Kindle Price: $8.99

Save $9.00 (50%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Girls in the Moon by [McNally, Janet]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Girls in the Moon Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 39 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$8.99

Length: 352 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up—Seventeen-year-old Phoebe Ferris has been touched by fame her entire life. Her parents, Meg and Kieran Ferris, headed up the 1990s grunge band Shelter. Unfortunately, both the band and her parents split up before Phoebe turned three. After a fallout with her best friend, Phoebe leaves her home in Buffalo, NY, to stay with her vivacious older sister, Luna—an archetypal manic pixie dream girl—in New York City for a short visit. Her missions: reconnect with her father, who hasn't been in contact with his kids for three years; strike up a romance with the boy she has been texting for half the year; break the wall of silence between Luna and her mother; and, most important, find out just who Phoebe Ferris is. Set against the backdrop of a soulful, hipster New York summer, this coming-of-age novel features relatable heroes with good hearts. Phoebe's story intermingles with her mother's experiences as a young woman forming a new band and falling into a new love, and their blended voices reinforce the bildungsroman arc. Music lovers will enjoy the pop culture references sprinkled throughout. VERDICT Perfect for fans of Gayle Forman's If I Stay.—Mariah Manley, Salt Lake City Public Library

Review

“McNally is a polished storyteller, her prose alive with vivid descriptions, the excitement of romance, and an artist’s yearning to create.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Girls in the Moon is a beautiful, heartfelt novel about following your own path and finding your voice. Janet McNally’s stunning debut is a lush, lyrical paean to mothers, daughters, sisters, and the music that weaves them together.” (Kathleen Glasgow, author of Girl in Pieces)

“In her luminous prose, Janet McNally renders the moments—quiet and loud, in the spotlight and in the dark—that shape us and wound us and make us fully human.” (Nina LaCour, award-winning author of Everything Leads to You)

“A powerful story of secrets, sisters, mothers and daughters-of a family fractured and pieced back together across time, with love, pain, passion, and music. GIRLS IN THE MOON will stay with you like a song you can’t get out of your mind.” (Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be)

“With lush, lyrical prose and nuanced storytelling, Girls in the Moon is a gorgeous coming-of-age story that sings of sisterhood, secrets, and the ties that both bind and bond us.” (Jessi Kirby, author of Things We Know by Heart)

“Laced through with drumbeats and heartbeats, GIRLS IN THE MOON is pure indie rock and even purer poetry. A luminous story of love, art, yearning, and connection.” (Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King)

“Sophisticated, dreamy, and gorgeously written, Girls in the Moon is like spending a summer night reminiscing with old friends.” (Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl From Everywhere)

“McNally’s first novel shows an appreciation of poetic phrasing, as well as plenty of musical references. Recommend this introspective novel to readers who enjoy stories about music and musicians.” (Booklist)

“Narrator Phoebe excels at capturing a moment’s emotional nuances... her reflections on independence and acceptance of people’s flaws are genuine. Understated but astute narration makes this family snapshot a worthy read.” (Kirkus)

“[McNally] employs lyrics and poetry to great effect, while her rich musical knowledge propels this realistic novel to its hopeful conclusion.” (Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA))

“McNally crafts a compulsively readable family narrative that revolves around the kind of celebrities people wonder about.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

“Set against the backdrop of a soulful, hipster New York summer, this coming-of-age novel features relatable heroes with good hearts… Perfect for fans of Gayle Forman’s If I Stay.“ (School Library Journal)

Product details

  • File Size: 1465 KB
  • Print Length: 352 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (November 29, 2016)
  • Publication Date: November 29, 2016
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01CNLLG0G
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #142,442 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on December 16, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Girls in the Moon
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Girls in the Moon