Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno



on May 7, 2015
We all love it when the underdog becomes the hero! From a past of pain and trauma, instead of becoming the atypical victim, Lisbeth (The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo), although introverted and emotionally withdrawn, rises to become a strong, intelligent, informational hacker with a style all her own. After being hired to dig into the past of journalist, Mikael Blomkvist, she concludes his innocence in a recent liable conviction against corrupt financier, Hans Erik Winnerstrom, that not only seemingly destroyed his reputation as a journalist, but also damaged the reputation of Millennium, the journalism company for which he worked, and landed him a jail sentence. While awaiting his predetermined arrest date, Mikael is hired by wealthy, Henrik Vanger, head of the large Vanger Company to solve the mysterious disappearance of his niece many years earlier, in exchange for his financial backing of the troubled Millennium. Meanwhile, Lisbeth, continues accessing Mikael's personal emails and eventually offers him assistance in solving Harriet Vanger's disappearance. They eventually become lovers and together solve Harriet's disappearance, while also uncovering a sadistic murderer in the process. Eventually the time comes for Mikael to serve his jail sentence and, although he hopes for a continued relationship with Lizbeth, he remains unsure of her feelings for him. This movie will surprise you with its twists and turns right to the end. My only complaint is it's in Swedish with English subtitles.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2017
The first in this compelling series, best action drama and mystery rolled into one, such presence from lead actors and support cast, a series you can watch over again after some time and forget certain details because of the complex plot and never be bored. Worth owning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2012
I was leary of watching this movie, one because it was "dubbed" and one I just didn't think it would be that good.

Well I was wrong. This movie got me from the beginning. The story was great and I was unable to solve it till the

end. Usually I can tell how a movie is going to end right away. Not this one, well done. The two main characters

play well off each other and are excellent individually. I really enjoy this story and highly recommend it to an

adult audience. The fact that it was dubbed did not take away from the movie at all, it was so well done that you

couldn't tell it was dubbed, even when paying close attention. The writing in the books and articles that the

characters looked at were even overlayed in english, so that all worked out well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2010
I was blown away by Niel Arden Oplev's film adaptation of Larsson's book, and especially intrigued by the character of Lisbeth Salander. As Roger Ebert commented in his recent movie review, the character of Lisbeth Salander, is more fascinating & interesting than the story itself. Salander is an extremely intelligent and resourceful young woman who possesses exceptional capabilities and displays a fierce determination to bring men who abuse women to justice. As a deeply wounded person who was the victim of rape and violence, she finds it very difficult to express herself in words but she communicates by action. The partnership that Lisbeth has with Mikael Blomkvist is a very interesting relationship -- both are forced into this relationship, they learn to respect and care for each other but are afraid to express their emotions openly.

The story line involves Mikael Blomkvist, the reporter of the Millennium magazine, and Lisbeth Salander, the intelligent & antisocial researcher hired by Milton Security, teaming up to find out what happened to Harriet Vanger, beloved niece of the billionaire Henrik Vanger, who vanished in 1966. Henrik Vanger hires Blomkvist and later on, Blomkvist enlists the help of Salander, to investigate the large Vanger family and to find out the truth of what happened to Harriet and who or what is responsible for her disappearance.

Much of the success of this movie goes to the gifted director Niels Arden Oplev, who initially turned down the project but who was convinced later on by the producer Soren Staermose to do the project on condition that he was given complete artistic control over cast, script, length, editing, etc. His artistic style shows in every aspect of the movie. The characters come to life, there is visual poetry as Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkist do the research on the Vanger family tree and the clues begin to emerge. The pacing of the movie is excellent and the movie builds to a satisfying climax and resolution.

Much credit goes to the outstanding actress Noomi Rapace for embodying and bringing the Salander character to life in this excellent first film adaptation. One of the wonderful special features in this DVD is the extensive interview with Noomi Rapace where she discusses how she was able to transform herself to play and embody the Salander character, how she figured out how to play Lisbeth, what life was like in the 1 1/2 years she spent in playing the role in the Trilogy, and how she felt about playing the character. The Special Features also provide a preview of The Girl Who Played With Fire, and a diagram of the Vanger Family Tree.

As I watched this movie, I felt that it was a Swedish equivalent of the American thriller, "The Silence of the Lambs", which came out 11 years ago. Both films feature a gifted female protagonist with a wounded past who is extremely intelligent and gifted; both of these women solve a complicated mystery that involves a vicious killer. Lisbeth Salander is one of the most intriguing and interesting characters to come in a very long time, both in literature and in film.

(Warning: This movie contains scenes of brutality and rape vs. women)

This is one of the best suspense-thrillers in recent years.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
A nice surprise, Lisabeth is an intriguing character; a mystery within a mystery. I watched the two sequels to finish the trilogy, all great fiction entertainment. If not for free on Amazon Prime, I would never have rented this movie, where the title gives the impression of a B martial arts movie, which it is not. Lisabeth a victim of the worst aspects of humanity as a child, and she is a person numb to human interaction, she functions in society from her abilities (computer hacking), but slowly she is exposed to the better part of humanity with her working with a mid-aged male journalist Michele, who is not the typical 50 year male pervert that she often encounters. At the end of the movie trilogy series she's got a long way to go. I'm now reading the trilogy on which the movies are closey based on. This movie is subtitled.

Being a movie produced in Sweden, the film color is normal for a change, unlike most modern Hollywood films today where everyone and everything has a blue tinge complexion or shadow pervasive thru the movie screen from edge to edge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
When the first book of the trilogy came out, I was a fervent reader at the time and would read just about anything that would come in new to the small town library where I was working part-time. Unfortunately for some reason, I just couldn't seem to get into this book and never went on to finish it and read the next two. I listened to others rave about them though. So when I had the chance to see the movie on Prime, I was intrigued to say the least.
I think it was an excellent film which kept you engrossed from start to finish . Definitely a mystery/thriller, the two main characters were constantly on the go, with plenty of surprising twists and turns, while trying to solve an decades-old family secret/disappearance/murder? Near the climax at the end of the film, the two main characters both have two separate surprising endings which was different in a way from most movies, but worked well with this storyline . I'd say "go for it"........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2012
When most Hollywood productions seem uninteresting and unoriginal (and mostly remakes * and they did a remake for this too), The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo comes as breath of fresh air from Sweden. I personally think this (and the entire trilogy) is one of the best cinematic events that came out of Europe in a long time.

I've never read the book so I cannot compare. But as a movie buff, I can tell you that the film is very well-made and delivers some serious suspense. It is a dark thriller about 40 year-old murder of a 16 year-old girl, a family with dark secrets being investigated by a famous journalist. It only gets darker with addition of a troubled young girl with Gothic appearance and a dragon tattoo.

The movie combines many various elements successfully, it is dark and very disturbing with elements of sexual abuse and torture creeping throughout the story at different levels - this is not a movie for the faint at heart. It is also a great mystery and has Sherlock Holmes' type of crime puzzle feel to it. It has some Hitchcockian elements, especially towards the end. It is quite suspenseful.

There are not many extras on the Blu-ray which is a shame. I wish they included a "making of" featurette. The only bonus material is interview with Noomi Rapace which is quite interesting as she answers the questions with openness. If you think Noomi Rapace did a terrific job with her portrayal of this character, wait until you watch the interview - you will be even more impressed. She is absolutely nothing like the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo character. She is just a nice, sweet girl. I guess I've always imagined her to be similar to her character but I haven't seen an ounce of resemblance. This goes to show what a terrific performance she put. She talks about how she exercised for months, did kick-boxing to get in shape and learned to ride motorcycle.

This version has original Swedish audio and also English dubbed-in audio.

I personally prefer the Swedish film much better. US remake wasn't bad but I don't think it has the same feel of the original Swedish version which seems to flow better and delivers a more climactic ending.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
Amazing movie in an amazing trio of movies adapted from Stieg Larson's Millennium Trilogy. Everything about these movies is superb, from the screenplay, to the directing and the superb acting. Not one actor or actress misses the mark in in bringing each one Larson's character to the screen, especially Noomi Rapace playing the lead role of Lisbeth Solander. My wife and I had read all three novels a few years ago, and I must speculate that this fact added to our enjoyment of this very complex story of a young girl, now a young woman victimized by her country's legal and social service systems. Strangely, choosing to watch the extended version with English subtitles instead of English dubbed added to our enjoyment. In just a few minutes we forgot we were reading as we soaked up the Swedish dialogue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2010
I've never reviewed a movie, but let me say that this movie compelled me to do so, it was that good. I found it to be utterly superb. The cast is great, the sets and locations are well chosen and are interesting to my American eye, as is the language unique to my ears. Even though the dialogue is critical to follow, the subtitles are not at all distracting. The story flowed very nicely, and the plot continued to build while maintaining interest, suspense, and, certainly more than once, fear. And the story is, indeed, as revolting as it is captivating. I won't bother to offer a synopsis as many others have already done so, but yes, it is undeniably a mature movie.

Many people have commented on the violence, with the occasional and not unexepected opinion that the violence was unnecessarily graphic. While this may not be the best movie to go see on a first date, and while the violence does indeed move into cruel brutality, it seemed realistic and proportionate, and it did not diminish the movie or cheapen it's overall pleasure of viewing. However, people with a strong sensitivity to scenes with rape or violence directed towards women may choose to view with this with caution. But in my opinion (and I should note that this is coming from a man's perspective), while these scenes where at times difficult to watch, I did not think that they were needlessly long or excessively explicit. But they are definitely very serious and perhaps not for casual viewing.

If you like suspense with mystery and thrill, then this movie comes strongly recommended. Its 2:30 hr run time never felt long, and while it did take a little while to get into the actual matter of the plot, the movie didn't feel like it started slow and the careful meandering of the story keeps the viewer guessing. Once the movie really gets going, it becomes gripping. While its not a perfect movie, and while there a few cliches here and there, they are negligible when weighed against the overall quality of the film. And I thought the ending was excellent, very skillfully executed and leaving no disappointing sentiments.

I have not read the book, nor have I heard of the author until now, but I will probably have to pick it up sometime. None the less, this movie comes highly recommended. Well worth watching.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2015
I was hoping to see the Daniel Craig/Rooney Mara/Christopher Plummer film. Got this one by mistake. The subtitles drove me nuts, as a lot of actors' eye and facial expressions are lost to the viewer while reading. But the Swedish original is very good. I could have done without the rapes of Noomi Rapace. I don't see how that pushed the film forward. I imagined all those scenes removed ecept for the simple conflict of her having to be on probation for what she did as a child, and you know what? The film would have been two hours of excellent thriller, not two and a half hours of excellent thriller with bondage and sodomy.

Remove the graphic rapes and it is a five-star film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse