Kindle Price: $13.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Glass Town by [Savile, Steven]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Glass Town Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.99

Length: 342 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Bones Don't Lie
"Bones Don't Lie" by Melinda Leigh
Learn more about this new book.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Glass Town:

"Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere or Clive Barker, Savile’s highly original story is an extremely engaging, fast-paced read." ―Booklist

"Compelling... Unusual and perhaps reminiscent of Clive Barker's Weaverworld." ―Historical Novel Society

"With a vivid London setting and a tantalizing dose of cinematic history (including Alfred Hitchcock's lost directorial debut), this dark fantasy should appeal to fans of Neil Gaimain." ―Library Journal

"Steven Savile’s U.S. debut combines modern urban fantasy sensibilities with a richly rendered portrayal of 1920s London. Savile’s time spent writing science fiction television mainstays, Torchwood and Doctor Who translates well to the novel format, imbuing the story with interesting characters and a compelling mystery." ―Romantic Times Book Reviews (4 stars)

"Savile, whether delivering for the screenor books, always delivers." ―Suspense Magazine

“Bursting with imagination, Steven Savile’s Glass Town is a twisted, breathless unraveling of inter-generational magic and mystery. With its intrigue twined around early film studios, romantic obsession, and the dark secrets of London, it’s a book that feels written just for me. I loved it!” ―Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of Ararat and Snowblind

"A luminescent love letter to London, the movies, and the darker corners of the human heart." ―Michael Marshall Smith, New York Times and international bestselling author of Straw Men

“Steven Savile has the gift of making the unbelievable completely believable, and leading you willingly into an illusory world that you can touch, feel and smell...but can you trust?” ―Graham Masterton, Edgar Award and Bram Stoker Award-winner

Glass Town is a mind-bending, devious and thoroughly entertaining thriller! Steven Savile brings serious game and leaves the reader breathless. Highly recommended!” ―Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Dogs of War and Patient Zero

"A beautifully rendered tale of magic, family, and dark secrets set against the backdrop of London that may or may not exist in the real world, Steven Savile's Glass Town is the novel everyone will be talking about come December. This gem is not to be missed!" ―Ronald Malfi, Bram Stoker Award nominee

"There are killer ideas at work in this cleverly plotted, relentlessly inventive supernatural thriller that evokes the best of Clive Barker or Ramsey Campbell. Highly recommended." ―Alan Baxter, author of the Alex Caine series and Crow Shine

"Fans of Clive Barker will eat this up and idolize Savile's new breed of monsters." ―Weston Ochse, author of the award-winning SEAL Team 666 series

"Steven Savile has always been a name to watch, but with Glass Town I think I can safely say we've seen a gigantic leap forward in the writing style of a writer I already admired. Glass Town is filled with realistic, fully fleshed characters to love, and hate and with fantastic creations that will both delight and horrify. An absolute triumph of a novel from one of the new masters of the modern fantasy!" ―James A. Moore, author of the Seven Forges and Tides of War series

"In Glass Town, Steven Savile brilliantly creates an alternate reality that impinges chillingly upon our own. Old and new magicks blend in eerily rendered present and past Londons populated by magicians, old school criminals, legendary actresses, and crooked cops. The fantastic elements are engaging, the horrific scenes terrifying. You'll never again be able to watch the films of a certain classic comedy team without feeling a shiver. It's about time the US became aware of Savile, and this is the perfect novel to introduce him to our shores." ―Chet Williamson, Edgar Award nominated author of Pyscho: Sanitarium, the official sequel to Robert Bloch's Psycho

"Here’s a story ripped from ancient fragile celluloid: a tale told in harsh chiaroscuro, where ghost-women step judderingly from zoetropes to suck you dry and dogs in negative will drain you. It’s all about light and shadow, and the lenses that make stories out of such stuff; it’s about a lost movie, lost time, lost streets, a lost actress. A family torn apart through generations by a single obsession. Passion in monochrome, suffering in colour." ―Chaz Brenchley, award-winning author of Bitter Waters

Praise for Steven Savile's previous books:

“Stories of loss and punishment, but even at his darkest Savile has a flair for finding beauty in the macabre, using usually-subtle horror to deliver a succession of poignant insights into love and humanity….striking and moving…” ―The Guardian (UK) on Time’s Mistress

“One of the most seriously creepy pieces it has been my pleasure to read in a long time.” ―Charles de Lint on Remember Me Yesterday

“The mix of history, suspense, and action in Silver perfect for those DaVinci Code fans looking for another electrifying read combining Biblical history with modern-day Armageddon.” ―Douglas Preston, New York Times bestselling author of Impact and Blasphemy

“With Silver, Steven Savile delivers a barn storming tale of action, intrigue and suspense in a plot laced with ancient secrets and modern terror.” ―Matt Hilton, author of the Joe Hunter thrillers

“Savile's in a league of his own” ―Jeremy Duns, author of Free Agent and Free Country on Silver

“Reminiscent of James Rollins and David Morrell.” ―Joseph Nassise, international bestselling author of the Templar Chronicles on Silver

“Fascinating, gripping, horrific, tragic and compelling.” ―Steve Alten, New York Times bestselling author of Meg and The Shell Game on Silver

“An intricately plotted tapestry of deceit, Parallel Lines is one darkly twisted thriller.” ―CJ Lyons, New York Times bestselling author of Blind Faith on Parallel Lines

“Savile doesn’t even need to dig deep to produce material this dark, this deadly.” ―Paul Finch, bestselling author of Stalkers on Parallel Lines

“A work of genius a tightly plotted, edge-of-your-seat thriller.” ―Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter on Parallel Lines

“Ingenious, crafty and compelling. A great entertainment with no punches pulled.” ―Stephen Gallagher, creator of Crusoe, Eleventh Hour and The Forgotten television shows on Parallel Lines

About the Author

STEVEN SAVILE has written for popular franchises including Doctor Who, Torchwood, Stargate, and Sherlock Holmes. He was a finalist in the People's Book Prize in the UK and has won the Lifeboat Foundation's Lifeboat to the Stars Award and the International Association of Media Tie-In Writers Scribe Award. He wrote the storyline for the bestselling computer game Battlefield 3, and his novel Silver was one of the top thirty best-selling novels of 2011 in the UK.

Product details

  • File Size: 3378 KB
  • Print Length: 342 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1250077834
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press (December 5, 2017)
  • Publication Date: December 5, 2017
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01N1RRLOG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #200,150 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Mystery Books
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Fantasy Books
3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
3.7 out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

March 5, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
December 31, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
January 23, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
March 12, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
December 7, 2017
Format: Hardcover
Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
January 29, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition
Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
December 5, 2017
Format: Hardcover
Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Glass Town
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Glass Town

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?