Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 95 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 125 reviews
on September 11, 2016
Love it! I LOVE this show! What a shame it was "too smart and clever" for the average TV viewer, who seems to prefer mindless, idiotic network programming like "Two-And-A-Half Men" and "Two Broke Girls" (both shows utter and complete garbage!). GO ON was extremely funny and well-written, with a great cast led by Matthew.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
We stopped watching broadcast TV in 1988, with the exception of "Friends", which we started watching in 2001 and found to be an excellent example of an "ensemble cast" working well, like the old "Dick Van Dyke" show, or the "Bob Newhart" show. After "Friends" ended in 2004, the family caught several of the new series efforts by LaBlanc, Cox, Kudrow, and Perry, but really didn't take to any of them at all. Perhaps it was the lack of the "Friends" chemistry, or perhaps there was just too much reliance by the producers and writers on the allure of the "Friends" pedigree.

So having been disappointed, we didn't try this at first, but when Piper Perabo was announced (and we are "Coyotee Ugly" fans, and "Covert Affairs" was our only TV show now until "Go On"), we bought the first four episodes, and liked it. We've since bought the rest of the series, and watched up to the latest.

We enjoy the quips. We like the unexpected turns the conversations take. We question whether Mathew Perry has a thing for Courtney Cox in real life - since the female lead, Laura Benanti playing "Lauren", is morphing more and more into Courtney Cox's character "Monica" from "Friends" in both looks and behavior. We like the weird characters (which, naturally, we've known someone like that at one time or another - just not so much).

Piper Perabo continues to blurr her (or at least her character's) gender preferences, while being so entertaining that viewers of either sex really don't seem to mind. Knowing that Perabo and Perry were also supposedly a couple some years back makes the episodes with Perabo even more interesting.

So we look forward to further episodes, additional guest stars (but don't do the "Friends" guests - it will distract). But some other previous co-stars might be interesting (Natasha Henstridge, Amanda Peet, Bruce Willis, Neve Campbell, Oliver Platt, Elizabeth Hurley).

It's very much worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2012
Had a feeling from the preview of the show that this was going to be a hoot. Was not really a Matthew Perry fan but he has handled his new part as a recently widowed sports radio show host well. Love the rest of the cast. Each brings their own wacky charm to the show. 'Mr. K' is so scarily funny! I look forward to finding out his complete story. I was also drawn in by Tyler James Williams (the former child star of Everybody Hates Chis). His story of a young man whose brother is in a coma due to an accident is unfolding nicely. Just when you thing you know all about his character "Owen" you discover new things about him such as his tiger mom and musical talents. 'Owen' is just a shy young guy trying to find his way without his best friend (his brother) and somehow has formed a bond with the Matthew Perry character while playing video games such as Halo. 'Fausta' - what can I say about her? She is too funny. Spanish is her first language so sometimes she does not quite follow what others are saying (or does she?). The cat lady nurse is smart, funny with a naughty kind of humor. 'Danny' whose wife had a baby with her boyfriend while he was away at war, with the unusual twist that they all are living in the same house is not a dimwit as it appears in the first few episodes. It is later found that he has his own coping method. Matthew's boss (and college friend) and assistant (Keri) at the radio station are good fun as well. His work life and group therapy life cross paths with hilarious results. There are several cast members that I have not mentioned, but it does not lessen their part in the show. Yes, it is a large cast, but each one brings their own quirky, lost soul character to life. Could not imagine the show without any one of the
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2012
I will definitely take a look-see at the ongoing episodes when they arrive in the Fall. Some of the writing could use tightening up but the concepts, whose suffered the most? game, the Google car, Weight Watchers and recovery, are creative and applicable to dealing with grief. The idea that texting kills couldn't be more topical in this crazy culture. Sadness with moments of liberating joy - good grief counseling from this program. How these introduced topics will be furthered without becoming hackneyed - I'm curious!

Since I cannot seem to review separate episodes, I wanted to add onto this one. Episode 8, Videogame, Set, Match, is a real game changer in that Ryan finally looks outside of himself to genuinely help another person. There is nothing smarmy, sentimental or prissy about his efforts as he feels his way through countless video games, hospital hi-jinks and false conversation starts with another member of the group. It is genuinely funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
I LOVED this show when it first arrived! Why was it canceled? Because it was too deep, dealing with the issue of death? Or maybe because it's humor was too sarcastic or too subtle for 'normal' Americans to handle on a weeknight? Whatever the reason, this WAS quality television - funny, but thought-provoking as well. Ah, well, back to mind-numbing reality shows!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 1, 2012
This is the first show from a Friends Alum that we have liked. The humor is very much in the same genre as the sarcastic wit that Matthew Perry's character "Chandler" used in Friends. We've watched 4 episodes so far, and we were surprised by how much we liked it. Perry's character is witty, sarcastic, sharp, and funny, and comes across as genuinely enthusiastic about what he does with sports (similar to how the cast of Sports Night was depicted). He also occasionally shows a deep human interest story with his grieving process over the death of his wife. The supporting cast is very good, and the writing is spot on. We are hooked for the season.

4 stars =)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
Witty, clever, fast and funny. Real characters that you start to truly like. It's absurd that this show was cancelled, especially when you consider what is currently on television.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2017
Funny, Touching and a fabulous cast of eclectic misfits all trying to "Go On" after losing a significant other. Well written and acted. Thanks for finally releasing it to the masses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2012
I wasn't expecting too much from this show based on the premise and the choices Matthew Perry has made in the past. But, I am finding that each week, the crazy antics and over-the-top sincerity and weirdness of the featured "Grief Group" is really funny. In its own small way and in spite of Ryan's objections and resistance, he is changed for the better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2016
Hilarious! Damn funny with great characters...why in the hell only one season I'll never know. I want more Go On and bring back My Name is Earl while you're at it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse