Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon kidsevergreen kidsevergreenaltText Choose channels with their favorite shows and movies kidsevergreenaltText Choose channels with their favorite shows and movies  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 43 reviews
on August 14, 2016
Besides owning and reading the classic Texas histories, I'm one of those who had several years of Texas history through school, visited many of the historic sites ( some many times), and found an ancestor's name on the San Jacinto monument. I know how to pronounce the place names, too, the Texas pronunciation of Spanish place names (OK, a dig at the Audible version). And this book covers areas previously unknown to me, sometimes has a new outlook on an event or person, and the writing is good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2017
Good Value. Quick Delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
Great Reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 6, 2013
This is an infinitely readable history of Texas presented in a palatable format. In a few instances, I found discrepancies with T.R. Fehrenbach's works, which are considered the gold standard. That said, this book was written fifty years after his venerable works and may have the benefit of more recent research. (Where there was a discrepancy, I stayed with Fehrenbach's data.) This nice book has earned a spot in my reference library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2016
it was not what I expected, however, it is good if you need a background in Texas history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
A very readable accounting of the history of Texas. The lives of men like Sam Houston and Steven F. Austin are very well covered, as well as the early Indian inhabitants. I felt that the stories of Texas governors could have been beefed up a little more. Sam Houston was very shabbily treated by the government of Texas following his victory at San Jacinto.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2016
Great product, low price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2014
This book is one of the greatest I have read on Texas History. I sometimes use it as a reference when trying to remember what happened. This author can really write!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2013
This is the most comprehensive and detailed Texas history book that I have read. Very interesting reading for anyone. If it has a down side it would be too detailed and the reader gets drowned in lots of boring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2015
Great book and as an avid reader of Texas history...I could not put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse