Buying Options

Kindle Price: $7.49

Save $2.50 (25%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Girls in the Moon by [Janet McNally]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Girls in the Moon Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 44 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$7.49

Length: 357 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled
Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
Age Level: 13 and up Grade Level: 8 - 12
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up—Seventeen-year-old Phoebe Ferris has been touched by fame her entire life. Her parents, Meg and Kieran Ferris, headed up the 1990s grunge band Shelter. Unfortunately, both the band and her parents split up before Phoebe turned three. After a fallout with her best friend, Phoebe leaves her home in Buffalo, NY, to stay with her vivacious older sister, Luna—an archetypal manic pixie dream girl—in New York City for a short visit. Her missions: reconnect with her father, who hasn't been in contact with his kids for three years; strike up a romance with the boy she has been texting for half the year; break the wall of silence between Luna and her mother; and, most important, find out just who Phoebe Ferris is. Set against the backdrop of a soulful, hipster New York summer, this coming-of-age novel features relatable heroes with good hearts. Phoebe's story intermingles with her mother's experiences as a young woman forming a new band and falling into a new love, and their blended voices reinforce the bildungsroman arc. Music lovers will enjoy the pop culture references sprinkled throughout. VERDICT Perfect for fans of Gayle Forman's If I Stay.—Mariah Manley, Salt Lake City Public Library --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Review

“McNally is a polished storyteller, her prose alive with vivid descriptions, the excitement of romance, and an artist’s yearning to create.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Girls in the Moon is a beautiful, heartfelt novel about following your own path and finding your voice. Janet McNally’s stunning debut is a lush, lyrical paean to mothers, daughters, sisters, and the music that weaves them together.” (Kathleen Glasgow, author of Girl in Pieces)

“In her luminous prose, Janet McNally renders the moments―quiet and loud, in the spotlight and in the dark―that shape us and wound us and make us fully human.” (Nina LaCour, award-winning author of Everything Leads to You)

“A powerful story of secrets, sisters, mothers and daughters-of a family fractured and pieced back together across time, with love, pain, passion, and music. GIRLS IN THE MOON will stay with you like a song you can’t get out of your mind.” (Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be)

“With lush, lyrical prose and nuanced storytelling, Girls in the Moon is a gorgeous coming-of-age story that sings of sisterhood, secrets, and the ties that both bind and bond us.” (Jessi Kirby, author of Things We Know by Heart)

“Laced through with drumbeats and heartbeats, GIRLS IN THE MOON is pure indie rock and even purer poetry. A luminous story of love, art, yearning, and connection.” (Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King)

“Sophisticated, dreamy, and gorgeously written, Girls in the Moon is like spending a summer night reminiscing with old friends.” (Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl From Everywhere)

“McNally’s first novel shows an appreciation of poetic phrasing, as well as plenty of musical references. Recommend this introspective novel to readers who enjoy stories about music and musicians.” (Booklist)

“Narrator Phoebe excels at capturing a moment’s emotional nuances... her reflections on independence and acceptance of people’s flaws are genuine. Understated but astute narration makes this family snapshot a worthy read.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“[McNally] employs lyrics and poetry to great effect, while her rich musical knowledge propels this realistic novel to its hopeful conclusion.” (Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)) --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • Publication Date : November 29, 2016
  • File Size : 1384 KB
  • Print Length : 357 pages
  • ASIN : B01CNLLG0G
  • Publisher : HarperTeen (November 29, 2016)
  • Word Wise : Not Enabled
  • Language: : English
  • X-Ray : Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting : Enabled
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 44 ratings

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
44 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on January 6, 2017
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on December 13, 2016
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 8, 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 16, 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

CJL
5.0 out of 5 stars Great atory
Reviewed in Canada on May 28, 2019
Verified Purchase