Kindle Price: $0.99

Save $17.00 (94%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Gol (The Legends of Ansu) by [Webb, J.W.]
Kindle App Ad

Gol (The Legends of Ansu) Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$0.99

Length: 560 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)
click to open popover

Complete Series

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

"Gol" (legends of Ansu)" is the first book that introduces us to themythical world of author J.W.Webb and what a crazy, fantastical,marvelous world it is! It is imaginative pulls no punches in drawingfrom almost every available literary element available. This is a rarenovel that I thought had almost everything, from heart pounding battlescenes, to romantic love scenes, to twisted (and I mean twisted) familyrelationships, magical/supernatural elements, danger... it's hard not to find something you like. There are dark secrets revealed throughout,and nothing is predictable or what you think will happen. Kept meturning the pages late into the night! One thing I'll say is that I wasimpressed with how well the author J.W.Webb wrote it, there were almostnone of the mistakes I frequently see in new writers (slow beginnings,adverb abuse in dialogue tags, telling v. showing, etc.). Mr Webb writes like a seasoned pro and I'm looking forward to the next book in thisseries. Highly recommend!! Laura - Goodreads

Gol" by J.W.Webb was a different type of book for me as I'm not a hugefantasy reader, although I do enjoy the genre. I'd read and enjoyedanother novel of J.W.Webb's ("The Haven" - Check it out!) and when I saw this one as being appealing for fans of "Lord of the Rings" and "Gameof Thrones" - two sagas that I really like, I thought I'd give this atry and see how I liked it. That said, here are my thoughts: I likedthat it was fast paced and with plenty of action, especially for a longbook. It wasn't predictable at all... and it kept my attention the whole way through. I don't think I was able to stop reading the last 30% orso! There were many characters, and I had no real concept of theindividual personalities, looks, etc... I did appreciate theintelligent, multi-layered plot - it forces you to pay attention andthink -actively engage the story. So not some easy breezy fluff beachread. To my surprise I found myself really sucked into the story, somuch so that I shed a few tears and may have cursed a few charactersalong the way. Was satisfied with the ending, but not *happy* if thatmake sense. But it's okay... Overall an enjoyable read that I'drecommend to others, and I'm really glad I gave it a shalt. Will readmore from this author anytime Tabitha - Gooodreads

A complex fantasy novel combines a young man's quest, a noblewoman's nightmare, and a long-slumbering demon.
Ruled by the brutal Baron Eon, Barola is just one of the many unpleasantprovinces in the land of Gol ("Barola was corrupt--a wormrottenapple--and the other provinces rumoured to be worse.") The baronarranges a marriage of political importance for his daughter to Varentin Gallante ("a pompous turd," according to the baron's eldest son,Rosco), but the wedding will only take place if it is forced. Thebaron's daughter Lissane is not interested in Varentin. She has insteadbeen seen in town with Erun, a blacksmith's son and young man who delves into poetry and "witty songs." Though the two hope to one day escapetheir treacherous conditions, their plans are vague and result in ascene of torture and combat, and Erun is badly wounded. Far away, afigure named Ozmandeus "had just achieved the impossible. He hadcaptured the essence of the Demon, Ashmali." Surely such a feat spellstrouble, but to what extent? Progressing with the aid of magicalfigures, folklore-worthy locations, and plenty of violence ("brightblood spilled and congealed on the bearskin rugs"), the storyincorporates many well-known fantasy tropes. Weaving the storylines with capable skill, Webb (Haven, 2015, etc.) supplies many intriguingimpediments, from a cunning, albeit entrapped, "Water Element" calledAqueous to a predictably sinister figure named Black Torlock. Readerswill be eager to see just when, and how, it will all come together.Descriptions lean toward the obvious ("Erun felt a string of emotionswash through him: sadness, anger, excitement and fear, were but a few"), a predilection that increases the page count but does little for thecontent. Nevertheless, readers unperturbed by the writing style willfind a multifaceted, though manageable narrative.
An appealing tale set in an enchanted realm offers blunt prose and vivid characters in constant motion. Kirkus Reviews

For me, author voice is almost everything, and it will make or break anovel and my enjoyment of it. I need to hear originality and know thatthe author is not trying to sound or write like someone else, but istelling HIS story in a whole new way, whatever that story may be. I feel like I can smell a fake a mile away, and believe me I've read my fairshare of books from authors who are 'trying' to emulate better, moreaccomplished authors in their genre. What impressed me the most here was that I thought that Mr. Webb's writing style has the confidence anddelightful quirkiness of a much more seasoned pro... I know he's written another book, but this feels, reads, and presents like a master of hiscraft. The characters had that elusive 'flavor' that only comes whenthey are fully realized and fleshed out, something that is not easilydone, especially in a novel of this depth and magnitude of complexissues. A great read, and will be looking for the next one from him.Recommend for older teens through adults. Sherri - Goodreads

There were so many things I loved about this book, I hardly know where to begin. First, I loved the cover. And those amazing illustrations are done by Tolkien's illustrator? Wow, that is so incredible! Second, I love the way J.W. Webb writes characters and especially dialogue and action scenes. I really feel like I am inside the story, as a part of it, instead of being on the outside looking in and having a story "told" to me. Mr. Webb's vivid descriptions and lyrical prose creates a beautiful portrait and a frightening, mystical world that one can get lost in for hours and hours. This books seriously has everything good--action, fantasy, romance, good and evil, magic, ...I wish this series could be made into a movie, although it probably wouldn't be as good as the book anyways. But I thought the plot was highly creative, even for a fantasy, and wasn't just a re-telling of the same overused plot devices we always see. Although I had to a few times, I truly didn't want to stop reading until I'd finished. And I had some tears at the end! Ready for the next ones by J.W. Webb. Claire - Gooodreads

From the Author

Gol comprises books 1&2 of the Legends of Ansu. Its content opens the doors on this new fantasy series featuring bespoke sketches throughout by Tolkien artist, Roger Garland. 
Gol is a passionate tale of love, hate, destiny and vengeance, power and the corruption that follows it. It's helter-skelter pace brims with gritty action and conflict. Within Gol's fast turning pages three dimensional characters struggle for dominance, pawns playing on an intricate tapestry-board of myth and all-consuming magic. Gol tells of a continent threatened by fire and water, and time. A land where gods and men and other stranger beings strive to gain control, and where two young lovers are thrust into the midst of the coming storm.
I wrote Gol as a prequel to The Shattered Crown (now book three - Legends of Ansu.) It's a standalone novel, but also opens the doors on the rest of the books -- the events taking place 1000 years before the next one, The Shattered Crown. It's a large complex book, but the pages turn furious fast (or so my readers tell me!) Gol is darker than the other books in the series and focuses on the ambitions and folly of its rulers, and the crafty games played by their gods. I had a great time writing this though it was a challenge as there were so many threads to weave together. I do hope you enjoy it!  

Product details

  • File Size: 1949 KB
  • Print Length: 560 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: J.W.Webb; 1 edition (March 17, 2015)
  • Publication Date: March 17, 2015
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00UW2FGZ0
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #185,758 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?


Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on May 22, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2016
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Gol (The Legends of Ansu)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Gol (The Legends of Ansu)

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?