Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno

The Golden Notebook: A Novel
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(3 star). See all 131 reviews
on June 19, 2014
Disillusionment with communism, love, sex, marriage, life.
The book is about overall disillusionment and dysfunctional people some of whom are trying to adjust to normal humdrum life.
The book is fragmented and does not hold you like her other books.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
The book is a complex and sophisticated telling of the attempts at self-realization of the main character is many dimensions: artistic (she has written one successful novel), sexual, gender equality, political, and maternal. At times, it is repetitious, and the behavior of some of the characters is left unexplained (her daughter, her previous lover, her friend's son). However, it is a good read; I never read out of duty.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
The Golden Notebook was important for the women's movement in the sixties. It was frank, real and challenging. Reading it now, in this time, it's too long and needed a good editor. I also came away with the thought that I've never met a woman like the two leading characters in this novel.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2013
The next step beyond a stream of consciousness novel wou ld be a fragmented stream of conscious

Author writes well but makes reader work for it. And frankly it isn't worth j bc
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2014
Well, not really fool's gold, but this time around it feels wordy and dated, a task I've been assigned by my book club. Next month I hope we'll read something I like better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2014
Found it very difficult to finish this book. Didn't really understand it. Not really sure what it was about even after finishing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2016
Well written but I found it difficult to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2015
A friend told me about this book. The subject matter was boring to me, the communist party after the war. A single woman havimg affairs with married men far too many times, it got old real fast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
I finished this book several weeks ago. I understand it was important when it was published in the 1960's. Feminists greeted its frank description of menstruation and sexual intercourse as great leaps forward in the process of liberation. This male thought it was TMI. If that's liberty no wonder so few people want it.
I was impressed however by Lessing's description of the failure of Communism. I appreciated the disillusionment and despair so many true believers felt as they ignored horror stories from Stalinist Russia. It was heartbreaking. They hoped that our Original Fallen State could be overcome with better organization and motivation.
There are many Americans who still believe "education" can overcome drug abuse, teenage pregnancy and suicide. Their optimism is not very different from that of communist sympathizers. They deny the reality of concupiscence, that innate tendency to sin which corrupts every human endeavor. The effort itself is corrupt.
The book ends when Anna Wulf gives up her quest to be an artiste and assumes her quotidian duty to mother her daughter. She surrenders her individuality and becomes a person at last. It would be wonderful if she learned through the experience to be a person who writes.
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2015
Nothing wrong with the book its too long for my short attention span and for some most likely a good read jack
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse