Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals HPC Enlightenment Now Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18_gno



VINE VOICEon August 28, 2002
It was truly wonderful to read David's biographies of these great souls. There is quite a warts-and-all documentary style to this, but I really felt that I got into the lives of the people. For instance, I felt like I got a better picture of Billy Graham from the one chapter on him here than I did from the whole of Graham's autobiography.
Full disclosure: I know David a little, we go to church together. But it's STILL a great book. I hope you can still find it around.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 28, 2016
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 9, 2013
This is a great book. The subjects covered are truly great souls. This book gives you a deeper look into the lives of Billy Graham, Nelson Mandela, Alexsander Solzenitsyn, Mother Teresa, Pope John Paul II, and Elie Wiesel. Each one shaped our lives in a profound way. A must read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 9, 2014
The original hardcover edition from 1998 is a timeless treasure. An in-depth treatise into the lives, character and virtues of individuals who made a difference in that era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 15, 2012
I read this book for an undergraduate class on great leaders, and I found it to be a great read. The six souls covered each had an incredible impact on the twentieth century and deserve the recognition Aikman gives them. Aikman also does so in a style that is enjoyable and easy to read. I definitely recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 5, 2013
Every person should make a habit of reading about people who make the world a better place. This book tells of the lives of such people. A must read for cynics!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 24, 2013
Great book. The author gives in goes into detail the bio of each of these wonderful people. Interesting people written in an interesting way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 18, 2015
Overall great book!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 10, 2008
very interesting biographies of wonderful people. i give this book as a high school graduation present in hopes that the recipient will become a great soul
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 14, 1999
Great Souls: Six Who Changed the Century is undoubtedly one of the best collections of biographies I have read in years. In an era where celebrities are designated "heroes" and fifty or so men in New Orleans are called "Saints", it is refreshing - no it's inspiring - to read about five men and a woman whose attitudes and actions had a profound and positive effect on this century. David Aikman, a talented foreign correspondent for Time Magazine turned writer, has done a superb job capturing, in a few pages, the extraordinary lives and accomplishments of Billy Graham, Mother Teresa, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, Pope John Paul II, Elie Wiesel and Nelson Mandela. If you are looking for perfect people, you won't find them in Aikman's book. What you will find, however, are six individuals who again and again, rose above their times and circumstances to change, if only for a brief time, the course of human events. Aikman's astute observations into the worldly and spiritual lives of these great souls hold important lessons for all of us today. Mother Teresa's inexhaustible compassion for the poorest of the poor, Nelson Mandela's amazing capacity to forgive, Billy Graham's urgent quest for salvation for the human soul, Solzhenitsyn's implacable pursuit of the truth, Pope John Paul's passion for human dignity and Eli Wiesel's constant reminders of the profound wickedness that lurks in the hearts of men, these are some of the lessons in store for those who read this enjoyable and inspirational book. Perhaps the best chapter is the last. Here Aikman uses Eli Wiesel's compelling and tragic story to inquire into the nature of evil. Was Adolph Hitler a charismatic but misguided despot or Satan incarnate? Was the Holocaust "a mutation on a cosmic scale" or "merely the natural shoots watered by Europe's longtime subterranean lake of anti-Semitism"? As we move from this millennium to the next, hopefully the brilliant lights of these great souls will illuminate the answers to these questions and be a lamp unto the uncertain path that lies before us.
rlrodriguez@ucdavis.edu
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse