Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEMClub17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$13.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on June 7, 2004
I bought this DVD in part because it was recommended to me by a fellow fan of H.G. Bissinger's magnificent book, "Friday Night Lights" who described this documentary as "FNL in movie form."
While I still found it inferior to FNL, "Go Tigers" is a suberb documentary in the vein of "Hoop Dreams."
Go Tigers follows the Massillon High School Tigers football team through the 1999 season. The Tigers are a legendary team in the state of Ohio. In fact, in 1951, a newsreel was put together chronicling the enormous success of the program - "11 state championships in the last 15 seasons, more college players and captains than any other school in the nation, etc." However, in 1998, the Tigers were a lackluster 4-6, a losing record almost unheard of in the program's long and storied history. The 1999 Tigers are not only playing to recapture the respect due their inheritance, but to convince the citizens of Massillon to approve a school levy that will bring in much needed funds to their deteriorating school. The players, coaches, boosters, parents, and everyone else associated with the team understands that the riding on the success of their team is not only community pride and bragging rights, but perhaps the fate of their school and thus, their football program as well.
The documentary mostly focuses on the Tigers' tri-captains: Their star quarterback, middle linebacker, and defensive tackle. These three are the core of the team, and on their young shoulders ride the hopes and dreams of an entire community.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2017
Being from Massillon, Ohio we are thrilled with this tape. Great transaction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2016
Awesome Documentary about one of the most important HS Football Programs in existence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2005
I thought this movie was great. I love watching high school football or just football in all. This shows what OHIO high school football is all about. Not Texas, Not Florida, and Not California. It shows how strong the community and schools in ohio are when it comes to there football. Ohio is one of the top 4 recruiting states for college programs and this film is one reason why. If you like watching or playing high school football or any level of football i believe u will enjoy this film. Even if your not a Buckeye!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2002
If you're a fan of sports and well-done movies....Go Tigers is for you! Much like "Hoop Dreams", this movie takes you through the season, (on and off the field) of three high school athletes. I can watch this movie again and again.... its well worth it!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2004
Fantastic!

As probably the only English person to see this but also someone

who goes to Columbus to watch OSU every few years this has made me make plans for a trip to the town/school when next in Ohio in

2005.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2005
This is a film about a small town doped up on sports and religion, where kids - and I mean KIDS - play out parts for adults to further adult agendas of competition, superiority, and economic success.

The KIDS - and I emphase that - are easily hooked into the town's mass hysteria. After all, as one high-schooler puts it, "the football players can get away with anything." In an effort to please their parents and teachers, they get hyped on the game and sacrifice their identities... in exchange for trophy girlfriends and (apparently) adult-supported drinking parties.

A word about the drinking... since when DO high school *KIDS* get encouraged to drink and puke all over your house? And while we're at it, let's ask another question: since when do KIDS get tattoos? Don't you have to be 18 for that? Or perhaps these kids *are* 18 - at least - since we are told that a large amount of these players have been held back a grade or two to guarantee better chances of being bigger and stronger as seniors and - by extension - better football players.

But maybe that's going to be OK after all. One night of binging followed by a round of organized Christian prayer at school - PUBLIC school, mind you - will absolve all of any wrong doing.

These are children who are being plied with superficial elements of adulthood to guarantee their allegiance to the town's sole bringer of happiness, however false that is.

If we wonder WHY pro athletes take steroids and "cheat" to win, look no further. One lie begets another. After all, if parents want to hold their kids back a grade in school, "it's their right as an American," as the Tigers' head coach informs us.

And if we wonder why kids aren't being prepared for college, and - the most important issue we face as a nation - getting EDUCATED to further themselves and this country, maybe we should reexamine the role of sports on our culture.

In a nation embroiled in red state/blue state battle, with "morality" as the battle cry, I wonder why this film isn't causing an uproar. Apparently, people do not care about what's right or fair - only who wins. It is too bad that people - in their near-sightedness - see only short term victory, when the long term battles are about to be lost.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2004
The game footage here is very good, except it is constantly interrupted, and has no continuity. Some of the interviews seem genuine, while others are obviously staged. The students and players act as if they were given the green light by the director to be as gross and obnoxious as possible. In that, they succeeded.

Entries at the Sundance Film Festival must be awful indeed for this film to be a Grand Prize nominee. The coaches stand around in the locker room, while the players take turns giving each other the cursing of their lives. I was rooting for the opposing team to give Massillon a beating every game.

I can't recommend this film to anyone. It doesn't teach about football, the language is awful. I don't feel I know anything about Ohio football that I didn't know before I saw the film. I hope the Tigers are not a typical team in Ohio.

For a real football film, I recommend "The Last Game".
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here