Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$460.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 57 reviews
on June 17, 2017
Everything ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2017
This is a replacement for the one I've had since the '70's from the illustrator who was a friend on mine. This one is in really good condition, considering the age. I'm as happy as I can be with a replacement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2016
Not much to say. It has everything.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2015
Book arrived on time, was in great condition exactly as described (actually near new condition), no "surprises". Great experience with this reseller.

The book itself is a classic textbook, "must have" for anyone beginning serious study of the subject. It may be a while before I have waded through all 1200 pages.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2015
The best book for a serious introduction to general relativity and gravitation - after trying many other
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2015
Deep but clear. I m only just getting started but love it already. This is the classic book on gravity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
I think it is the best book for study of gravity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2014
This book with its three distinguished authors is the definition of a classic. Beyond its considerable heft, sufficient in itself to bend nearby space-time, it presents the material in a way which is intuitive and rigorous to the physics … but in a language familiar to the modern presentation of the mathematics.
The student is often confronted with the unfamiliar notation of Einstein’s way of presenting differential geometry, and his General Theory. This same student who has not seen GR before, but who has taken college physics, and learned advanced calculus, feels familiar with the language of differential forms, tangent spaces, inner products, and manifolds … but often feels lost in the tensorial presentation. Do I already know this math? … Is there some vast theory I must master before even reading this material?
Wheeler et al. solve this problem by providing a bridge between all three perspectives and languages. So one can see the physical theory, the Einstein notation and the modern manifold presentation all connected, and all describing the same thing. Masterful.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
Best Physics book ever printed. Page 991 give the Newtonian plus the Einsteinian plus the rotational contribution of gravity plus the formulae ends with dot dot dot bracket. There is one more item that adds gravity and it took me a while to understand what it is.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2013
This is what you must refer to in order to understand the the theory and the issues. It is organized and presented in a way that allows you to dip your toes in the theory before diving into the details.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse