Kindle Price: $12.99

Save $13.01 (50%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Give a Girl a Knife: A Memoir by [Thielen, Amy]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Give a Girl a Knife: A Memoir Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 48 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$12.99

Length: 322 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

"Give a Girl a Knife made me consider a move to, or at least a summer spent in, rural Minnesota just to be close to Amy and her home kitchen. I've read my fair share of chef memoirs—full of heroes, hard nights, and militant discipline. Amy's story is different. It's about more than her wacky path through some of New York's best kitchens; it's about Amy's innate need to cook. What is it they say? Writers write. Chefs cook. Amy is the rare example of someone who does both like a boss!"
—Vivian Howard, author of Deep Run Roots

"Amy's story of being true to herself, even when it means going against the grain (and off the grid, both literally and figuratively), is exciting and inspiring. I love how food lures her to return home—but this time on her own terms."
—Andie Mitchell, author of It Was Me All Along

“Fans of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gabrielle Hamilton's Blood, Bones and Butter will enjoy this chef's memoir of learning to cook in Minnesota and dicing and deep-frying her way through the kitchens of some of New York's most esteemed chefs.”
AM New York 

"One of the best coming of age food memoirs you’ll ever pick up."
Rolling Stone

With every turn of the page I felt the tides that pull from country to city: familial love and the consuming desire of an impossibly possible career; the simple pleasures of a freshly-picked kohlrabi and the smell of shaved black truffles. 
Joy Summers, Eater


Notable Press:


10 New Nonfiction Food Books to Read this Spring/Summer—Bon Appétit

Book Club PickEater

5 Can't Miss New ReadsHuffington Post

19 Best Books to Read in May—Entertainment Weekly

19 Summer Books That Will Keep You Up All Night Reading—PBS’s NewsHour

5 New Books to Read this Summer—Epicurious

7 New Books you should read in May—Time Out

5 Hot Books— The National Book Review

20 Best Nonfiction Books coming in May—Bustle

10 Best Books of May—Nylon
 
Favorite Books of May 2017Read It Forward 

Midwest Indie Bookseller pick for June

About the Author

AMY THIELEN is the author of the James Beard Award-winning cookbook The New Midwestern Table and the host of Heartland Table on Food Network. A former New York City line cook, she now speaks and writes about home cooking for radio, television, and magazines, including Saveur, where she’s a contributing editor. She lives with her husband, visual artist Aaron Spangler, their son, his dog, and a bunch of chickens, in rural Park Rapids, Minnesota.

Product details

  • File Size: 3121 KB
  • Print Length: 322 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0307954900
  • Publisher: Clarkson Potter (May 16, 2017)
  • Publication Date: May 16, 2017
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01LWWK7WR
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #72,295 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Cookbooks
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Sports Books
4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Literary Fiction
3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on May 17, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Give a Girl a Knife: A Memoir
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Give a Girl a Knife: A Memoir