Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $9.01 (75%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Graverobbers Wanted (No Experience Necessary) (An Andrew Mayhem Thriller) by [Strand, Jeff]
Kindle App Ad

Graverobbers Wanted (No Experience Necessary) (An Andrew Mayhem Thriller) Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 50 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$40.68

Length: 196 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Matchbook Price: $0.00 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.
  • Similar books to Graverobbers Wanted (No Experience Necessary) (An Andrew Mayhem Thriller)

The Underground Railroad
The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

Strand flips his readers from the ghoulish to the hilarious, reminding us not to take anything too seriously. I strongly recommend this story to adults with a sense of humor and people who delight in extremes. --Inscriptions Magazine

I giggled, snorted, and guffawed my way through Jeff Strand's incredibly funny, incredibly dark, incredibly mysterious debut novel. Should be on every mystery lover's list of favorites, especially if the odd and unusual tickles the imagination. --Crescent Blues

Readers of Jeff Strand's latest thriller can be forgiven if they feel like they've found a new gem by Elmore Leonard. Strand has created the same off-the-wall humor and wildly challenged characters that keep Leonard's books on the top of the heap. But Strand is building a literary reputation of his own with his sharp, witty e-books. --BookPage

About the Author

JEFF STRAND lives in Tampa, Florida, and doesn't believe in voodoo. But he still thinks you should carry a doll around, go up to people you don't like, and chuckle while you jab it with pins, just to make them squirm. Poke around his gleefully macabre website at www.JeffStrand.com.

Product Details

  • File Size: 489 KB
  • Print Length: 196 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publication Date: November 8, 2011
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0065558GU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #277,656 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I've been a fan of Jeff Strand's work for a few years now, but I've never picked up his earlier work. More specifically I've never read his Andrew Mayhem series of horror/comedy/thrillers. I decided to give the first title a whirl in preparation for the 4th in the series.

I really had no idea what to expect. I'm not much a fan of ongoing series, so would it feel too TV-ish to me? Would Strand's prose be as funny and dry as his later work? How would I be able to fear for a character's safety when I know they'll be around for at least three more books?

The answer: those were all stupid questions and I should stop being a doubting Thomas.

Graverobbers is a ghoulish rocket that runs on the propulsive combination of its ludicrous plot and the likeably doofy voice of its narrator. Andrew's first adventure is as enjoyable as he is inept.

The book is labeled as an "Andrew Mayhem Thriller" but I think "Mystery" would give perspective readers a better idea what to expect. Andrew may be a schmuck, but he's still a detective in the tradition of Sherlock, Marlowe, Spade and Lew Archer. The clue elements may not be as integral to the overall success of the book as its humor and gore are, but there's a mystery going on here nonetheless.

Even if after a ton of violence is perpetrated on poor Andrew we don't feel that the stakes are quite high enough, Strand ratchets up the tension by throwing some innocents into the fold. Where the aforementioned detectives are all aloof lone-wolves, Andrew's got family and friends to protect and we can't help but fear for them.
Read more ›
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I discovered Jeff Strand while I was checking out J.A Konrath's (AKA Jack Kilborn)books. Jeff Strand is the co-author of Suckers, which is a book I've had my eye on for awhile. So I decided to get acquainted with Andrew Mayhem by reading the first book in the series.

Jeff Strand walks a tightrope between graphic violence and humor. He does so extremely well. Graverobbers Wanted is light, funny and not for the easily squeamish. It's quite graphic. So one minute your eyes will be wide with fright, and the next minute you'll be smiling and/or amused.

Andrew Mayhem lives up to his last name when he was hired to dig up a body, along with his best friend Roger, and then realize that the person is not dead. Andrew Mayhem is a flawed yet enormously likable character. The book started out great, but then it lost its steam towards the middle. The humor that started out with a bang got somewhat diluted and the plot seemed flat and contrived. The ending seemed too neatly wrapped up. Plus, the characters felt a wee bit two-dimensional (the employees at Ghoulish Delights).

Now don't get me wrong, I enjoyed this book enough to want to buy the sequel. I liked Andrew's running commentary and he's the kinda character I'd like to see again. He's deeply sarcastic and witty. Jeff Strand is a fine writer. His style of writing is fun and snappy. It takes real talent to merge horror and comedy like the way he does.

3.5 Stars.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Short and sweet review: Order all 3 of this series now! Gore, sarcasm, horror, laugh out loud and the best characters ever. What more do you need to hear, GET THEM, you will love them!
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Has it really been almost ten years? In preparation for the long awaited fourth novel in the series, I decided to reread the first three in their polished Kindle glory (complete with smoking hot new covers! The first time I laid eyes on an Andrew Mayhem thriller, I had to read them on a Palm Pilot.)

Dark and twisted, gore aplenty, and with just enough sarcasm from the main characters to be funny without feeling forced. An excellent thriller that is a (virtual) page turner from the very start. This is one well written novel that showed early on how versatile Strand's writing could be.

There are only half a dozen novels I have ever read a second time, and the Mayhem series takes three of those coveted spots. If you've read them before, it's time to read them again. If you haven't, don't even bother with a sample. For the price of a single paperback you can have all three books and be ready when number four is released in December.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
A week after a misguided stint as an amateur (unlicensed) private investigator (videotaping an adulterous couple in the act) doesn't work out, Andrew Mayhem, who is in immediate financial need dut to some bad decisions, finds himself about to make another one. The price: $20,000. The job: To simply retrieve a key. No big deal, right? Well, this key is a little hard to access -- someone else has it, and he's buried in a pine box in a shallow grave in the park.

What happens with the key search sends Andrew off on another unexpected investigation as he and his best friend, Roger, try to find out who was really behind everything. Their search takes them to the home-made horror film experts at Ghoulish Delights and puts Andrew squarely in the clutches of The Apparition in his search for "the killer."

This is no ordinary killer, but one who has a maliciously creative streak, leaving mysterious presents on the hood of Andrew's car, and sending Andrew all over town on a scavenger hunt, with each clue telling him what to do next. Meanwhile, Andrew (who tries to be a good husband and father in spite of his ineptitude at most other things), is also trying to take care of his two children while his wife recovers from a broken leg in the hospital. Could life get any more difficult for a guy who's just trying to make ends meet without having to get a real job?

Author Jeff Strand is perhaps best known for his skill at balancing humorous and horrific elements in one tale (although his novel Pressure, with its high-intensity mainstream-thriller plot and characters, may change that for good if it gets the audience it deserves). Graverobbers Wanted (No Experience Necessary) is part of the reason for that reputation, and it showcases his rare talent wonderfully.
Read more ›
2 Comments 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Graverobbers Wanted (No Experience Necessary) (An Andrew Mayhem Thriller)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Graverobbers Wanted (No Experience Necessary) (An Andrew Mayhem Thriller)