Workplace Solutions Editors' Holiday Gift Picks Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Our Best Wines Holiday Savings with 1¢ Shipping Gifts for Him hggv216 Get up to $100 back on House Cleaning services pet pet pet  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Shop Now

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$19.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 3,297 reviews(verified purchases). Show all reviews
on January 5, 2014
Can't review, must play game. Must fight sleep. Must fight hunger. Must continue to play game. Will call in sick
22 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2013
GTA 5 is insanely fun, Los Santos is huge and beautiful. The missions are long, not too frustrating and fun as hell. The graphics are even better than GTA 4 everything looks so real and alive. Everyone knows in GTA 4 the driving was terrible, not in GTA 5, when cars flip over they don't explode automatically and driving is much more better and fluid. You get 3 characters to play with this time around and what's new is that they all have a special ability. Missions are crazy and switching characters throughout the game is seamless.Get ready for a long adventure, this game has tons of missions as well as side ones. The main game is fun, but the online is...................TERRIBLE.
GTA Online is so boring and frustrating that I don't even bother with it any more. The problem is too much content and terrible trophies. Customization is boring and is not needed but is force on you. The missions are long and boring and no one shows up in matches leaving the missions undone. Once you even end up in free roam you are gun down and then will have to enter passive mode. Trophies are so stupid you will have to boost all of them. I don't boost (so goodbye platinum). It took me an hour to figure out how to even join a job or match, they want you to insure your car, who cares? invest money in a bank who cares? customize your character, car, buy a house who cares? A simple death match, or missions would had been better. Music of GTA 5 is horrible as well. GTA 5 is definitely game of the year, but that's only the main game, GTA Online is terrible.

P.S: To all you parents out there stop letting you infant kids play this game, and since no one told you this I will, your terrible parents.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2014
GTA V is a huge game. So much so, that a mandatory 8.4 GB installation is required to play the game. Plus, there's another 1 or 2 GB worth of updates. Additionally, Rockstar has announced that, in the not so distant future, there will be even more updates. When this time comes, you'll need approximately 12 GB of storage just for this game, and still need the play disc. If you don't play online, you do not need to update the game, but you will not receive DLC that includes an arsenal of guns for story/online mode. A flashdrive can be used to install, but it is recommended that you buy a brand new flashdrive just for your PS3 console.

Cross-console gamers: if you own a PS3 and an Xbox 360, consider buying on 360 instead. I have GTA V for both consoles, and I noticed that graphics are slightly improved on 360, and the PS3 version lags and glitches out more. On top of that, shooting is much harder on PS3. Driving on PS3 feels more like driving a real car, but is also harder. Piloting is a little easier on 360 as well, but experience is much needed either way.

Now, for the review of the game: GTA V is easily the best Grand Theft Auto game to date. You get to take control of three different characters throughout the story, each having their own missions, side missions, etc. The story follows as Michael fakes his own death to retire as a bank robber at a young age. After he gets himself into trouble with Franklin, he has to get back in the game and rob a jewelry store. This leads to his friendship with Trevor being revived. Trevor, Michael, and Franklin pull heists together, get into trouble with the FIB (parody of FBI), and must do tasks for them.
In addition to the main story, each character runs into random people, doing missions for them and making money along the way. Random events also happen throughout the large map of San Andreas, giving players the option to help others and make a few bucks. You can play tennis, golfing, darts, car races, running/swimming/bike marathons, hang out with other characters, go to a bar to get drunk, go to a strip club, rob stores, and much much more. Character customization is available, allowing you to change hairstyles, clothing styles, and tattoos. As Trevor, you can even hunt deer for cash. Buying shares in stock marketing and properties is also available. All in all, this game can be played and enjoyed for years to come, never getting boring or tiring.

GTA online, however, is not all it's cracked up to be. You get to customize the way your character looks by genetics: you select what mother, father, and grandparents you want, and alter resemblance to each figure. But there is a downside... all characters seem to look like meth heads, no matter what you do. You can participate in races and deathmatches with other players, but that's about all you can do. On top of that, Sony's online server is slow and both 360 and PS3 seems to be randomized - instead of paring you with other "newbies," you play with people 100 levels higher than you, leading to unfair deathmatches and races, and they kill newbies for fun on the streets. Rockstar has made a penalty system for players who kill other players, making them pay your hospital bill and paring them with other "naughty" players, but many have figured ways around getting a penalty.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2013
This is not a hater review. I've played all GTA games since before they were 3D. I like all GTA games but I'm getting frustrated with the same issues. GTA 5 entertains and is fun for a while. After you beat the main story line things get boring fast. This is a great game but because Rockstar has had so many chances to fix these issues I'm rating it 2 stars.

Rockstar keeps upgrading the graphics and mechanics, but not things that I really want. Like more side missions, more things to do, larger maps and buildings that you can enter. I'd be more than happy to play PS2 style graphics if I could enter 70% of the buildings. But as it is now I can enter 5% of the buildings. What is enjoyable about looking at a beautiful skyscraper and walking to the front door and not being able to enter? Or seeing a painted interior.

People on the forums say the world is too large to accommodate this request but honestly look at games like Skyrim, they can do it. So it is possible.

Then at the end of the game when you finally have enough money to buy properties, after you buy the property you still can't even enter them. Common, even GTA Vice City let you enjoy your night clubs or other properties after you purchased it.
55 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2016
Looked even better than I suspected it would, although it's hardcapped to 720p the quality is still amazing on my TV.

Framerate is great throughout the story, everything is smooth and as perfect as it seemed when I played on my brothers PS4. Graphics might be turned down a little, and shaders might be more basic but when you get used to playing it on the PS3 it's honestly great anyway. Though if you bought this game for the graphics, you'd be playing it on PS4 or PC anyways.

The product itself is perfect, although I did not receive a "Greatest Hits" edition, I however received the normal edition for the PS3.

Online play is sporadic, but honestly I didn't buy this game to deal with chumps online. Especially on a controller based console, FPS/TPS are better on PC.

Other than that great buy, and was a very reasonable price.

Graphics are top notch for the system, stability and framerate like I said are perfect, and honestly it feels much better than your average port.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2015
I personally hate this game because of the violence but with tha being said, my husband and teenage son love it due to the great graphics. I have seen it myself some of it isn't too bad but some is completely inappropriate. So buyer be aware, this is an adult video game. He now owns a playstation 4 and has decided he has to have this game again in that version.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2015
For adults its an alright game, the heists made it more so. However if your a parent, keep your kids away from this thing, it glorifies drugs, prostitution, murder, theft etc. Kids are going to see bad things regardless, nothing we can do about it in this day and age, but I have seen too many out of control kids made worse by games like this and Saints Rowe, so be warned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2015
When it started loading story the screen freeze or always loading and it never starts the game. I was really disappointed especially when i bought the one that is amazon certified and inspected.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2016
Nevermind if you will like the game or not, ive never seen so much detail in a sandbox game EVER. The world in GTA V is so real its not even funny. Everything is just amazing. I dont even know what to do in the game because you can do anything and go anywhere, i mean, i literally jumped on a train and just rode it around to see where it goes. Any issues anyone has with the game controls can EASILY be fixed by one just simply picking the controller option is most desirable to them. My only gripe about this game is that the dot for aiming your guns is not easily seen when aiming. I havent done my research but i hope theres a way for me to fix that. Maybe i can buy a better gun sight or get a laser beam dot, i dont know but its my only gripe. Best GTA EVER.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2016
I don't purchase games too often and am not a hardcore gamer, but I've always been a fan of the GTA series. GTA V is hands down the best yet. You play as three separate characters, the missions and side missions are fun and challenging. There's a big map, the,story is interesting, some humor thrown in. The graphics are fantastic and music is great, I've only played in story mode so I can't comment to online play.

This is the best GTA so far and one of my favorite video games overall (if not my favorite). I've probably played it from beginning to end about 3 or 4 times so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 154 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here