DF..i can't help but wonder how great it would be if there were a stripped down version of Yoko Ono's "season of glass" lp...her songs are so great on DF, now i want to hear the ones from that!. Anyway...all classic stuff here....don't hesitate at all, for any reason to buy this!! Well worth the money!! Happy 70th Birthday John, I will celebrate your birthday all day long tomorrow Oct. 9th with pleasure...and probably many many days ahead. R.I.P :(
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 30, 2014
You cannot go wrong with classic Lennon! Highly recommended for any fan of the Fabs or JOL ... (Man oh man, can you believe it's been 34 years now since he's gone????? Amazing!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse