Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Noah Gundersen GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on October 15, 2013
I've noticed that a great many Japanese plots stress morality lessons with their entertainment. (Once, America emphasized moral lessons in their films - the early 1900's - (Such were replaced by pure, often mindless Entertainment) And use their mythologies to dramatize them, along with offering life lessons learned by Japan
as a venerable, flexible yet centered culture. This film sure evidences all of the above.

Also TGAW offers, graphically beautiful, action-packed adventure with stunning effects. I collect Asian films
and art and have become a fan of their graphic institutions, from Manga, early watercolors, sculpture,architecture, product design and as here, motion pictures. (Much of which I acquired via Amazon, with more Asian arts than any online purveyor...)

A young boy is the hero, hassled by bullying school boys; a common, often-seen plot ploy (But he moves on to be most-often surrounded by adults, human and otherwise). 'TGYW' puts on a particularly Japanese spin. Look/listen for philosophical and spiritual injections amid monsters, morphing's (metaphors all), battle issues and family values, personal conviction/character/sacrifice. All presented in ways both children and adults can catch and think about together. TGYW's a particularly good see-together family film - but the action and bizarre scenes (not even a PG rating let alone R and up) Still, it can be appreciated from teens on. No one can be offend or confused by words or pictures.

I viewed the two-disk set which offers one of the best 'making of' rendition of the creative process I've seen, particularly exploring Japanese attitude of their artisans. It's an education, comparing Asian and Western Minds working, creating. Again, feasts for thought and discussion.

Akin to 'Yokai Wars'; here are some recommendations: (Amazon's usual 'insert' function was absent (?) at this writing...) :

THE LOST EMPIRE (Chinese, via 20th Century Fox), DREAMS (Akira Kurosawa, Japanese), WHY HAS BODHI-DHARMA LEFT FOR THE EAST? Chinese Classic), SPRING, SUMMER, FALL, WINTER, SPRING (Korean, classic). There are many more Asian films which can be enjoyed while opening Western Minds (just as Western movies have/can expand millions of minds in other countries... For better or worse) Last shot, two surprising films: THE TASTE OF TEA and DEATH NOTE (Japanese).

I viewed the two-disk TGYW set which offers one of the best 'making of' rendition of the creative process I've seen, particularly exploring Japanese attitude of their artisans. It's an education, comparing Asian and Western Minds working, creating, appreciating. Again, a feast for thought and discussion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
Love this movie...I have given it as a gift twice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2013
This engaging and entertaining film never takes itself too seriously, and you will enjoy it if you adopt a similar approach. Green-headed monster men? Check. Multiple-headed Terminator cyborg knock-offs? Got'em. Sword-slinging sweeties? Present and accounted for. Grab the popcorn and an extra helping of silliness. A fun martial arts Good Guys vs. Bad Guys romp for kids of all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2012
Seeing this movie reminds me of Alice in Wonderland. It starts from the begining of the movie, there are good Yokai who want to help and there are bad who want to bring down the humans. The bus ride to safety part in the movie is a total blast. Pay attention who is the lead demon and the helpers, they are important to the finish of the movie. The dubbing is good and easy to follow so is the video transfer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2008
When I first watched The Great Yokia War, I got to thinking about how few movies are made anymore with such a strong sense of good and evil or with such a childlike wonder with what is possible. I REALLY got into it. I whipped out the Lightsaber app on my iphone and was wielding it to help the kirin rider prevail. (There was a shameless product plug for Kirin Beer, but it was worked in comedically, and actually made the movie more endearing.) This movie was a walk into the world of the imagination, when we let go of the world we walk as a matter of daily course. It reminded me of reading The Book of Lost Things: A Novel, or watching Pan's Labyrinth, or the The Fountain (Widescreen Edition). This film is a welcomed escape from a droll and oppressive world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2013
This is a cute little Japanese film about a guy who becomes a hero even though at first he doesn't want to be. He saves the spirits in trouble, and it's a fun film for the whole family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2010
The Great Yokai(Monsters) War!!!
Really interesting movie, I first saw it in Japan and looked for it everywhere, and Amazon was the only place that had it.
The monsters are a little scary so may not be suitable for some young kids.
Rent it or buy it, it's worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
yes!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2007
i give this movie two thumbs up! It's a story about the creatures of Japan's folklore. (And it wasn't anything like the "Never Ending Story") The only way "it was like a kid's movie", or the Never Ending Story, is because the main character is a child... i believe this movie is for you if you take any interest in Japan's culture.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2008
Best to know a lil about Japanese mythology, to understand this movie. Feels like it's a step or two up from a Power Rangers movie in production value. Unlike corny movies made in America, the Japanese tend to take their acting seriously in their movies even the corny ones. If you know the folklore about the MANY Japanese spirits in this movie, you will have a big advantage over the casual viewer. The price is pretty steep, but if you are a diehard fan of Japanese live action and Folklore get it. Everyone else I suggest renting it first.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse