List Price: $26.00 Details
Save: $9.05 (35%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Friday, July 8 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon. Order within 13 hrs 13 mins
Or fastest delivery Thursday, July 7
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"$16.95","priceAmount":16.95,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"16","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"95","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"bS0tVtySl5%2F3WY2G2dsW7vkJ0flimki77nKEcsaZTc0Veujw8GOJroJ3U%2FaLnmO4IoqOFCicnBHrPIzbHzUDF8zaMyQJ9JIp1GGPwp%2FWQNbZW97mgaDZedaOQx0CBp9TMbYZofWgkez5H92zWnnKh%2BO%2Bzwxz%2FAuXEslHtiEESUFM7eHOB6Fh4B4D3nInA9J8","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"$14.82","priceAmount":14.82,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"14","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"82","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"pA8i3Oq6TVGVOFEQEN1Qu8F2y46e6b7Ca%2FjPCx21DPzpEHYVz0cp31hLwuc3ZOjQu97xGtVT5gra77NcPywRj99VU9PUsuJ3%2F8JzTGUJCPlbGbArmDlBZclJ0%2BIDhkE3qgio%2Bo8YUXwP4zb7SsZvW7Vw2MbbNcS%2FfBdUURRHvBIpxtl%2FbUsVYuiTQZSazYV%2B","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
$$16.95 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$16.95
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon
Sold by
Ships from
Amazon
Sold by
Return policy: Eligible for Return, Refund or Replacement within 30 days of receipt
This item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt.
The Glittering World: A B... has been added to your Cart
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery Friday, July 8 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon. Order within 13 hrs 13 mins
Or fastest delivery Thursday, July 7
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Used - Good: All pages and cover are intact including the dust cover, if applicable . Spine may show signs of wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. May include "From the library of" labels. Shrink wrap, dust covers, or boxed set case may be missing. Item may be missing bundled media.
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$16.97
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: FindAnyBook
Sold by: FindAnyBook
(1135 ratings)
98% positive over last 12 months
Only 2 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$13.06
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Starselling
Sold by: Starselling
(7796 ratings)
97% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$28.33
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: Books Unplugged
Sold by: Books Unplugged
(4344 ratings)
90% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Glittering World: A Book Club Recommendation! Hardcover – February 10, 2015

3.6 out of 5 stars 128 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$16.95
$13.06 $3.89

Enhance your purchase


"Don't Forget Dexter! (Dexter T. Rexter)" by Lindsay Ward
Introducing Dexter T. Rexter, the toughest, coolest dinosaur ever. At least he likes to think so. | Learn more

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

A simple road trip to the island of Cape Breton, Canada, turns into much more when Blue and his three friends travel there so he can sell his deceased grandmother's house. The area around Starling Cove is magical—the greens are greener, artists churn out more artwork, and the people are happier. Blue doesn't remember much about his childhood at the artists' colony, which burned down, but when he and his friends visit its charred remains, memories return in dreams and flashbacks. And then Blue and his friend Elisa disappear. The locals drop hints about The Other Kind, and Elisa's husband and Blue's friend must investigate to find the two missing friends. Magical realism and a dark fey world collide in this grown-up tale that readers of Holly Black's Tithe (S. & S., 2002) will enjoy. It's told in four sections, each from the point of view of one of the four main characters. Dark fairies live underground in Starling Cove, and their interactions with humans are more like horrific alien encounters than those with beautiful fairies in traditional tales. The main characters are adults who behave like confused adolescents—partying and running away from reality—and many teens will find them relatable. Give to readers who grew up on Julie Kagawa's "The Iron Fey" (Harlequin Teen) series and are looking for something more mature. VERDICT Recommended for fans of dark fairy tales.—Sarah Hill, Lake Land College, Mattoon, IL

Review

"As imaginative and frightening as a whole gallery of surrealist paintings come luridly to life." Author: John Berendt, author of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

"A luscious, compelling tangle of a thriller. 
The Glittering World maps the realms of friendship and identity, the mythic and the contemporary. I loved it." Author: Kelly Link, author of Magic for Beginners

"Fast paced, yet it also succeeds as a reflective tale of self-discovery...Well crafted, atmospheric, and whimsical, this will attract readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman and Mark Z. Danielewski." Source: Library Journal

"The Glittering World is a stunning phantasmagoria drawn from the world just beneath the surface, aswarm with great and memorable characters and a plot that twists and turns as it hurtles forward. A grand debut. One taste, and you'll be addicted." Author: Keith Donohue, author of The Stolen Child

"Levy's first novel is confident, brave, and beautiful in every way, with resonant warmth and an understanding of the fundamentally singular human experience." Source: Shelf Awareness

"Emotionally complex… Levy’s atmospherics are all encompassing, and fantastic. A darkly romantic, lovely, sometimes horrifying, and yes, glittering read." Source: My Bookish Ways

"Frightening and supernatural . . . the imaginative plot is first rate." Source: Suspense Magazine

"Robert Levy spins a dark and mythic tale. Exquisitely allegorical, this novel seethes with menace, romance, and mystery. The Glittering World is a powerful debut." Author: Laird Barron, author of The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All

"Robert Levy's transcendent first novel balances on the knife-edge between psychological horror and mainstream thriller — [it] deserves a place beside that of Peter Straub, Graham Joyce, and Mark. Z. Danielewski." Author: Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss

"Imagine 
True Blood crossed with Margaret Atwood. As seductive, fantastical, and menacing as any modern supernatural classic." Author: Scott Cheshire, author of High as the Horses’ Bridles

"The Glittering World is that rare and wonderful kind of book that takes something old and makes it new again. Like those who disappear into the woods in this novel, once you step into these lush and mysterious pages, be prepared to return to your own world altered." Author: Christopher Barzak, author of One for Sorrow

"The Glittering World is that rare thing: A literary novel that reads like a thriller. A fairy tale for the modern era." Author: Joanna Rakoff, author of My Salinger Year

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Gallery Books; 1st edition (February 10, 2015)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 352 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1476774528
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1476774527
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 14 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.31 x 1.2 x 8.25 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.6 out of 5 stars 128 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

ROBERT LEVY is an author of unsettling stories and plays whose work has been seen Off-Broadway. A Harvard graduate subsequently trained as a forensic psychologist, his work has been called "frank and funny" (Time Magazine), "idiosyncratic and disarming" (The New York Times), "ambitious and clever" (Variety), "smart" (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction) and "bloody brave" (the UK's SFX Magazine).

His first novel, the contemporary dark fairy tale THE GLITTERING WORLD (Gallery/Simon & Schuster) was a finalist for both the Lambda Literary Award and the Shirley Jackson Award. Shorter work has appeared in Black Static, Shadows & Tall Trees, and The Best Horror of the Year, among others.

Robert lives in his native Brooklyn near a toxic canal, where he is awaiting his mutant powers to develop any day now. He can also be found at TheRobertLevy.com.

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5
128 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on April 2, 2020
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 28, 2016
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 1, 2015

Top reviews from other countries

Nic
3.0 out of 5 stars summer read
Reviewed in Canada on August 3, 2015
Mark
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story!
Reviewed in Canada on March 25, 2017