Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 34 reviews
on June 15, 2011
Charmingly written and enjoyable this book is a nice read though it does not provide much that is new for the conversationally impaired. There are several points in the book where the author goes against his own advice and assumes political attitudes in his reader that match his own and by implication creates a small world of like-minded correct thinkers. This is unfortunate since it undercuts his message that good conversation requires an openness that defies the judgmentalism of dogna or correctness. SETM
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2017
Makes a good case for conversation being more than just neurones and brain chemistry .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2010
This was a big disappointment. I ordered this book after listening to an interview with the author on NPR. it was delightful exchange, light-hearted and informative; and I assumed the book would be the same, especially after reading at least one very positive review on Amazon's web site. It was neither (informative, nor entertaining). It consisted primarily of interminable analysis of one so-called conversation between the author and one young female acquaintance. The author had defined criteria of "conversation" as, in part, having no particular purpose. It was apparent that the exchange on which the book concentrated was about the young woman receiving advice on her own writing career. It was not humorous and did not exhibit any evidence of rapport between the two participants. I did not receive either entertainment or insight into good communication skills as a result of having read it. Menaker seems to be a pleasant person; but I would not care to have a conversation with him. Dull!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2015
This book intertwines stories, research and facts very nicely and left me with a refreshed view on the meaning and significance of in-person conversation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2010
Enlightening, humorous, and flowing, Dan Menaker's work presents a great review of the history of conversation...and how it flows into our modern lives. Mr Menaker presents some terrific ideas for keeping the conversation flowing, while helping those who are part of the action better understand those who share our dinners, our parties, and our social and professional lives.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
Author forgot that his goal should of been to provide something of value to the reader and must of wanted to entertaine himself with his confusing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
This is a thoughtful, humorous, intelligent and wonderfully written book. You will both enjoy and learn from reading it. It abounds with wisdom!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2015
Good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2010
As a playwright, psychotherapist, and professor of communications, I am a strong advocate of conversation as the life blood of human relationship. An interview with author Daniel Menaker on NPR inspired me to order two copies of A Good Talk, one for me and one for a dear friend, a design professor whose visual acumen is superior but whose conversational skills could use a tune-up. Yesterday he emailed me that during this long gloomy snowy week
of cabin fever he has been reading A Good Talk and finds it humorous, entertaining, and informative. A thumbs-up from this discriminating fellow is high praise indeed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2010
Much of this book is a record of a conversation between two people--and it is difficult to see how this helps to illuminate any points about the skill of good conversation. I would not recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse