Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 221 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 345 reviews
on August 2, 2017
Long, very long, but totally worth it. Just have to remember the subject matter and time it was created. I didn't expect to like it, but days later I caught myself telling people about it. Obviously one of the greatest speeches EVER at the end, and it was a long slow build to it, but I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
It is funny that a man known for silence spoke one such a influential speech. I had seen this movie when I was 17.5 years old and had not known the name of it until recently at 35 years old. Though I had wanted to see the movie again this entire time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
What a classic! Charlie Chaplin's first "talkie" movie is a funny yet poignant look at the human condition, by contrasting the power hungry dictator (unmistakable reference to Hitler) with a humble tailor from the small town. This story borrows from the classic Mark Twain story of "The Prince and the Pauper," but instead of the two *wanting* to switch places, circumstances throw the two into places they didn't want to be in. Oddly enough, Chaplin stated later that he would not have made the film had he known about the actual horrors of the Nazi concentration camps at the time, but it's knowing of the horrors that makes this film even more important of a warning. Rotten Tomatoes gives it a 92% rating, which is almost unheard of!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2017
A masterpiece that's hard to define. It has comic elements, it's satirical, it's poignant, it's has moments of joy and heartbreak. It's not a film to watch casually. There are deeper moments, nuances, like in all Chaplin films. The final speech is brilliant with its message, but watch closely. It's not just the words, it's the subtle expressions on Chaplin's and Goddard's faces that give power to the words. (Amazon: you should add Goddard to "starring".) It is an old film and it was a controversial film in its time (1940), yet the message is both historic, current and timeless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2015
There is no doubt that Charlie Chaplin was the finest comedic talent of his generation and this film once again proves that point. It comes with a fabulous dose of humor plus an air of poignancy that was his trademark. As the poor Jewish barber he is often mistaken for in this caricature of Adolph Hitler and as Hitler, himself, he is absolutely stunning and no less brilliant than the overall production. This was his first "Talkie" and is a film to have and hold on to if you are a Chaplin fan.. Paulette Goddard and Jack Oakie support this laugh fest beautifully in a film whose only task it is, is to plead for tolerance among all people...also a Chaplin hallmark.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
Not a fan of Chaplin's little tramp films, nonetheless, I am a great Chaplin devotee. I never miss an opportunity to watch his other movies. Actor, director, producer, there are few who compare. The Great Dictator is by far the most entertaining movie ever. It captivates, with every minute detail and spoken word. The hilarity of his global balloon dance, his silly trip on the "Nazi" pattern of the floor, as well as the names he gave to his global characters, make this a Chaplin masterpiece. Chaplin had the forsight and nerve to attack Hitler before U.S. entry into WWII through this film. His passionate speech at the end brought brutal reality to what appeared to be comedy. Chaplin was an absolute genius. No one should miss this film for its historical significance as well as insight to the brilliant mind of Charles Chaplin.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
First of all, I found this movie absolutely hilarious! I thought that it was so funny how Chaplin spoke in fake German (Tomainian) for his role as Hynkel. The slapstick comedy adds to the humor in this movie, along with the parodies of Hitler and Mussolini. I'm pretty sure that there are many other parodies, but these two characters cracked me up the most!

The movie also has some lessons about the human race and that everyone is equal. These lessons are specifically mentioned in the final speech of the movie.

I'm not really good at reviewing movies, but the final speech is the most important part of the movie and does not involve any comedy. I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone because it is a great comedy and drama film!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2011
The Great Dictator is one of the most controversial and hilarious films ever made.(Its famous end speech is still depated upon to this very day, with such extreme comments as "over-hyped"/"this film is #86 on IMDB's top 250?") This film introduced me to Chaplin and I intend trying to collect more of his films, and hopefully Criterion will release more in the near future. I won't spend too much time on the plot, but basically, Chaplin plays a barber and a dictator, both look alike, and the dictator is obviously a parody of Hitler. Not only is there brilliant dialougue humor, but also great physical comedy. The film cost roughly $2 million and it shows greatly in terms of production value. The film was nominated for 5 Oscars, including Best Picture(Chaplin), Actor(Chaplin), Screenplay(Chaplin), Supporting Actor(Jack Oakie as the hilarious parody of Mussolini, as Napoloni of Bacteria), and Best Score(Meredith Wilson). The DVD is excellent. The audio commentary track alone is worth the price of this already marvelous DVD. To add to the value, a documentary has been included from ten years ago, that discusses the similarites between Hitler and Chaplin.(the similarities don't end at the mustache). If you already are a fan of the film or want to start watching Chaplin films, then I'd say this is a fairly good start.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
Many people commonly know Charlie Chaplin as that lovable "tramp" from his silent films and the style and character is echoed in this amazing film. So ahead of its day in 1939, this parody sadly foreshadows a future Chaplin recognized as coming but could not fully realize. Otherwise, this film would not likely exist (opinion). It is a mix of comedy, drama, and history.

If you enjoy classic Chaplin and WWII time peices, this is a must; if only for the final ten minutes of the film. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
I've been studying the rise of the Third Reich lately and this is the best political satire I've ever seen. Chaplin produced, wrote, directed and acted in it. This topic handled this way was something Hollywood was shy of filming. There are moments of humor and moments of genuine terror. It is simply one of the best films I have seen in a long time. Possibly in my life.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse