Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by HPB Inc.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Connecting viewers with great music since 1972. All used discs are inspected and guaranteed. Customer service is our top priority!
Trade in your item
Get up to a $0.25
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Girl Group Sounds: One Kiss Can Lead to Another

Audio CD | Remastered, Box Set

4.4 out of 5 stars 52 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, Original recording remastered, October 4, 2005
"Please retry"
$199.99 $127.77

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Rhino is pleased to present the first-ever boxed set to celebrate the girl groups of the 1960s. From soul and garage to Brill Building pop and countrypolitan, every possible girl group style is represented on these four discs, which gather 120 remastered tracks from 107 artists including The Supremes, The Ronettes, Dusty Springfield, Carole King, Petula Clark, plus a slew of artists less known but every bit as vital. Landmark packaging replicates a mod-style hat box and includes a diary-style booklet with essays, rare photos, track notes, and artist quotes. 2005.

Girl groups have enchanted humankind since the era of the ancient Greeks, when legend has it the Sirens attempted to lure wayfarers Odysseus and Jason to their fates; Persephone's chanteuses would eventually even lose a battle of the bands to the Muses. A couple millennia later, female singers would become a dominant force in the pop and rock of the ‘60s, the era anthologized on this four-disc, 120-track collection from Rhino. If the "group" tag is something of a misnomer (many of the acts here are solo artists), the vibrant female pop spirit of the times gets showcased in rare fashion by a collection that eschews the obvious to revel in showcasing rarities and surprises at every turn: the bittersweet, life-is-over-when "I'm 28" musings of a two-decades-pre-"Mickey" Toni Basil; a healthy sampling of gems by the Cookies and their various alter-egos, including the Palisades' fervent ode to uber-necking, "Make the Night Just a Little Bit Longer"; the Shangri-Las' mini-epic, "Out in the Streets"; hit songwriter Ellie Greenwich's solo turn on the haunting "You Don't Know." An impressive collection with an inclusive bent, its tracks range across the classic r&b of the Marvelettes, Chiffons and Irma Thomas, country-crossovers Skeeter Davis and Wanda Jackson, the blue-eyed soul of Jackie DeShannon and Dusty Springfield and wounded white-girl pop of Lesley Gore and Connie Francis. It's all contained in one of Rhino's most elaborately designed packages yet: each disc comes in a mock compact; its extensive liner notes and track info printed as a mini-diary; all housed in a smart replica of a vintage hat box--a treasure-packed delight for lovers of the genre and curious novices alike. -- Jerry McCulley

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Needle in a Haystack
  2. He's Got the Power
  3. Nobody Know What's Goin' On (In My Head But Me)
  4. I'd Much Rather Be with the Girls
  5. Keep Your Hands Off My Baby
  6. Nothing But a Heartache
  7. You Don't Know
  8. Boys
  9. Big Bad World
  10. Out in the Streets
  11. Is It True
  12. Please Don't Wake Me
  13. I'll Keep Holding On
  14. Oh No Not My Baby
  15. May My Heart Be Cast into Stone
  16. Magic Garden
  17. I Never Dreamed
  18. He's a Bad Boy
  19. Happy, That's Me
  20. Dream Boy
  21. Try the Worryin' Way
  22. I Can't Let Go
  23. Go Now
  24. You're No Good
  25. Opportunity
  26. Life and Soul of the Party
  27. Break-A-Way
  28. What Am I Gonna Do with You
  29. He Did It
  30. Baby That's Me

Disc: 2

  1. I Adore Him
  2. Train from Kansas City
  3. Please Go Away
  4. Let Me Get Close to You
  5. I Have a Boyfriend
  6. I'm into Something Good
  7. I'll Come Running
  8. If There's Anything Else You Want (Let Me Know)
  9. When the Lovelight Starts Shining Through His Eyes
  10. It Comes and Goes
  11. Baby, Baby (I Still Love You)
  12. Girl Don't Come
  13. That's When the Tears Start
  14. What a Lonely Way to Start the Summertime
  15. Don't Drop Out
  16. One You Can't Have
  17. I'm Nobody's Baby Now
  18. You're So Fine
  19. When You're Young and in Love
  20. My One and Only, Jimmy Boy
  21. Friend of Mine
  22. Chico's Girl
  23. Cause I Love Him
  24. Bye Bye Baby
  25. First Cut Is the Deepest
  26. I Won't Tell
  27. Egyptian Shumba
  28. I Sold My Heart to the Junkman
  29. Walking in Different Circles
  30. Hideaway

Disc: 3

  1. Trouble with Boys
  2. Lookin' for Boys
  3. Dream Baby
  4. Condition Red
  5. Should I Cry [Alternate Take]
  6. I'm Blue (The Gong-Gong Song)
  7. I've Been Wrong Before
  8. Love's Gone Bad
  9. Nightmare
  10. She Don't Deserve You
  11. Will You Be My Love
  12. Take Me for a Little While
  13. Funnel of Love
  14. I'm Gonna Destroy That Boy
  15. Terry
  16. Untrue Unfaithful (That Was You)
  17. Sophisticated Boom Boom
  18. Saturday Night Didn't Happen
  19. Don't Ever Leave Me
  20. Don't Forget About Me
  21. Wanna Make Him Mine
  22. Only to Other People
  23. Big-Town Boy
  24. Daddy You Gotta Let Him In
  25. After Last Night
  26. How Can I Tell My Mom & Dad
  27. Too Hurt to Cry, Too Much in Love to Say Goodbye
  28. Up Down Sue
  29. When I Think of You
  30. Good, Good Lovin'

Disc: 4

  1. When the Boy's Happy (The Girl's Happy Too)
  2. Don't Drag No More
  3. I'm Afraid They're All Talking About Me
  4. That's How It Goes
  5. Some of Your Lovin'
  6. Peanut Duck [#]
  7. Thank Goodness for the Rain
  8. Steady Boyfriend
  9. He Was Really Sayin' Somethin'
  10. I Know You Love Me Not
  11. Whatever Happened to Our Love
  12. Heart
  13. I Can't Give Back the Love I Feel for You
  14. He Makes Me So Mad
  15. I Can't Wait Until I See My Baby's Face
  16. Crying in the Rain
  17. We Don't Belong
  18. You Don't Love Me No More
  19. Hey, Tell Me Boy
  20. Brink of Disaster
  21. Who Do You Love
  22. I'm 28
  23. They Never Taught That in School
  24. Dressed in Black
  25. Ain't Gonna Kiss Ya
  26. Every Little Bit Hurts [Del-Fi Version][Version]
  27. Mister Loveman
  28. Make the Night a Little Longer
  29. Mixed Up, Shook Up, Girl [Live]
  30. Good Night Baby

Product details

  • Audio CD (October 4, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Format: Box set, Original recording remastered
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Rhino
  • ASIN: B000B5KRV6
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (52 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #169,701 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on January 19, 2008
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2006
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2007
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Look for similar items by category

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: vinyl pop