Kindle Price: $3.99

Save $6.00 (60%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Girl Against the Universe by [Stokes, Paula]
Kindle App Ad

Girl Against the Universe Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 87 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$3.99

Length: 405 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up-The past few years have been hard on 16-year-old Maguire. She escaped injury in both the car wreck that killed three of her family members and the roller-coaster accident that injured two of her friends. Nor was she injured when a candle she left lit in her windowsill burned down the neighbor's house. Maguire believes she is a jinx. To cope, she has developed a litany of compulsive behaviors, not the least of which is isolating herself from other people lest she harm them inadvertently. When Maguire gets the opportunity to fly to Ireland to visit her deceased dad's family, she is determined to overcome her fears. Therapy and Jordy, a cute guy she meets at therapy, help her carry out her plan. A fledgling romance with Jordy, crippling emotional issues, a new town and school, and terrifying goals-this is a lot for Maguire (and readers) to manage. Throw in Jordy's reasons for needing therapy, and the story gets a bit dense in places. Still, teens will find in Maguire a compelling heroine. Her obsessive behaviors are depicted in convincing detail-the luck notebook she keeps, the periodic five-second checks she does of her surroundings, the ritualistic behaviors. Maguire's forays into wellness are anything but pat, giving her story additional credibility. The novel is written in first-person present tense, which may be distracting because it simply does not work in scenes such as the roller-coaster ride and the car wreck. VERDICT Teens who enjoy emotionally charged stories will appreciate this novel about resilience.-Jennifer Prince, Buncombe County Public Libraries, NCα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review

"Maguire is a brave, relatable character...There are friendships formed, family relationships tested and restored, and issues of identity explored. This is a satisfying and breezy book with likeable characters working through trauma to move to better, healthier places in their lives." (Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA))

"Stokes' engaging prose and sympathetic characters serve up great lessons in acceptance for teens dealing with trauma." (Kirkus)


"Romance fans will enjoy the slow, sweet, and tentative burn between the teens. Recommend to readers who enjoy Jenny Han or Maureen Johnson." (Booklist)

"An engaging story. Its true appeal lies with Stokes's well-developed characters and in the way Maguire and Jordy support each other's efforts to conquer the challenges they face." (Publishers Weekly)

"Teens will find in Maguire a compelling heroine. Her obsessive behaviors are depicted in convincing detail. Maguire's forays into wellness are anything but pat, giving her story additional credibility. Teens who enjoy emotionally charged stories will appreciate this novel about resilience." (School Library Journal)

"Filled with equal amounts of empathy, humor, and heart, Girl Against the Universe is an empowering story about finding the courage to piece your life back together, even when it feels irreparably broken." (Tamara Ireland Stone, NYT bestselling author of Every Last Word)

"I loved this sweet, slow-burn romance. Sports fiction at its best!" (Miranda Kenneally, bestselling author of Catching Jordan)

"Romantic, honest, and deep, Girl Against the Universe is one of those books where I couldn't believe that the characters were only a figment of the author's imagination-they simply jumped off the pages with their relatable flaws and hard-earned wisdom." (Sarvenaz Tash, author of The Geek's Guide to Unrequited Love)

"Absolute perfection. Completely magical. Girl Against the Universe is a poignant, beautiful story." (Ann Aguirre, NYT bestselling author of The Queen of Bright and Shiny Things)

"Stories like this are important to have in YA...Thoughtful stories need to be told about mental health." (YA Mixtape)

"An emotionally complex tale, Girl Against the Universe explores one teen's touching struggle with past trauma. Readers will laugh, cry, and root for Maguire as she fights to reclaim her life with the help of a dynamic supporting cast." (Mary Hinson, Senior Library Assistant)

"Girl Against the Universe is a must-read for anyone who has ever needed healing, anyone who loves athletics and team friendships, and anyone who enjoys a slow and fiery burn romance. Recommend 10000 times over." (The Forest of Words and Pages)

"I think the shining star of this novel is how positively therapy is portrayed. Honestly I wish I had this book after my mom passed away because maybe I would have gotten the help that I needed to deal with my issues." (The Perpetual Page Turner)

Product details

  • File Size: 1987 KB
  • Print Length: 405 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0062379968
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (May 17, 2016)
  • Publication Date: May 17, 2016
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B014DUHP5U
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #188,718 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Young Adult Books
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Children's Books
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on June 1, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Girl Against the Universe
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Girl Against the Universe