Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 228 reviews
on March 16, 2017
Bought this for my daughter. She loved it--it's a great book for adolescents! She's read the series so it was a "must-have" on her book list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2012
This is a great sequel to the sisterhood of the traveling pants novels.

I have started fresh on my review, and decided to change this review to 5 stars. I figured out that it was my kindle that was changing the sentences. The same thing happened to me in book 4. When you are reading and it looks like the sentence just ends and hangs there without a period, it's just because it didn't fit on that page. If you turn 4 pages or so and then go back to the place you were reading it'll be fixed. I kept thinking that they were cutting out the sentence. Like it dropped off on that sentence without ending it, and started a new sentence on the next page. It's just because of however you formatted it to read on your kindle.

This book is great for any sisterhood of the traveling pants fans. It follows along with the girls going off to college.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2013
Having read the first two books in the series I was intrigued to see how the four Septembers would continue to develop and grow. I was not disappointed. Tibby, Bee, Lena and Carmen face the world and conquer their demons in the only way they can - together, even when physically apart.
This is a novel I would definitely recommend to teens starting to fly the nest, giving hope and reassurance that change is OK. We all go through it and come out the other side stronger from the experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon November 26, 2005
I think the reason that Ann Brashares planned on writing only four books about the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants is because there the group's roster consists of four girls. Each girl writes the introduction and the conclusion to a book in first person, but each novel is told by Brashares in third person. Tibby has the honors for "Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood," which I expected because I had a strong hunch that Bee would have the honors for the fourth and presumably final novel. I had a working hypothesis that the girl who writes the introduction undergoes the most major of the crises that afflict the sisterhood in that particular novel, but that might be forcing the issue in this one.

The third summer of the Sisterhood is the last one before college, although only Lena has any academic concerns. Lena was planning on going to art school but when her father discovers that his daughter's art lessons involve sketching nude males he pulls her college funding. This certainly gives the lovely Lena something else to think about besides Kostos. After the death of Bapi, Lena's grandmother Valia has come to live with the family in America and Carmen ends up watching the cranky old lady for her summer job. In taking Valia to the hospital Carmen meets Win (short for Winthrop). She likes Win and he appears to like her, but that is only because he keeps meeting the Good Carmen and does not know what she is really like.

The lives of the girls who stay in town this final summer before college continue to chain out in interesting ways. Carmen, who had to deal with her mother falling in love again in the previous book now has to deal with the shocking news that Christina is pregnant. But when the baby arrives early it is Tibby who is pressed into service as the birth coach. Otherwise Tibby has been dealing with having the clouds lifted from her eyes and noticing that Brian has become a lot more than the geeky guy who plays video games. Meanwhile, off at soccer camp in Pennsylvania where she is working as a coach, Bee discovers that one of the other coaches is Eric, the boy she seduced in the first novel. Obviously, things will be interesting for all four of the girls.

By this third novel I am well aware that the Traveling Pants do not really play a major role in what happens, and this time I would be hard pressed to say they play even a minor role. What is happening instead is that as the girls grow up they are clearly growing apart. In terms of both their contact and their correspondence there is far less in this volume than in the previous ones. Part of this has to do with the fact that they are all home for this summer, or only a state away, but also because each girl has their own overriding concern. For three of the girls that turns out to be a boy and I like that in two of the cases it is a familiar face (I am a big proponent of falling in love with friends rather than strangers). Maybe because Lena's attempt to achieve a breakthrough as an artist is a decidedly different storyline it stands out for me, although it could also be because I have always wanted to be a real artist too.

What I liked most about Brashares' first two novels in the series was the way the Sisterhood supported each other as friends. I especially liked the way that they show up when they need to and say what needs to be said, even when one of them wants to be left alone or does not want to hear what has to be said. So when Tibby, Carmen, Lena and Bee go it alone so much in "Girls in Pants" it was rather diappointing to me. I understand that they are growing up, but it is the growing apart (or what I perceive to be their growing apart) that bothers me. Then again, I am not now nor have I ever been a teenage girl, so it is entirely possibly that this is a totally appropriate and important progression. I could also be at a disadvantage because I have read all three books in about a month and there is something to be said for reading one each year and allowing yourself to grow up a bit more in the interim each year. So I should be in the right frame of mind to read the fourth (and hopefully not final book) when it comes out.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
Even though this book is targeted for a younger audience, I still enjoy reading it. There is just something about these characters that I can't get enough of. Maybe it's because I see myself in all four of them and that aspects of there lives are so relatable to all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2014
I had put off reading "The Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants" simply because I usually stick with authors who write about female private detectives and there are plenty of those to keep me busy. But,through the years, something intrigued me about that title. We were at a flea market over Memorial Day weekend and I found books 1, 2 and 4....of the series. Didn't even know there was a "series"! So I purchased all three and read book 1 right away, sent it on for our 16 year old granddaughter to enjoy and began to read book 2. Both books were so good! I just had to go to Amazon to find book 3 and have it handy to read in the order it was written. This is a life adventure of four late teen girls whose relationship began while they were still in the womb and their mothers were "the sisterhood". The stories appeal to all ages and are appropriate for teens who enjoy reading. The girls have very different personalities and yet, as in real life, those mesh so as to make them each others best friends. Everything in their story is in order. Nothing jars you to disbelief. They grow up a little more in each volume. I found it easy to lay down and later pick up these books without skipping a beat. I'm eagerly waiting to see if book 5 comes along some time. Mine came quickly and was as "clean" and unblemished as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
I love these books! Even as an adult they are fun to read. A friend who's a teacher recommended them. The book is relatable to teen girls. It has real experiences that doesn't feel "made up." This is a nice sequel to the third book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2016
I love the "Sisterhood" books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2016
purchased for my niece to complete the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2010
I love the sisterhood!!! Reading these books makes me want to be apart of this group. You fall in love with everyone of these girls. I only have one more left I will be very sad to say goodbye to the sisterhood, at least i can read again and again. The author is so good because she confronts real teenage problems and feelings I remember feling the way these girls do when i was a teenager. These books are not just for kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse