Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
48
5 star
90%
4 star
10%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 48 reviews
on July 18, 2017
Very good book. Very informative. Talks a lot about the reality in medicine of our days. We all want a quick fix, we want thinks instantly. Instead we are harming our body's systems with the overuse of antibiotics and other medications instead of taking preventive care and leaning towards more natural solutions that are in agreement with our natural way of function.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2012
a really interesting book which i wish every mom & dad would read so they would stop buying into the 'antibacterial' craze. manufacturers have turned us into a country of germophobes, and in doing so are creating a kind of self-fulfilling prophecy. this onslaught of products designed to keep our homes germ-free is creating strains of super-bugs, resistant to stronger and stronger antibacterials. we are creating a world where we will all end up being like the 'boy in the bubble', unable to fend off even the most innocuous germs even while they get stronger and stronger. (i'm sorry, but when we are told to buy 'hands free' soap dispensers, i think things have gone too far. who cares if the soap dispenser is 'germy'? isn't that why you're washing your hands? i'm more concerned with the door handle i'll be touching afterward.)

anyway, this book will open your eyes to the role bacteria play in our lives as well as the folly of our attempts to eradicate them. well written, and easy to understand without being simplistic, this is a book that everyone should read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2017
very interesting book about the different types of bacteria and viruses
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2007
Jessica Sachs writes about the intimate relationship between people and micro-organisms. Our skin has a 2-deep layer of bacteria, our mouths and gut have trillions of them; they are a constant part of our environment.

We've co-evolved with bacteria, and we need each other. Animals raised in a truly sterile environment, with no bacteria, do not thrive. Good bacteria help with food digestion, produce enzymes so we have better nutrition, and help fight off disease by crowding out disease-causing bacteria.

It looks as if we've been too successful in sterilizing our environment. Children raised on farms, where they are exposed to more bacteria while they are growing up, have a much lower rate of allergies and auto-immune diseases than children raised in cities. It looks like we need a certain amount of stimulation of our immune system by outside bacteria for it to develop optimally. Otherwise, our immune system grows up to be on a hair-trigger, ramping up too quickly and aggresively. Kids need to get dirty to grow up healthy :-)

This is an excellent book, with a background on the science of bacteria, how they evolve and respond to our use of antibiotics, how we are now threatened by antibiotic-resistant bacteria, techniques for reducing risks from disease-causing bacteria, a survey of probiotic developments and research, and discussion about where we are headed. Well written and engaging, highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2017
really interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2013
While I have a science background, I have not been very interested in biology and knew very little about microbes. This is a great introduction to the world of microbes. Well you think, so what. But trust me, the microbial world is in short amazing. I highly recommend this book if you have an interest in science and do not know much about microbes. It will change the way you see the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
A well written book that surprised me at how readable it was. I thought I would be crawling with bugs when I finished but not so. On the contrary, I was enlightened.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2008
This book is a good read for those interested in a light history of how scientists came to understand some of the more well-known bacteria that affect us. It also provides a glimpse into the lives of those affected by bacterial infections.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2008
This book should convince you of a new paradigm. We do not live in a world of bacteria that are trying to invade and kill us. We live in a self-made environment of bacteria that have a stake in our survival, and that protect us from potentially harmful disease. Our use and overuse of antibiotics is changing our individual bacterial ecosystems for the worse, hence the rise of multiply-drug-resistant microorganisms.

Sachs illustrates all this with entertaining clarity, then goes on to describe how current scientists are taking legions of bacteria, putting them through the equivalent of a bacterial Olympics, and deploying the winners to restore a healthful personal ecosystem that can rid us of certain illnesses.

I am a physician with over thirty years in practice. I read and then reviewed and annotated this book, and am writing a newsletter to my patients about it. I think every person, physician or not, will enjoy and learn from this excellent book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2016
Very informative. Very accessible. Nice writing style. Opened a whole new world of the unseen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here