List Price: $28.95
Save: $10.74 (37%)
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Friday, July 17
Fastest delivery: Tuesday, July 14
Order within 2 hrs and 14 mins
Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by Mareen Books
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Solid copy free of any markings, highlights, notes. SHIPS DIRECTLY FROM AMAZON with a delivery tracking number, no-hassle return policy.

Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Gnomon: A novel Hardcover – Deckle Edge, January 9, 2018

4.0 out of 5 stars 285 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, Deckle Edge
$18.21
$8.98 $5.00

Your guide to mental fitness.
Kevin Hart breaks it all down. Listen free with trial
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Gnomon: A novel
  • +
  • Tigerman: A novel
Total price: $29.16
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

Gnomon is an extraordinary novel, and one I can’t stop thinking about some weeks after I read it. It is deeply troubling, magnificently strange, and an exhilarating read.”
—Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven

“Opening a novel by Nick Harkaway feels like stepping into a theme park for the mind—every page you turn brings new delights for the mind and the senses. Gnomon is brilliant and terrifying, full of pleasures big and small. Basically, everything I want in a book.”
—Charles Yu, author of How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe

“The best thing he’s ever written. . . It is an astonishing piece of construction, complex and witty. . . It is a magnificent achievement. . . He’s never written a bad book, but this is the one that’ll see him mentioned in the same breath as William Gibson and David Mitchell. . . This book seriously just destroyed me with joy.”
—Warren Ellis, author of Gun Machine
 
“This huge sci-fi detective novel of ideas is so eccentric, so audaciously plotted and so completely labyrinthine and bizarre that I had to put it aside more than once to emit Keanu-like ‘Whoahs’ of appreciation. . . It is huge fun. And it will melt your brain. . . Whoah, indeed. I wanted to give it a round of applause.” 
—Tim Martin, The Spectator (London)
 
“Beguiling, multilayered, sprawling novel that blends elements of Philip K. Dick-tinged sci-fi, mystery, politics, and literary fiction in a most satisfying brew. . . Fans of Pynchon and William Gibson alike will devour this smart, expertly written bit of literary subversion.”
Kirkus (starred review)

About the Author

NICK HARKAWAY is the author of three previous novels, The Gone-Away World, Angelmaker, and Tigerman, as well as a nonfiction work about digital culture, The Blind Giant: Being Human in a Digital World. He is also a regular blogger for The Bookseller's FutureBook website. He lives in London with his wife, a human rights lawyer, and their two children.

Product details

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5
285 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on January 29, 2019
Verified Purchase
41 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 16, 2018
Verified Purchase
35 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 13, 2018
Verified Purchase
30 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 24, 2018
Verified Purchase
21 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

jfmdac
2.0 out of 5 stars Starts out OK, then....
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 26, 2018
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Simbosan
3.0 out of 5 stars Endless word salad
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 8, 2018
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Oceanvoyager1961
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 27, 2017
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
JoJo
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard work
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 30, 2019
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
M. King
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelatory
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 26, 2017
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Tom mortimer
5.0 out of 5 stars An utter masterpiece
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 31, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Ronald A.
5.0 out of 5 stars A true 5star novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 30, 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
EarthPipe
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully done, but a little too long
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 2, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Erika Benham
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Storytelling.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 26, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Graham Godfrey
4.0 out of 5 stars Complex but rewarding
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 31, 2018
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
t3kn0filer
5.0 out of 5 stars Dive in
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 30, 2017
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Tom Gilbert
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't know what's real any more
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 23, 2018
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Jamie
3.0 out of 5 stars Conflicted
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 30, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
J. Butler
5.0 out of 5 stars The promise of Gone Away World has been fulfilled
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 4, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse