BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
Good Green Homes: Creating Better Homes for a Healthier Planet
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on December 23, 2013
'good Green Homes' lays out very clearly the steps that help the average person take when thinking about designing and building a green home. Everything is explained clearly with 'Good Green Recommendations' every step of the way. The illustrations are very nice with a good selection of large and smaller homes. No excessively large houses in sight! This book is not only for new home builders. I have been doing residential drafting for years but as green homes become more important this book has been a great help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2008
This book gives a good understanding of what it means to be "green". Great examples of homes and "greenability" for all levels.

If you are interested in learning about the different meanings of being green at the residential level, this is a great starting point.

There are books that will go into a lot more detail around specific areas, so it depends on if you are looking for a go over or deep details.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2010
An excellent display of green homes. I was left slightly disappointed because of the more modern design. It wasn't really houses that most people buy. It was like a modern house magazine displaying architecture that happened to be really green. Just my take, but I would still recommend it to anyone interested in green homes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2007
This is an excellent book for those seeking an introduction to environmentally sound home building. There are many good general points and examples of green homes. It is short on details for actual designers but good for home builders who need to read this information desperately and stop building mega-mansions with 5 bedrooms for families with one kid.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2006
Doesn't give a detailed analysis of anything, but is a great tool for people wanting a basic understanding of green building, energy efficient techniques, etc.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2003
First, this book is beautiful!!
Second, it really does what it says -- it shows remarkably beautiful, remarkably 'normal' looking houses that incorporate earth-friendly materials, techniques and technologies.
It is great fun to sift through for ideas about that next remodel and that someday dream home.
I hope that building professionals read it, too -- it dispells a lot of myths about what one must sacrifice in order to have an environmentally-friendly home.
This book is a great combination of lovely to look at and a fascinating reference to read. I plan to have mine out for a while, for myself and (while I've never been one for coffee table books) for any friends who come over!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2010
GOOD GREEN HOMES: CREATING BETTER HOMES FOR A HEALTHIER PLANET pairs striking color photos with profiles of homes that are 'green' in energy consumption. From an eco-friendly addition to a historic home to cottages, vacation resorts, and even a neighborhood of green homes, this is packed with plans for any who would remodel, move into a new home, or build a new one. Tips to creating a green home covers all kinds of architectural styles and winning plans, perfect for any homeowner's library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2003
Whether you're building a home, remodeling a home or just want to do your part in making your apartment a little greener, you should pick up this book. Aside from being drop-dead gorgeous to look at, you will find it full of really simple but effective ways to make your home greener. Jennifer Roberts has transformed formerly arcane green building principles into solutions and ideas that almost anyone can incorprate into their homes. Her message is that everyone can take small steps toward greener homes. If everyone took one small step, imagine how much cleaner and greener our world would be. Reading this book should be your first small step.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2010
This book is loaded with top notch photographs of green designs that showcase what is capable of being used to build a new home, and keep it green.

Many think that the green revolution is an ugly one. Those who think that should buy this book and see what's available on the market to make all your neighbors jealous, yet keep your energy bill at a minimum!!

It made me look forward to building our next house. Normally something people dread
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"A recent poll revealed that an astounding 96% of consumers are willing to pay more for green features in a home, and 91% feel that energy-efficient features in a new home were extremely or very important."

If you are planning to redecorate or remodel, Good Green Homes offers ideas, real-world advice and lots of inspiration. Jennifer Roberts is a freelance writer who specializes in sustainable building, energy efficiency and corporate social responsibility. She helps people make choices that encourage positive change in their living environments. She answers the following questions:

How does having a "green" home actually save money?
How can someone who rents their home make significant changes?
What are some ways to protect and improve the quality of air inside our homes?
What are "rapidly renewable sources?"
How can you afford a green home on a limited budget?

Jennifer is also a merchandising manager for the Marina Green stores and joys introducing consumers to the joys of stylish clothes made from organically grown cotton, healthy paints, energy-efficient light bulbs, tableware made from recycled materials and environmentally friendly alternatives to everyday household products.

Featured Homes Include:

A Delightful Cottage
An Ecofriendly addition to a historic home
A Trio of Healthy and Green City Homes
An Artist's studio on a Wooded Island
A Vacation Retreat in the Wine Country
A Neighborhood of Homes
A Remodeled Victorian Flat

It is rather shocking to learn that the air inside our homes can be five times more polluted than the air outside. One look at your energy bill might convince you to read this book.

These homes don't really look all that different, but there are features like skylights to save electricity or there is a home that is naturally cooled, heated and lit. Some homes have solar water-heating systems for the summer and a unique solar power system blended right in with a backyard trellis to generate electricity from the sun.

The section on air quality was of interest to me because I am always moving my Austin air filter about the house.

The "Wine Country Retreat" looked like a house I could live in because it even has a tower. Well, the pools also looked rather inviting.

~The Rebecca Review
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here