Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition $79.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

GoldenEye 007
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$199.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on January 18, 2017
The copy I recieved takes a couple of inserts/tries to startup, otherwise both the single player and multiplayer modes function properly.

As for the game itself, if you're into the mission-based FPS genre, or an action packed party game, then you've come to the right place. This game offers both a single player mission based campaign, where you complete certain objectives to reach the next level. The multiplayer is a blast to play with 3 other players. There are multiple weapons, maps, characters, and secrets to keep you and your friends invested. Not to mention the different game modes, control styles, and weapon sets.

Truly a classic and pioneer for the N64 and FPS genre, this is a must have if you own a N64!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2015
I've looked all over for GoldenEye for my old school N64 but never could find it. Then I found it on Amazon, this is a nice change from the all digital world of FPS games. The graphics are not bad, but if you plan on playing this on your HDTV I would recommend getting a converter that takes the VGA ( Yellow, White & Red ) cables an converts the VGA signal to HDMI so you can play on your High Definition TV. Played this on christmas with the relatives an they were having a blast. Didn't think they would considering it's N64 an not Xbox ONE.

Just playing the game gives you a view of how far technology has come, it might be old an not as detailed as some FPS games but still gives you a perspective of what technology used to look like back in 1996 when the N64 was released. Today this game remains a favorite among gamers. If you have kids & a N64 id take the xbox away for a day an have them play N64 so they can see where & how technology has taken Gaming. Just don't let them play 007 GoldenEye, have them play Diddy Kong Racing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2012
The multiplayer is amazing but most reviews already cover that. I still have yet to beat the last level "Cradle" and the 2 bonus missions on the hardest difficulty after 12 years, and yet I am addicted to trying over and over. I finished the Campaign twice on the 1st 2 difficulties. Each difficulty higher, the more parts of the level you explore, and the more crazy scenarios you will experience, places and scenarios that you did not experience in the easier difficulties.. Many missions you can go about using stealth or guns blazing. It is always fun trying to beat facility or Bunker #1 with just a silenced pp7 without alerting anyone. Nothing is more satisfying than shooting 2 gaurds to death with a silenced ppk before they can hit the alarm. In some levels if you are feeling arrogant, you can hit the alarm yourself and take on hundreds of enemies and go rambo. There is so much about this game I could go on for days about how amazing this game is. No modern AAA FPS has surpassed Goldeneye on N64 campaign to this day. The remakes have been complete crap, despite the amazing COD engine. If you own a N64 and love perfect dark or other great FPS adventures you will love this.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2009
GoldenEye 007 is not only the best movie tie-in game of all time, but it is perhaps the most influential first-person shooter ever to hit the gaming-console market. If you aren't aware of the plot of this game that's not a problem, because essential it is the same as the popular James Bond movie, GoldenEye, which was released in 1995- two years prior to this game's release.

This is a game that is filled with techniques and styles that would be mimicked in many future games to come, and it gives the player a wide variety of objectives, and difficult challenges. The A.I. is smart (especially on higher difficulty settings) and the environments are complex enough to provide entertainment, as well as difficulty to any gamer.

The introduction of logical hit-points on your enemies is a great feature. Even bosses in this game can be taken down with a well-aimed shot to the head. It is this type of realism that really makes you feel like your James Bond and that you can sneak in, sneak out, covertly taking out henchmen as you go, or springing alarms and having to go through massive shootouts. Because of this there are many ways to beat the game, and limitless possibilities for how you accomplish your tasks. AKA: You can take easy ways or hard ways of beating levels...and if you don't have a strategy guide you'll have to find out those paths by yourself (which, I might add, is incredibly fun if you want to waste a day away).

This is one of those games that the more you play it the more you're able to value its contributions to the gaming industry. Each time I play it I notice aspects that have been replicated in many following FPS games. So if you have a Nintendo 64 go ahead and dust that sucker and order a used copy of GoldenEye 007, because trust me, as a Bond fan, and a casual gamer I can say that this game is highly recommended for all those who want to step into the shoes of James Bond, or just have an awesome, intense gaming experience.

(Also make sure to look out for its sister game, Perfect Dark, which is also on the N64, following the same controls, and very similar weapon uses.)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
I've yet to be more captivated by a videogame than the original "Goldeneye" for Nintendo 64. Yes, the graphics are laughable now, and other aspects of the game are certainly dated, but the game is as addicting as ever, putting you squarely in control of the characters and all of the levels are very well formatted and easy to follow. Playing this game still takes me back to when I was a kid, struggling for months to beat the first level when I realized all I had to was shoot the lock on the gate. Nostalgia may influence my rating, but even without rose tinted glasses, "Goldeneye" holds up incredibly well as the prototype for which all first person shooters modeled themselves after, and is still the best 007 game to date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
I love this game. I had to add it to my collection again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2017
got this as a gift and it hasn't disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
A great first person shooter! This game was released for Nintendo in 1996. It is played on a 64-bit operating system and has still worked to this day. The game is based on the 1995 movie of Goldeneye directed by Martin Campbell. The Goldeneye is a top-secret space weapon designed for sending an electromagnetic pulse that will shut down all electronic equipment. In the game, you play as agent 007 James Bond and work with a Russian Computer Programmer named Natalya to stop Alec Trevelyan from destroying London. Alec Trevelyan who is 006 has betrayed his organization and has become the ultimate bad guy of James Bond. I give this game five stars for it's great game play, plot, and multiplayer settings. Highly recommended for anyone who likes espionage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2017
This is still the best first person shooter. I would put this up against any current gen game and it would win. Outstanding story mode and an even better multi-player mode.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2016
Who doesn't love GoldenEye and the once cutting edge graphics! Still better then a lot of the shooters out today!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here