Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 311 reviews(3 star, Verified Purchases). See all 8,406 reviews
on January 26, 2015
I'm not going to bother with the other "The Girl..." novels. I am not sure how much of the problems are due to translation. Much of the book seems to have been heavily padded - "Look, I can name the number of the bus someone took going across Stockholm!" - to no particular purpose. Plot exposition is endlessly repeated which becomes seriously boring when nothing has happened except the expositors are different from one another. Detail is thrown in (guns by manufacturer's name, type, and caliber) which has nothing to do with the plot and then the author gets the details wrong (a Colt 1911 Government generally is .45-cal., not 9mm - there is a 9mm version, but it came out around two years ago and only in Australia). Everybody gets up, reviews their email, eats a pre-made pizza, smokes a cigarette, looks out the window, and engages in exposition before staying up until four in the morning, whereupon they go buy coffee, more pizza, and grab two hours of sleep. All right, I'm exaggerating. The story provides drama by the characters, particularly Salander, not sharing information with one another (not helped by a police team that does not look for a murdered journalist's laptop - really? - until late in the proceedings). We get inside peoples' heads but they apparently do not think about critical pieces of information while we are eavesdropping. Ever. Not until the end when suspense has been replaced by boredom. The good part: Salander is a little older and improving her camouflage. We get more of her history (it's as bad as you might imagine). But the contradictions in her personality are still not resolved (she cannot control herself, she engages in super-human self control, for example) and she ends up being a character who is more irritating than interesting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2009
This is the second book in the Millenium series created by Stieg Larsson. The plot revolves around the human and sex trafficing industry in Sweden and the murder of three individuals with connections to the Lisbeth Salander character.

I found this to be a pleasing (yet inferior) sequel to "Dragon". While one does not need to read Dragon, I would recommend it. For my money it (Dragon) is the superior read.

The Lisbeth Salander character is a very interesting protagonist. When Lisbeth is being written about in The Girl Who Played with Fire, the story seems to move - when she is not, the story drags.

The Mikael Blomqvist, Erica Berger etc. characters and how Steig Larsson created and developed the characters seemed deeper, fresher and have more substance in the first novel. I thought the first book had a better focus, pace, fewer hanging threads, was more intricately plotted and had a better overall story.

With that said, the sequel is a good, not exceptional, read. My recommendation is to read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo first, then this novel to fully appreciate the world that Steig Larsson created.
88 comments| 265 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
To be honest, it was a little painful to get through all the details and characters throughout the first half of the book. It was way too hard to keep track and way to much background information for me. But I finally finished! I think it took me…maybe 2 months to finish this? It was pretty similar to the first book in terms of how the story and plot develops but I thought at least the first book, the investigation took place in one aspect but this investigation of Salander’s innocence took place in multiple places!

The story definitely had its interesting parts, like Berger’s mysterious stalker (which I don’t really…know why that was relevant at all but it was just interesting how Salander helped her with that). My favorite part of the book was the trial! I loved Annika Giannini’s character; that part was very well written and her arguments are very entertaining! The relationship between Mikael and Figuerola…was uninteresting to me. I was a sole supporter of Mikael and Lisbeth’s relationship so I didn’t care for that but it did make me dislike Mikael’s character a little. Just a little. But then later on, he became likable again and the ending was definitely a very, very perfect ending! I was very satisfied.

Overall, it was a very dense read at the beginning, but it was still an interesting approach to the most important trial and how Lisbeth finally can continue on with her life as a normal, human being. It was a good conclusion to the trilogy (I would definitely be happy it the series were to continue).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2012
The first 150 pages of The Girl Who Played with Fire could have and should have been condensed to about 15 pages. The reader does not care about how Lisbeth Salander furnished her new apartment with selections from her local IKEA. But, for the remainder of the book, the plot was well developed.

In the first book of the trilogy, Lisbeth Salander survives and thrives because she is committed to her goals and because she is clever and resourceful. In this book, she is transformed into something of a female Rambo, which is only partially explained.
To say that Ms. Salander is a fighter by nature is an understatement. But having a fighting nature and being clever and resourceful does not explain how a heavy smoker who is as small as she is has the endurance and the strength to elude and overpower adversaries like she does in this novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2017
Interesting read but I felt that they could have wrapped up the storyline. It seems as though the author just got tired.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
Probably the only person around who couldn't care less about the main character
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2014
Loved the first book..but this second book seems very similar in layout to the first..
Similar central characters as in the first.

Recommended if you are fond of Sally and Kalle...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2012
Fantastic girl, but I guess that is what fantasy is. Trilogy? Really? Don't think I need to read the third one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2017
okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Given the multitude of reviews that aptly summarize what this book is about, I'll just say that The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest is an admirable conclusion to Stieg Larsson's highly successful trilogy. On the plus side, the book provides a credible, mostly satisfying wrap-up of the various plots and sub-plots carried forward from the first two books in the series. Further, the concluding 150-200 pages provide a fast-paced, satisfying read. However, the reading experience leading up to the concluding pages was often tedious and, at times, boring. The primary reason for this is that Larsson filled the book with a lot of minutiae, too much detail and so many minor characters that I felt I needed a scorecard to keep track of who's who. The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest would have, in my opinion, greatly benefited from some serious editing that resulted in the book being at least 100 pages shorter. For me, this book is a good example of where "less would have been more." In addition, while the book is generally satisfying, it basically lacks suspense and is predictable. There's no way that most readers of the first two books in this series aren't going to want to read The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest and will likely be satisfied with the experience overall. But, before doing so, be forewarned that this book is very unevenly paced and, for the most part, slow-paced (especially during the first third).
1111 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse