Lyft Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
17
Give It Back
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$19.99+ $3.99 shipping


on December 14, 2016
Take it from a lifelong Brian Jonestown Massacre fan - this is the quintessential BJM album. They made longer albums, weirder albums, darker albums and prettier albums, but Give It Back is the album to buy if you want to hear classic BJM at their most focused and creative. It's also a phenomenal introduction to this bizarre band. Part shoegaze, part psych, part folk, part noise, part rock and wholly insane and sarcastic, just buy this record already.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 10, 2016
Just a solid effort from a group of extremely talented musicians with a worldly vision that are bent on the mission of "keeping music evil"!
Buy it for "Whoever You Are", "(You Better Love Me) Before I Am Gone", "Servo", and "The Devil May Care (Mom and Dad Don't)", and then be gratified by the quality of the rest of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 29, 2006
For drug-drenched, psychedelic modern alternative rock, you just can't beat the BJM. Well, almost. Their pals, the Dandy Warhols come pretty close. I think this is one of the BJM's strongest efforts. "Sue" is my favorite track from this album. It's Anton's homage to the Velvet Underground's "Heroin". Yes, it's a long one but not a minute is wasted. Some of the BJM's albums tend to be hit and miss affairs so it's a good idea to listen to the samples provided by Amazon.com. but this one is quite consistent.
33 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 25, 2016
Self-indulgent masterpiece of the highest order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 10, 2015
Greatest band of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 3, 2014
fantastic album!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 18, 2012
'Give It Back' is such a laid-back cool and breezy splice of Psychedelic music for the late 90s. Every song on this album is so full of vibrancy and lushness while Anton's fractured yet powerful voice somehow makes this feel more modern than what your average psych. fan may normally find sifting through the 1990s uptake on the genre that first took place in the 60s. Or maybe Anton is straight out of the 60s! He sure does keep the music that he loves alive and going strong! I remember reading somewhere that this particular album released in August 1997, only took one week to write, record, remaster, and release! Yet, every song on this album feels like the band (Anton is the main guy and has been the only remaining/lasting member since the beginning) took their time crafting them until they were just right. I can kind of picture the creative Anton mimicking a crafty gnome while he directs the rest of the band to mold and finely-tune together some of their best material to date. BJM are still going strong (well Anton) here in 2012 as well, and just recently released 'Aufheben.' Influences range from The Velvet Underground to The Byrds and The Beatles...Tribal!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon December 21, 2011
Every album by The Brian Jonestown Massacre is fresh and unique, but still somehow within their classic sound (until recently). Each album sounds different than the previous, yet instantly recognizable as BJM--there's no mistaking the hazy, mid-60s sounding jangly guitars, sitars, and "weird chinese [crap]" combined with Anton Newcombe's gift for timeless songwriting. Within the first 5 seconds of any song, you know who you're listening to.

Released during the latter part of their most creative and prolific period in which they put out five albums in two years, 'Give It Back!' combines all the best qualities of their four previous albums, making it, pound for pound, the best album of their career imo. It's definitely my go-to album when turning on the uninitiated, and it hasn't failed me yet. You get shoegazy bliss (Sue, Whoever You Are), stoned country-folk (#1 Hit Jam, (You Better Love Me) Before I Am Gone), head-bobbin BJM-style punk (Not If You Were the Last Dandy on Earth), and one of the saddest, most beautiful songs of Newcombe's career in The Devil May Care (Mom & Dad Don't). Not to mention songs that sound like nothing you've ever heard, like Servo. No one rocks the flute quite like The Brian Jonestown Massacre.

Out of every BJM album, and there are more than a couple certified classics, this is the one I come back to most, and the one I'd recommend to a new fan after their career retrospective 'Tepid Peppermint Wonderland.' While it's one of their shorter full-lengths at a still hefty 56 minutes, 'Give It Back!' is jam-packed with absolutely essential songs that deserve recognition, and there's nary a dud here at all. I have a feeling that, many years from now, this album will be considered a classic, and it, along with the rest of BJM's vast catalog, will inspire legions of 16 year-olds to pick up guitars and try to become the next BJM. Good luck with that, as I doubt there will ever be another band quite like them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2005
This one has 'Whoever You Are', 'The Devil May Care (Mom and Dad Don't)', '#1 Hit Jam' and 'Last Dandy On Earth', which are all featured prominently in the movie Dig!

I especially love 'Whoever You Are' for it's Beatle-tinged ("let me take you down"), psychedelic gvoove. It never ceases to amaze me.

If you're like me and was "turned on" to The BJM by Dig!, you will have to have this. Just buy them all like I did. I appreciate the motive(s) to put them up on the web for free but I just had to have the actual CD's. Take that RIAA.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 11, 1998
...and let's be thankful that the Brian Jonestown Massacre is around to provide the soundtrack. As of their latest full-length (Strung Out In Heaven), BJM is yet to repeat themselves stylistically, and Give It Back! stands out as the band's paen to all things good about mid-late 60s-inspired music. From the toe-tapping pop splendor of "This Is Why You Love Me" to the foot-stomping psychedelia of "Satellite" to the smarmy boogie of "Not If You Were The Last Dandy on Earth," Give It Back! doesn't disappoint.
Anyone looking for a polished, radio-friendly, "modern rock" product should look elsewhere, while anybody sick and tired of the glossy veneer of today's records should look no further. While not exactly "retro," the album is decidedly lo-fi. A must-have for any fan of the BJM, and a very high recommendation for anyone into a mixture of "drone," psychedelia and brit-pop, past and/or present.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Thank God for Mental Illness
$23.98
Take It from the Man!
$9.99

Need customer service? Click here