Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by The Lone Bellow Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 183 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 362 reviews
on August 29, 2013
I love Dune. Depending on the day of the week, it is my favorite book of all time. God Emperor of Dune was my least favorite in the series and difficult to get through for me. The intro is written by Brian Herbert explaining how God Emperor is Mrs. Herbert's favorite, it has a unique approach, it was the last one written, yotta yotta yotta... Maybe I felt like Brian had to write that intro because the book needed to be sold to its readers, but this slow, plodding plot about the only man in the history of the universe who doesn't know how to make a mistake was a little bit lackluster in my opinion. I do see how it paves the way for the rest of the series, however.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2017
Loved this book. Even monsters can have a little love in their heart. "Heady stuff" as one critic described it. Another excellent book in the Dune universe that makes you think about yourself, humanity and the society in which we live.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
Entertaining, but read the othe dune stories first. My only complaint is that it feels rushed at the end. This may be an attempt to focus more on the perspective of Duncan. Still, a great story about devotion, sacrifice, and the dangers of becoming complacent​.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2008
Leto II, the son of Paul Atreides, is now the God Emperor of Dune. Leto II is close to becoming a sandworm and is about 300 years away from going into the sand when the book starts. God Emperor of Dune, takes place some 3500 years after Children of Dune. Leto II has done what his father could not and turned himself into a sandworm, sacrificing his humanity in order to provide Leto's Golden Peace, which will ideally save humanity and keep them along The Golden Path in Leto's vision.

During his long reign, Leto II has enforced a state of peace throughout his empire spanning several galaxies with his strict monopoly of spice melange and through the military wherewithal of his Fish Speaker (an all-woman) army. The Old Imperium is essentially gone and the Houses of Landsraad have ceased to exist. Only a few Great Houses have survived at all in their previous power dominant power structures.

The old Imperium is basically non-existent; the Landsraad has ceased to exist and only a few remnants of the Great Houses survive. The Bene Gesserit and Spacing Guild have endured, although both have been forced to adapt to Leto's absolute control over melange and his powerful prescience, and CHOAM has been reduced to a shadow of its former self. His reign is considered by many to be depraved and despotic, but he is confident that his actions will ensure the survival of the human race.

The "Duncans" are still around thanks to the Tleilaxu cloning tanks and are loyal servants to the Atreides line, which along with Leto's faithful servant Moneo help Leto quite a great deal throughout the book. In the end, the question at the end of the book remains was Leto II's sacrifice end up causing humanity to destroy itself at the end of his reign or saving humanity with everyone thriving?

Herbert does the job once again of living up to one hell of a series so far. I definitely look forward to blazing through Heretics of Dune, the fifth book in this series!

-Travis
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
Herbert's finest book, walk amongst its pages and you walk with The Lord Leto II, learning, if you dare to try, as his subjects learned; slowly perhaps but completely in the end. The wisdom per page that this book holds is truly astonishing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
I was slightly disappointed in the story line. I've been a Dune fan for years and have read almost the entire series. Maybe I missed the book that would connect this book to the rest of the series. It did have some very interesting philosophy of civilization, governments, and leaders. I adore Frank Herbert.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2017
This is less a "sequel to Dune" and more a "great work of philosophy, with social and political theories". You will not enjoy this much if you are looking for an action-packed narrative.

Buy this book if you really enjoy the philosophical side of Frank Herbert's work. It's not going to be for everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2017
None of the Dune books amounted to much after the first one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2013
Set 3500 years after the previous book, GEoD focuses squarely on Leto II as he follows the Golden Path.

It is (over)loaded with philosophy that is, I think, supposed to justify Leto's actions toward humanity. I think more judicious editing could have stopped some over use of the same ideas. However, it is not overly detrimental to the book.

My real issue with the GEoD is the glacial pacing and lack of big payoffs for the reader. Again, harsher editing could have helped.

I have mixed feelings about the book, but I did enjoy it. It could easily have been five stars with the aforementioned editing and I fully understand why some reviewers have given low ratings for its shortcomings.

I really enjoy the Dune series and am used to how 'heavy' they can be at times so this book was ultimately a good interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
I first read this book many years ago, but remembered virtually nothing about it. The forward to this edition by Frank Herbert's son, Brian, was really helpful and added to my enjoyment of the work. He points out that the author had very different intentions with the second trilogy of the Dune series. If you are looking for the kind of action and plot movement found in both Dune and Children of Dune this may not be the book for you. But if you are looking for or at least open to deeper level of commentary on our world, I'd highly recommend it. Herbert was a brilliant systems thinker and in this book applies his abilities to a character-driven look at several social structures. Great writing, as always from Herbert!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse