Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Goosebumps: Night Of The Living Dummy III
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Benjamin Leftwich Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports STEM

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 15, 2004
This is the best Night of the Living Dummy book ever! I give this book a five star since it is the last in the goosebumps series but there is two in Goosebumps Series 2000: Bride of the Living Dummy and Slappy's Nightmare. Other Goosebumps books are mint but I like this one the most. Thankyou for spending time reading my review!
Review By Gavin Hetherington
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2016
Even though Slappy is the face of the Goosebumps series, I've found his stories (and his horror) generally on the weaker side. Night of the Living Dummy III is weird. It's weird in that it's nearly identical to the second book in the sub-series.

In some respects, it feels like a rewrite, and corrects a lot of the beats that just didn't work with the last one.

R.L. Stine's characterization also really shines with this entry. The siblings play off of one another with genuine sibling personalities, and their reluctance to accept (or, like, not accept) their doofy cousin feels very real. The dad is awkward, and often fails at being a stern parent -- but he tries! he tries really, really hard.

It's a creepy entry: Trina and Dan O'Dell's dad brings home a 13th dummy to add to his collection during a visit from some relatives. Soon after, horrible pranks start occurring in the night, with cousin Zane usually at the butt-end of them. Most of the yarn is about unraveling the mystery of who's behind the pranks, and what the motivation is. It could be Slappy, or it might be a bit more...real. The real scares don't crop up until the very end.

With mild spoilers, I still don't understand Slappy's goal to make children his slaves by...being a jerk. Like with the last entry, he isn't threatening -- just annoying. Even rude. And like the last entry, our heroes simply overpower him when he plays his cards and starts making threats. It makes Slappy's nefarious goals confusing, and his threats weak.

But this entry was all about the characterization, and the feeling of an ominous mystery! It's easily the best of the sub-series, and can be read entirely on its own without reference to the prior entries.

7/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2016
My son is not a reader and when he check out this book at his school he wanted to read it
I was so happy I bought 1 2 and 3
I have to say these books are the only books he wants to sit down and read on his own.
He was so happy to get these for Christmas present..Night of the Living Dummy 3 (Classic Goosebumps #26)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2016
I loved it! What I didn't like was how Stine made Zane act like such a baby. The other thing I didn't like was how Slappy used the same mean things like for example, " Let's play Kick The Dummy Down The Stairs! You can go first!" From the first book. Besides that, great book! It was creepy and funny. I totally Recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2016
So K and I started this book after he watched the movie Goosebumps. We tried a Goosebumps book before and he said it was scary so when I saw that I had this book on my shelf I figured lets try it and see. I was very surprised that he literally enjoyed the book and wasn't scared at all. I loved how the chapters were only about 2 pages maybe 2 1/2 pages long. K really enjoyed trying to guess who was the "new" dummy that came to Trina and Dan's home.
You see there is a new dummy that their dad has gotten but then weird things start happening especially when their cousin Zane comes to stay with them. Because dummies can not believe can they?
I believe the Goosebumps books are perfect for the young kids especially those that can read by themselves. To me it is the right kind of scary there is no gory or killing.
K has said he wants to read more books like this so now this has prompted me to starting buy a new Goosebumps book once a month and start up our collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2009
The first Night of the Living Dummy is one of the best entries in the Goosebumps canon, a genuinely creepy horror novella that Stine has rarely matched. Night of the Living Dummy II was a solid follow-up, introducing a new twist to the dummy story and even adding an extra bit of creepiness. However, just nine months after the second installment, Stine returns to the Dummy well, and finds it a bit dry this time around.

There really isn't much to say about this one that wasn't said about the first two books. The book has the same exact set up and plot twists as its predecessors, the same "the dummy's alive but then it's a prank but oh wait, the dummy really IS alive" story arc, with the added conceit of (wait for it)... extra dummies! Yeah, the epitome of creepiness and creativity is adding more dummies, not giving the already-existing dummy (Slappy) something interesting and original to do. (This isn't even to mention the presence of the same exact "Dummy on the kitchen table" scene as the first two books.) The book does have a nice twist ending which I quite like, but otherwise it's just more of the same.

What more can be said about this book? As the saying goes, it's done well, but one is disappointed to see it done at all.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 1997
Absolutely Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!! Trina and Dan can't stop squabbling with one another.Zane took advantage of that and tried to take revenge of what Trina&Dan did to him last time he was there.But........soon the dummies start popping 'round everywhere...miseriously. Slappy one of the dummies comes to life, destroying Trina &Zane's lives....forever!!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2004
NIGHT OF THE LIVING DUMMY 3

By R.L. Stine

Review by Larry

Why do people like ventriloquist dolls? Well in this book I'm going to tell you about a man and his family and how much he likes the dummies and are the dummies alive, Ha! Ha! Ha! Read and find out!

Read the book of how Trina O'Dell and her brother Dan explore their fathers dummies museum, here brother has a thing for his fathers dummies, I think he wants to be like his dad, because he likes to play with the dummies and even got a little bit of ventriloquist in him. Even though they like playing with the dummies they don't like entering the attic alone because the dummies look alive when you're in the dark scary attic and you have twelve sets of eyes staring at you. Let me tell you about that new dummy, man I think dummy collection is funny, do you know anyone who has anything strange, smiley is the name of the dummy their dad found on his way home. Trina found a note that was in the dummies pocket she thought it might have been the dummies real name so she read the note and it said "karru marri odonna loma molonu karrano". Next thing you know the dummy moved his little blue eye and blinked and Trina was in shock then the dummy moved its arm straight out and slap!!! You can read about the attacking of the dummies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2006
This book by R. L. Stine takes place in Trina O'Dell's house. It is about a girl whose dad found a dummy in a dumpster. Her dad collects dummies. She reads words from a card that she found in the dummy's pocket. Then the next night the dummy comes to life. Trina and her brother "Dan", go into the attic expecting her cousin to be in there trashing the room. But instead of their cousin, they find "Slappy", the new dummy. Then Trina and her brother get in a fight with "Slappy". They reach into the dummy's pocket thinking that the card will make him die, but it turns out it made the other dummies in Trina's attic come to life. To their luck, the other dummies disassembled "Slappy" and "Slappy" dies. Then the other dummies die too. At the end of the story, their cousin "Zane" wanted a dummy. They gave him "Slappy". I think their cousin might be in for some trouble, because they gave it to him alive. When they were walking out the door, they read the magic words and kept the card! So now Zane might be in for it!

I liked this book because it had dummies coming to life and it had funny jokes like "hey, scratch my back - I think I've got termites!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2006
This book by R. L. Stine takes place in Trina O'Dell's house. It is about a girl whose dad found a dummy in a dumpster. Her dad collects dummies. She reads words from a card that she found in the dummy's pocket. Then the next night the dummy comes to life. Trina and her brother "Dan", go into the attic expecting her cousin to be in there trashing the room. But instead of their cousin, they find "Slappy", the new dummy. Then Trina and her brother get in a fight with "Slappy". They reach into the dummy's pocket thinking that the card will make him die, but it turns out it made the other dummies in Trina's attic come to life. To their luck, the other dummies disassembled "Slappy" and "Slappy" dies. Then the other dummies die too. At the end of the story, their cousin "Zane" wanted a dummy. They gave him "Slappy". I think their cousin might be in for some trouble, because they gave it to him alive. When they were walking out the door, they read the magic words and kept the card! So now Zane might be in for it!

I liked this book because it had dummies coming to life and it had funny jokes like "hey, scratch my back - I think I've got termites!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse