Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 42 reviews
on October 20, 2015
I watched the streaming Amazon Prime version of the film. It looks like utter crap with faded colors, a scratchy print and (I think) the wrong aspect ratio. If you can look beyond the cosmetic shortcomings, this is a rather enjoyable swords and sandals adventure. Reeves is great and the battles are remarkably epic in scale. You can see Mario Bava's touch throughout the film but it's not quite on par with his Hercules movies in terms of fantastic visuals.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2015
Great movie with Steve Reeves and the beautiful French actress Mylene Demongeot. Unfortunately, this is a poor dvd copy. Also, not sure why Amazon did not use the widescreen dvd version; which would have been much better and sharper. Never mind the "lost in translation" dubbing in English of the movie, but still a great entertaining movie with the incomparable Steve Reeves.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 18, 2004
As a kid growing up in the late 50's/early 60s, I enjoyed Italian sword-and-sandle epics almost as much as sci-fi and horror flicks. Steve Reeves' 'Hercules' and 'Hercules Unchained' were his most popular films, but some of his subsequent work were superior productions. 'The Giant of Marathon', along with 'The Last Days of Pompeii' were such films. In 'Marathon', Reeves (sans his Hercules beard) plays Philippides, an Athenian who became a champion of his adopted city/state of Sparta, and who single-handedly manages to forge an alliance between the two enemy states to thwart an invasion by the dastardly Persians. Palace intrigue, deception and duplicity abound in this colorful production. And, like many of these types of films, a gorgeous (and quite voluptuous) female lead offers additional visual appeal. While initially a bit slow moving, things get cranking about midway through, with some of the most realistic (and gory) battle scenes ever put to film. The scenes where Philippides and his men attack the Persian's boats from underwater (and the Persian's counterattacks) are especially realistic. Italian horror meister Mario Bava handled the cinematography on this film, and the results were outstanding. A great Saturday afternoon romp. Alpha Video is to be commended for releasing older, more obscure titles at affordable prices, although often (such as this release), their source material leaves something to be desired. Still, for the price, this is well worth having if you're a fan of the old Italian epics.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2014
These aren't really B-rate films they are foreign films. "The Giant of Marathon" is the more popular of the two films here, but I purchased this pairing to get the color version of "The Last Glory of Trot" A.K.A. "The Avenger". I first saw "The Avenger" released & advertised as color by Millcreek only to find out it was Black & White! Apparently the color had completely washed out by the time they released it. In this set it still has color but has suffered from time & neglect. In some parts of the film the top & bottom edges are almost void of color! I read a review stating Steve Reeves seemed tired in this film, but this may be good acting as Aeneas is a man coming off of a ten year siege against the Greeks & leading the remaining Trojans on a nomadic voyage from modern day Turkey to Rome. That would tend to tucker a man out! The costumes and armor are outstanding & although faded I was happy to see it in color! I wish someone would have taken the time to do a good widescreen color restoration on Mr. Reeves films like WB archive collection has done with his film "The Slave". This would have been a better pairing if they would have put "The Last Glory of Troy" or "The Avenger" with "The Trojan Horse" as it was the sequel to "The Trojan Horse" starring Mr. Reeves! The final battle sequence even cropped & fading in color is awesome as the Hero & Nemesis fight their way through the flooded woods full of falling blossoms and buzzing butterflies & dragon flies! I guess I really love these movies as I am a big fan of Homer & Virgil & history in general. "The Giant of Marathon" is not completely accurate to history as Philipedes dies after his double Marathon, but that wouldn't make a very exciting movie would it? But the under water photography & battles are second only to "The Creature from the Black Lagoon". Both of these films are worth owning at these reasonable prices it is just a shame they haven't received the restoration they deserve. Back in the day these were the BOMB! And they are for most practical purposes the forerunners of todays sword & sorcery films. Like Arnold was to "Conan" Steve Reeves was a living special effect!!! Steroid free at that!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2015
A fictional view of true events but anything with Steve revees in it well you gotta forgive the movie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2017
nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2005
I have long waited to start a collection of Steve Reeves movies on dvd. So important to me as a kid, I'd rush to see every new one that came out. Some were actually rather good! This DVD has I imagine been issued simply to make some money. Advertised as WideScreen it is NOT the cinematic ratio of 2.35:1 (Cinemascope/Panavision) so the sides are chopped off. It is also a really dirty and badly graded OLD print. All in all it is something I ended up skimming through before putting on the shelf to be replaced one day by hopefully a properly graded really wide screen version with some good extras. This is a very cheap dvd thank goodness, else I would be really upset!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2014
Burned copy of old VHS tape. poor quality video tape. I have made transfers before so I know they can be done a lot better. Video quality SUCKED!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2006
I can't imagine what DVDs the previous reviewers were looking at. Sadly this is an instance where I made a purchase based on the comments of others. I own hundreds of DVDs and there is nothing I have that comes close to the abysmal quality of this disk. It looks like a fifth or sixth generation transfer from a VHS, like looking at a movie through a fish bowl. I am a huge admirer of director Jacques Tourneur and hope I'll be able to see this film someday.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2015
stinker!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse