Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 167 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 230 reviews
on December 31, 2016
Very very classic production of an old story. Teachers will love this movie! It's romantic, funny and so heart-breaking.
Petula Clark is wonderful and of course, Peter O'Toole. Buy this and show it during the holidays next year!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
great show, and if you are not used to this type of musicals, it could be boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2017
Loved the story, loved Petula Clark.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2017
One of my favorite films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
love the series of movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2004
Anyone who has read my previous ravings on this genuinely under rated masterpiece will know I have enormous affection for this film. I think it is my favourite movie of all time, it has stood the test of 40 years and remains fresh, charming and full of wit and genuine humanity.

Terrence Rattigan script positively rattles with great one liners and unlike the good but very dated 1939 version, it is not overtly sentimental or overplays the tragedies of the story. A great CD was released of the movie a few years ago, in that much is illustrated as to missing material cut from the film, some superb interviews with the stars and great unseen stills. It is such a shame that now when the movie finally comes, long overdue to DVD, that it is so short on any extras (as someone pointed out O Toole and Clarke would have jumped at the chance to discuss the film). I do not agree with the writer who said that unless you had seen the reserved seat roadshow version of the movie you had not seen this complete version until now. !!! This is exactly the same version available on laser disc and Video, albeit on video it was pan and scan. All the cuts and edits made in the early stages of the film's release remain here, ie the edited version of "Schooldays" and Peter O Toole's heartbreaking "When I Was Younger' which was recorded for the Cd, shot for the film (there are stills in the CD) but was cut , early in the release process.

Please dont get me wrong, all the latter cuts of the movie have been restored, so this is as full a length version of the film as has been seen by most of the public and is not that abominable 130 minute version which used to be shown on Tv quite a lot, but its still not the entirely complete version, sure there are overtures and intermission medlies and exit music etc(all of which were on the video ) but a 2 disc version that would have included some of the deleted scenes and interviews past and present with the still living stars would have brought it in line with the remarkable CD version still available.

What remains is a fine if not brilliant print of the film, that is darker and less washed out than the earlier Video release, beautiful sound and of course the marvellous marvellous movie itself, but, oh, what could have been done with this still very popular movie. I wonder whether Warners will ever realise what they have a re do a special version, I doubt it, but we can live in hope. !!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
Here's a high quality rendition of James Hilton's novel of an educator's dedication and devotion to his students at an English public school, early to mid 20th century.
Peter O'Toole is at his best as the lonesome professor of Latin and Greek whose heart is conquered by the actress who falls for him, head over heels.
Petula Clark shines as the unfulfilled showgirl who abandons the stage for the academic guy she loves, standing by her man and giving support and guidance as a professor's wife at the boarding school which is the center of their world.
Superb acting and very good singing, not to be missed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
This is a MUST SEE!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
After Peter O'tool died I wanted to rematch all his movies. This one I hadn't seen. Musicals aren't really my cup of tea but Peter O'toole is amazing in everything!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2017
My wife and I enjoyed watching this together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.99

Need customer service? Click here