Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
20
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 20 reviews
on October 19, 2013
This detailed biography chronicles Henry's evolution from promising youth to monstrous old man. If you watched "The Tudors" and said to yourself, "That could never have happened," you need to read this book, because a lot of it did! This book presents aspects of Henry's life that I hadn't previously read, and offers an account of how (and possibly why) he changed from a brilliant, progressive young monarch to a suspicious, paranoid tyrant who destroyed almost everyone who was close to him. A must-read, if you are fascinated by Henry. The sequel, about his daughter Elizabeth, is also eye-opening.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2013
One of the best biographies I've ever read - not only on Henry VIII but also of his times. And - it blows the prevailing opinion of Henry as a dirty , murderous, old many right out of the water - without being a sucky whitewash. Very, very highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2016
What a selfish, beastly person he was !!!!!! So sorry to hear that - so glad we don't have kings and queens in United States !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2014
Fabulous book on King Hal, I liked it for the commentary on the social aspects of the exciting and endlessly interesting life of King Henry as well as the historical events. I highly recommend this book because the author really brings the history to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
Many of the more intimate and personal factoids about one of the most notorious English kings, and the one, who maybe more even than Martin Luther, changed the face of Christianity.

This is a well written, easy read and enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2008
Carolle Erickson has certainly captured my attention in the books she has written. I love History and to make it enjoyable reading is a real plus. It's quite amazing how Henry the VIII changed so greatly after some of his senseless selfish marriages yet still has such appeal to us even in the here and now. LOVED this book. Read it more than once!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2009
This book is a pleasant overview of the Tudor times, but is lacking in the meat that so many other authors have given us. The chapters are short and it is a very easy text to read. However, I did notice a few irregularities that have been pointed out by more recent authors.

I would recommend this tome for high school students or neophyte Tudor Anglophiles (who's only exposure to the times is a certain show on a movie channel that takes way too many liberties with history) who want a introductory text on the Great Harry. But if you are looking for books on the great king that serve up a full-course banquet; I would suggest such authors as Alison Weir, David Starkey, Retha Warnicke, Joanna Denney for starters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2015
Excellent like all of Erickson's Tudor bios
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
Ordered this for a friend she seemed to enjoy it very much. Has had us order similar items that she was interested in
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
Good history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here