Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Gloria Rising (A Stepping... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Enjoy this book. It could almost pass as new and is in gift giving condition. Big Hearted Books shares its profits with schools, churches and non-profit groups throughout New England. Thank you for your support!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Gloria Rising (A Stepping Stone Book(TM)) Paperback – June 8, 2004

4.7 out of 5 stars 7 customer reviews
Book 10 of 10 in the Julian and Huey Series

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$4.28
$1.48 $0.01

Best Books of the Year So Far
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for the Best Books of the Year So Far in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.
$4.28 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Gloria Rising (A Stepping Stone Book(TM))
  • +
  • Gloria's Way (Puffin Chapters)
  • +
  • Julian, Secret Agent (A Stepping Stone Book(TM))
Total price: $14.26
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

The sequel to Gloria's Way, Gloria Rising by Ann Cameron, illus. by Lis Toft, starts out at the supermarket, where the fourth grader's chance encounter with Dr. Grace Street, a famous astronaut, leaves her pondering some sage advice.
Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From School Library Journal

Grades 2-4--Gloria, Julian's best friend from The Stories Julian Tells (Pantheon, 1981) and the main character of her own Gloria's Way (Farrar, 2000), takes center stage in this easy chapter book. In the summer before fourth grade, the girl has a serendipitous encounter with an astronaut, Dr. Grace Street, who gives her this important advice: "-be careful what you tell yourself-because whatever you tell yourself you're very likely to believe." Soon after this meeting, Gloria returns to school and her new teacher, "the Dragon of Doom," announces, "We are not going to have hamsters, turtles, or algae in jars. We are going to have flash cards." Mrs. Yardley's impression of Gloria and her classmates is immediately influenced by the antics of Billy Watkins, who appears blameless while the other students stand accused of his misdeeds. As much as she tries, Gloria cannot win her teacher's trust. When she reports on her chance meeting with the famous astronaut, Mrs. Yardley refuses to believe her and humiliates her in front of the class. Finally, Dr. Street pays a surprise visit and helps the teacher see the error of her ways. While this solution to a difficult situation is a bit too facile, readers will still identify with all involved and cheer when these appealing characters are satisfyingly vindicated. Toft's simply drawn but expressive pencil illustrations add just the right amount of visual support for those readers graduating to easy chapter books. Fans of Julian and Gloria won't be disappointed.
Alicia Eames, New York City Public Schools
Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 6 - 9 years
  • Grade Level: 1 - 4
  • Lexile Measure: 640L (What's this?)
  • Series: A Stepping Stone Book(TM)
  • Paperback: 98 pages
  • Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition (June 8, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0440419980
  • ISBN-13: 978-0440419983
  • Product Dimensions: 5.3 x 0.3 x 7.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 3.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #167,379 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
71%
4 star
29%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 7 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
It's has been very difficult trying to find books for my twin 8yr old daughters.

I wanted a series of books with the star character being an African American girl just having fun and doing kid stuff. A book that will make them know that reading is fun. This book does just that and more.

If you're looking for a great chapter book for an African American girl, then author Ann Cameron's "Gloria Rising" and "Gloria's Way" is it.

Also, try Valerie Wilson Wesley's series of "Willimena Rules".
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
My kindergartner read it before science camp, and it really helped to stoke her enthusiasm for all things space. We love that she's a girl and the astronaut who inspired her is also a woman of colour. A lot of astronaut books seem to be aimed at boys.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I am biased because my cousin wrote the book, but I just loved reading it. I will read it to my granddaughters when they are a little older in the hope that they will learn to never limit their ambitions in life. This book will inspire many who read it to pursue their dreams.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
why arent these books published in the UK, they are perfect for 5 year old first readers and up. Childrens classics
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Gloria Rising (A Stepping Stone Book(TM))
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Gloria Rising (A Stepping Stone Book(TM))