Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(5 star, Verified Purchases). See all 28 reviews
on June 7, 2013
I am always in awe when I see the magnificnet cathedrals in England and wonder just how did they get built? Robert A. Scott does a wonderful job not only of describing the construction of these cathedrals but also of the times in which they were built. He covers all the aspects of life back in the medieval ages. Knowing all that I know now makes me even more in awe of the majesty of these beautful cathedrals. Nothing built today will be around in 100 years, let alone 600 years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2017
A good read before going to Europe and seeing the beautiful architecture
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2006
The people who reviewed this book before me did a great job of describing this wonderful book, so I'm not going to repeat their observations. However, one aspect of the work I personally appreciated was the way Scott examined the cathedrals as architectural responses to the cultural context. His analysis is clear and straightforward. Excellent book!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2009
I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to explore not only the structure of Gothic cathederals but also the political, cultural, and religious context in which they were built. This is a very thorough look at all these aspects of the enterprise. The prose style makes this book a pleasure to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2013
It's very informative, a little wordy with big words, but eye opening, thanks, The second one I bought for my brother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2015
Great Book. Well written. Easy to understand yet technical enough for experts. Captivating. This book is a must for anyone visiting Cathedrals in Europe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2014
Good explanation of how they organised their cathedral building systems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2014
Very informative and easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse