Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 516 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 870 reviews
on February 21, 2017
Great peek into the by gone era of Long Island's elite society and how it has evolved in the 21st century. Also a peek into the lives of some of the, albeit fictional, Maffia families. Having been born and raised on Long Island but moved away many years ago, I have become nostalgic for the simpler times then and a little homesick for the Island. The novel was a little slow to develop but once you got in to it you wanted to know what would happen next. The author gives the main character a great sense of humor which is probably needed in dealing with some of the family's situations. Great book and I am already ready the sequel, The Gate House.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2017
First read this book many years ago and bought again on a Kindle daily special digitally. Wry, non-stop dialogue and descriptions that amuse, make you laugh out loud, and nearly impossible to see how one author kept it up the entire book. The Gold Coast still exists today with lesser players, and it's a glimpse into a rarified world. Love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2017
The Gold Coast is still hands down my favorite DeMille book - and I have ALL of them! I read this one in two sittings - one a full day, then I finished it up in a couple of hours the next day. I cracked up through a large part of it - DeMille has a wicked sense of humor that I LOVE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2017
Lots of background information lays the foundation of understanding of the protagonists duties and the story of two families next door neighbors but who come from very different backgrounds and the effect each person has on each the others. Engrossing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2002
This book does not have any big bangs or soaring flights of imagination, instead it is a very straight forward linear extrapolation of trends present in the mid-eighties involving the military-industrial complex and the urbanization of America. Both trends have had some deviations from that straight line in the years since this was written, but that does not invalidate the main focus of this book, that of not only how an individual can make a difference in the world around him, but why he should try to make that difference.
Jim, the prime protagonist, is a much conflicted individual, who really has not found out what he really believes is right or what he should do with his life. Involved in a seemingly endless round of parties with his friends, having no serious commitment to his lady friend, holding two desultory part-time jobs that he has no enthusiasm for, considering himself to be a writer with a strong interest in the history of Orange County but without any finished product he thinks is good, and still partially dependent on his parents for support, he is a prime target for suggestion and peer pressure to define his actions. When one of his friends suggests that he should actually do something to change the domination of the country by the military-industrial complex, he jumps at the chance, and soon finds himself involved in industrial sabotage. His father, in the meantime, is also fighting the same war, but from a completely different perspective of an engineer actively employed by that same complex, trying to find a technical solution to the MAD arms-race.
Along the way to Jim finding his own resolution to his life, we are treated to historical snapshots of Orange County from its very early settling by native Americans to the coming of the Spanish, to its flowering as an agricultural paradise, to its great industrial expansion during and after World War II, and finally to the condition depicted at the time of this book, as an almost totally asphalt covered warren of apartments, malls, offices, and neon lighting that has forgotten its historical and ecological heritage. These sections, viewed separately from the rest of the book, form something of an extended prose poem, with a very heavy 'back-to-nature' message, that intertwine with Jim's search for meaning in his life, and provide a strong under-current to the novel's action.
The opening of this book is very rough, with too many characters introduced too briefly, with trivial and sometimes outdated dialogue, and without any apparent clear focus or direction. It is not till almost halfway through the book that it settles down and starts showing depth and direction. From this point on, the novel becomes much better, as the reader becomes interested in the characters and moral dilemma's they and their world face.
This is not KSR's best novel. The book wanders for too long before finding its legs, and the ecological sub-theme is sometimes too strident, the bashing of capitalism inadequately supported. But it has something to say about both our current industrial society and about the everyday individual's place in that society, about making a difference, about having commitments and moral integrity, about both the 'how' and the 'why' a life should be lived.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2017
Slow start but once into it, really into it. Being Italian, fun to read about familiar foods and vernacular. And being from New Jersey, close to manhattan, lots of familiar sounding eateries in little Italy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2015
I hate to sound like an old man , but I'm going to say it : they sure don't write books like this anymore ! Having read a few of DeMille's books many years ago , this one caught my eye as one that 'had escaped ' my attention , so I set about reading it expecting it to be a bit of light distraction after a rather heavy book I had just finished . I was totally unprepared for , and pleasantly surprised by , how engaging a tale this is , written with immense skill , and including characterizations that get the reader so involved and captivated . Dare I say the relationship between the two apparently incompatible lead characters is built in a credible , touching and wonderfully humerous manner . The plot unfolds at a wonderfully comfortable and 'just right 'pace , never unrealistically frenetic , and never realistically dull . What a brilliant story teller this is ... miss it at your peril .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2017
If you like to see the super rich have their issues, John and Susan Sutter are a couple you'll want to meet in The Gold Coast. Looking forward to the sequel, The Gate House.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2014
I read this book years ago and wanted to re-read it on my kindle. I read outloud to my husband. It was a great way share
a book. Lots of conversations! First I want to say - it was better the second time around and found many details that I had forgotten. We both LOVED John Sutters sense of humor/moxey! That always brought levitiy into being when some/most things were quite serious. I've read allot of Nelson Demille & loved everything he's written. He's detailed & I for one feel like right in the story. I can see, smell & feel the characters!! - Gold Coast is among my favorites. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND to anyone that wants a book based on facts, interesting & intriging, sexual & funny, sad & happy all at the same time. It was wonderful to learn so much about the Gold Coast on L.I.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2014
This is the second Nelson DeMille book that I have read (the first was The Charm School) and I can say I am a devoted DeMille fan. The Gold Coast is narrated by main character, John Sutter. Sutter is totally irreverent and made me laugh at all the right times. His disillusionment with his privileged life is the catalyst for his downfall. His involvement with a Mafia Don spells disaster from their first meeting, and his unhappy marriage is doomed to fail. Sutter's midlife crisis pulls all these threads together and starts everyone down a path of no return. Going down that path, for the reader, is a great ride, though!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse