Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals HPC Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18_gno


on March 16, 2017
Love this cookbook! Full of healthy recipes with great taste..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 22, 2017
Arrived on time. Product was as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 10, 2016
Great recipes for healthier living. Really enjoying it. Good if you are looking for low sodium recipes with style. Came is perfect condition 8ndition and super fast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2013
I ordered this book along with some other cookbooks and I must say it is very nice. Lovely recipes and pictures to go with them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 18, 2015
Easy, delicious and healthy recipes in a gorgeous book with beautiful photos. What else could one ask for?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 6, 2016
Excellent book and great recipes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 7, 2011
I have stopped buying cookbooks because there are so many available recipes online but this book is a keeper. The cooking techniques are uniques and most importantly the ingredients are everyday and usually already in my cupboard.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 18, 2013
Was looking for missing recipes in my Rancho La Puerta cookbook...and here they are! So fun to cook and bring The Ranch home!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 8, 2009
I am usually disappointed by spa cookbooks which are often more trendy than practical. This one is a notable exception.

The recipes and menus are well planned to include a wondrous variety of fresh foods and whole grains. The few recipes that include unusual or pricey ingredients provide alternatives; e.g., olive for truffle oil. There are detailed nutritional values of each dish provided at the end of the cookbook. While portion sizes are relatively small. the ingredients impress as appetizing and adequately filling so as to be suitable for day-to-day meals. They are also special enough to impress company. There are various tips on healthful eating and cooking interspersed with the recipes. The chaptars are arranged from appetizer to dessert.

Almost all of the dishes are beautifuly photographed as full-page illustrations.

This large format, coffee-table styled book also includes pictures of the original Golden Door Spa in southern California. These photo and the description which accompany them are sufficient to convey the atmosphere of the spa without dominating. The reader is not left with the impression that the purpose of the book is to advertise the spa.

Chef Dean Rucker provides cooking classes for the Golden Door guests. As author, he carries forth this educational role as he describes the food preparation. Since the emphasis is upon using whole foods in a large variety, it would be fairly easy to vary the ingredients without significantly altering the nutritional values.

I was so impressed and inspired by this book that I read it through when it was first delivered!

This could serve as a Christmas present for a health-oriented friend who would like to learn how to prepare gourmet food which is also fresh,nutritious, and varied.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 10, 2009
This is an excellent cookbook for anyone who is interested in creating an elegant, healthy menu or lifestyle. Dean's recipes are clearly explained and filled with wholesome, fresh ingredients. There are simple recipes (like preparing perfect vegetables) and more complicated ones, including healthful vegetarian, vegan, fish, seafood and meat selections. Because more and more people would prefer to be served foods that are both tasty and good for them, I have used this cookbook to prepare both lunch and dinner menus. Each time, my guests (both men and women) were delighted by the flavors and really pleased to learn that they could have a second helping without worry (especially the men!) The crab cakes on roasted pineapple with sauce remoulade is a huge success - filling, refined, and luxurious - you would never know that the sauce is made with silky tofu. Wow, so guilt free! If you have hungry guests, it's easy to add a soup or pasta course and still keep the menu very healthy. This book is also helpfully organized. A number of recipe selections include information for an entire course, and complete nutritional information on each one can be found in a table in the back of the book, so menu choices can be thoughtful and informed.

Another reason I like Golden Door Cooks at Home so much is that it is an inspirational guide into the Golden Door lifestyle, a window into the original Golden Door Spa founded 50 years ago by visionary Deborah Szekely. There are articles and images that motivate, inspire and, for those who have visited the Spa, invoke cherished, happy memories. I enjoy giving it as a gift as a way of sharing my wonderful experiences as a guest at the Golden Door.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here