Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Goat Rodeo Sessions Live
Amazon Vehicles GoldBox Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Chris Staples Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
33
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 6, 2012
This recording of the `Goat Rodeo' sessions records the first public performance of this group of musicians who are a group of talented and technically skilful musicians from different genres who might never normally meet musically. This opening statement is to paraphrase the comment by Stuart Duncan made as his descriptor of the group. To paraphrase another group member, Yo Yo Ma adds that for some, this music is `outside the box' but for these musicians there is no box. It is normal and just what they do.

In struggling to describe the music contained in this recording I found myself outside the box but struggling to get in! This is not `cross-over' music but it is made up of an amalgamation of several contributing genres. These could loosely be described as containing elements of country & western, blues, a bit jazzy at times, elements of modern classical and all put together in a uniquely individual manner relying on individual talents blended to produce something interestingly new.

The music has been composed or arranged by various members of the group but there is a strong improvisational driving force such as to be found in jazz. The title `Goat Rodeo' has been chosen to suggest the wilder side to this situation. The music is essentially easy to listen to without being `easy listening' as a genre type. I found it to be refreshingly interesting and diverting.

The main feature lists 10 music tracks and lasts for some 55 minutes and there are 5 bonus music tracks running for some 22 minutes. There is no apparent difference in quality or content between these two selections so I have not understood why they did not simply run as a complete 77 minute concert.

The imaging is crystal clear and involving. The sound is excellent in Digital 5.1, PCM 5.1 surround and stereo.

This concert is an unusual concept and I found it musically rewarding. On its own unique terms I would suggest a 5 star rating, there being no means of relevant comparison other than applied musicianship across genres. I would hope that future purchasers would respond with the level of enthusiasm shown by the original concert audience.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2012
We saw the cinecast of this concert in a movie theater on January 31, 2012. It was extraordinary, and I couldn't be happier that it's finally being released on DVD. The individual artistry and the tight ensemble playing are second to none. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2012
Saw Goat Rodeo on PBS TV, 4 amazing virtuoso musicians having a great time, my review title is "Brain Candy" because I think just listening to this ensemble will make you smarter (at a minimum it will stimulate your brain in a good way), the sound is like nothing you have heard. If you enjoy super high quality creative music you will love this I think. My wife who is not a music person at all was saying what is this? My 17 year old boy on the other hand was saying, "Mom" this is really good, so musical quality and musicality can be appreciated across generations and by most everyone that appreciates great quality instrumental music.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2012
Concert was originally simulcast to movie theaters nationwide. Recording omits virtually all of the artists' remarks, which makes this a disappointment. Should have added, not subtracted from the concert.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2012
If you like what this group put out in their studio effort of the Goat Rodeo Sessions, then don't even think twice about ordering this live performance on Blu-Ray or DVD. Just do it! Fans of classical, new-grass, progressive grass, and just plain music in general should get it, there is something for everyone here. Those who aren't into either classical or bluegrass/Appalachian folk can still find much to enjoy in this original blend of jazzy/bluesy rhythms in a classical and bluegrass/folk setting. Words don't describe it. Look to more work from these artists in other projects such as Yo Yo Ma's two other Appalachian albums with similar musicians, Thile's Solo and Punch Brothers albums, Thile with Edgar Meyer, etc.. Bela Fleck is the only missing piece of this puzzle, they should do some recordings with him with the entire group!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
As a musician who also plays at varying levels of proficiency these four instruments, I am in complete awe watching this video. Nothing short of remarkable - very hard to imagine being able to play like they do - very humbling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
This is a great DVD for anyone who loved the Goad Rodeo Album; you will not get to see these guys together for a live performance any time soon so I recommend buying this. As masters of their instruments they each bring a unique perspective to this album that creates a truly extraordinary listening experience.

If you enjoy the music of Bela Fleck and the Flecktones, Yoyo Ma or The Punch Brothers this is right up your alley.

The production quality and audio is top notch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 2, 2012
Fans of the O'Connor, Myers, Yo-Yo Ma Appalacian recordings will have plenty to enjoy here at Boston's House of Blues. The energy and enjoyment of the musicians is palpable, and I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this concert. I was sorry Mark O'Connor was not included, but nonetheless this was an outstanding program. I guess you could call this a classical/bluegrass fusion. Bottom line: it is great American music. This is one DVD I'll be watching over and over. A few minor complaints: the extras were part of the concert and should have been inserted in the program, and information on who composed what is lacking (except for the Bach piece). There is no weak link in this ensemble; everyone shines, and it was a delight to see the interaction and fun these musicians had that night.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2012
My two-cents worth: After watching the DVD, "The Goat Rodeo Sessions Live," my recurring thought was: "Gracious sakes, such great virtuosity!" The musicians are Yo-Yo Ma (cello), Edgar Meyer (string bass, piano), Chris Thile (mandolin, violin, guitar, vocal), and Stuart Duncan (violin, banjo, mandolin), with Aoife O'Donovan (vocal). Although I do not understand certain modern musical ideas or structures (or lack thereof), these performances were captivating, and I marveled at how, the moment that I thought that I was listening to classical music, there was a seeming snippet of bluegrass or folk or jazz music. Other than a bit of Bach and traditional music here and there, the compositions and arrangements were by these five musicians. I found this DVD to be a noteworthy project.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2013
Even if you don't like bluegrass, you will sit stunned by the virtuosity. The complexity of the arrangements, the musicianship and the music are worth it. Couldn't recommend higher.

Don't forget the Bonus Music. The Bach arrangement is in stark contrast to the rest of the disc but simply wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.34
$29.44

Need customer service? Click here