Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Greatest Hits
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 22, 2000
It's tough being an aging rock band in the pop world. At a certain point both fans and record company turn away from your music and focus on what's hot now. ZZ Top, I think, has suffered this fate. While they still continue to make good music, no one seems to be listening anymore. Fine. I still like them. I still buy their cds. This compilation is the only best of ZZ Top that's worth buying for now. They really should have two disc or three disc retrospective like The Cars have and ELO has. However, this one disc compiles some of their greatest 70's and 80's hits in one place with a couple of new songs for 1992, "Viva Las Vegas" and "Gun Love." At 18 tracks this is a nice buy. No extensive liner notes though. After 1992, ZZ Top released Antenna in 1994, which dropped the synthesizers and went back to hard rocking blues. Then they released 1996's Rhythmeen, which seemed like they were going for a more mud-swamp, mid-tempo hard rock blues. In 1999 they released XXX which finds them still rocking the blues but with a bit more fun like they had before 1990's Recycler. This Greatest Hits, however, is perfect for those wanting a sample. This is a must have for any rock collector.
33 comments| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2002
I understand that a lot of the long time ZZ Top fans feel that this collection missed a lot of the classic, older tracks. I feel the same way when I listen to something like Def Leppard's best of collection, as I feel that there is not enough focus on the early, hardest rocking stuff. But from my perspective (i.e. growing up listening to '80s music), this ZZ Top collection is just about right, as it has just about all of the songs by this band that I grew up listening to.
My one real complaint about this collection is the remastering/remixing of such classics as "La Grange" and "Legs". Why do the artists and/or record companies believe that we would want anything different from the original versions on a greatest hits collection? I also would like to see the song "Stages" from the "Afterburner" album--as it was a mid-'80s radio favorite of mine. Overall, though, this collection rocks. From the crunching riffs of "Give Me All Your Lovin'" and "Got Me Under Pressure" to the classic '70s rock of "Tush" and "I'm Bad, I'm Nationwide" to the more recent but still enjoyable "Doubleback" (from "Back To The Future II" sound track originally), this album gives a great taste of this classic blues-based rock band. Also enjoyable is the raunch of "Pearl Necklace" and "Tube Snake Boogie" as well as the rare slow ZZ Top track "Rough Boy"--also a mid-'80s favorite.
In summary, this is a fine collection to get an overall taste of what this band was about in their prime. Definitely a recommended purchase for any '80s fans of the band and '70s fans of the band who still enjoyed them when they became popular later on.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2002
This Texas trio, comprised of Billy Gibbons, Dusty Hill, and Frank Beard KNOW HOW TO ROCK! This is an absolutely fabulous hits collection. It really should've been a 2 disc set, because these guys have had so many great songs that it is impossible to cram them all into one disc. The 80's rolled around, and ZZ experimented with the new technology, fusing keyboards and synthesizers with their legendary blues rock, and it was a formula that absolutely worked. If you liked the 80's version of ZZ, then you'll love this CD! I love all of their music, 70's, 80's, 90's and beyond. My fav's are the cuts from the Eliminator and Afterburner albums. Absolute fav tracks are 'Sharp Dressed Man', 'Gimme All Your Lovin', 'My Heads In Mississippi, 'Rough Boy' and the 70's hit 'La Grange'. Some of my other favs are missing, songs like 'Velcro Fly', 'TV Dinners', 'Stages' and the original version of 'Legs'. The version of 'Legs' in this collection is the re-mixed version(but is still a great song). This is still a 5-star collection that is worthy to be at the top of your music collection. Another great CD to get is their greatest hits package from the 70's "The Best Of ZZ Top". These guys are just plain cool, and they know how to rock! If you don't have it, my advice to you is get it ASAP! ROCK ON!!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2005
ZZ TOP-GREATEST HITS: Originally "That Li'l Ol Band From Texas" was a greasy power trio steeped in gutbucket southern bloozer rock which served their legions of fans admirably. Starting with the mega-selling ELIMINATOR, those infernal curses of rock and roll, the dreaded synthesizer and the sequencer, began to dominate their sound. A red hotrod, dark shades, gyrating "Top-ettes", and Rip Van Winkle beards completed their schtick in trade. If any or all elements of this MTV makeover appalls the RNB purist in you, then pick up a copy of THE BEST OF ZZ TOP, crank up JESUS JUST LEFT CHICAGO or BEER DRINKERS AND HELL RAISERS, and pretend these cats called it quits in 1982. Otherwise, read on...GREATEST HITS offers the interchangable SHARP DRESSED MAN and GIMME ALL YOUR LOVIN' as the best of their musical metamorphesis, while the nadir is represented by new wavey duds SLEEPING BAG and VELCRO FLY (the latter thankfully missing here). The classic booty ode TUSH, JOHN LEE HOOKER chug-fest LA GRANGE, and funky fashion statement CHEAP SUNGLASSES are welcome "oldies", but where's their soul-searin' cover of SAM AND DAVE's STAX chestnut I THANK YOU? A new version of VIVA LAS VEGAS, complete with Elvis soundbites, is either good or awful, depending on your tolerance for such stuff. In short, if you like your ZZ over the Top, GREATEST HITS is a no-brainer.

RATING: THREE RAZORS
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 1999
I have always felt ZZ Top was the most original thing in music. This "Greatest Hits" CD proves it! This collection mostly covers their late 70s, 80s and early 90s songs. If you want to hear some of their powerful early 70s stuff pick up the "Best Of.." They do sprinkle in a few early classics on this "greatest Hits" CD. Songs like "Tush" and "La Grange." Like always when your a true fan of a band you can think of some songs you would have left off and replaced with others. Over all this will give you the hits like "Legs", "Sharp Dressed Man", "Sleeping Bag", "Cheap Sunglasses" and so many more. Could have done without the cover of Elvis's "Viva Las Vega:("
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2000
I had never been much of a fan of this Texan group before, previously well-known for boogieing with the best of them, rock-music-wise. I had only heard "Sharp Dressed Man" and the original version of "Legs" on the radio. And that was before I finally rented and watched the "Back To The Future" movie trilogy, and saw this funky trio as the band in 1885 Hill Valley in the third. And I absoutely LOVED the sound of "Doubleback" off of it's soundtrack. So, about a year later, I found this collection in my local used-music store, and snapped it up. Reading the rather self-serving liner notes, I was skeptical of the down-south blues-band sound at first, but after about two or three listens, I was truly a real fan for sure. My favorites from this CD besides the aforementioned three would have to be "Gimme All Your Lovin'", "Pearl Necklace", the sung-by-Dusty Hill-remake of "Viva Las Vegas" (very funky), "Got Me Under Pressure", and "Planet Of Women". The remaining rest are all right too, I suppose. Anyway, I am indeed aware that this material only goes up to 1992, and I haven't heard any of the songs from "Antenna", "Rhythmeen", or from the apparently dissapointing "XXX", according to recent customer reviews. So, for the earlier-era (mostly from the '80's) sound of ZZ Top, pick this compilation up today, these three certainly at one time had a sound all their own! Quite cool, indeed!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2008
When ZZ Top's music was first put onto cd (1987 or so) all of their material from 1971 to 1976 was 'futurized' with reverb added and drums remixed to match the sound/success by Eliminator and Afterburner. The thought was that they would need to tweak them slightly to get people to buy them who had already bought their albums on vinyl. This is not usually done. But it was with ZZ Top and Frank Zappa's catalog. And in the case of Zappa, most original vinyl mixes have been re-salvaged nicely.

So, pretty much everything here is not what ZZ Top actually meant to put on record. After listening to it for years and years (radio) many people might think so. The only albums that have been remastered and sound like their original selves is Tres Hombres and Fandango! Also, there is Rancho Texicano: The Very Best of ZZ Top (2 disc) and Chrome, Smoke & BBQ [Box Set]. Every track found on Rancho Texicano is also on the box set. But that Chrome box set is top notch and sounds fantastic! So does Rancho Texicano!

And that's it. Greatest Hits, One Foot In The Blues, ZZ Top Six Pack and all the main albums from 1970 to 1976 (minus the 2006 remasters (Tres Hombres and Fandango!) are not worth it to me. You get 75 - 80% of all those albums on the box set anyway. Eventually, these albums will be re-issued and they will lose their futurized imperfections. That will be a great day! Long live the Top!
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2008
ZZ Top is the eclectic Texas blues/boogie and hard rock band that features the two front men (Billy Gibbons on guitar, Dusty Hill on bass) with trademark dark sunglasses and very long full beards. Drummer Frank Beard has no beard. All three are original members from the band's inception as a cosmic cowboy blues/hard rock trio in 1969. Billy Gibbons is widely respected as one of the best electric blues/rock guitarists in the business.

ZZ Top - Greatest Hits (1992) mostly covers the trio's 1980s techno-boogie working-class chic MTV years, but that doesn't mean that this collection isn't worthy. On the contrary, this is great stuff that any true ZZ Top fan would like. Sure, they use drum machines and electronics on a lot of these songs, but Billy Gibbons' loud and bluesy guitar and humorously sly vocals are still front and center, and everything here is unmistakably ZZ Top.

The collection does briefly touch on the band's early years. La Grange, Tush, Cheap Sunglasses and I'm Bad, I'm Nationwide are all from the band's Tex-Mex blues and boogie years in the seventies, but unfortunately the classic Waiting For The Bus/Jesus Just Left Chicago wasn't included, and that is why I docked this collection 1/2 star. That's an unforgivable oversight, but it doesn't steal all the joy from this set. There is still a lot of good ZZ Top music here. Gimme All Your Lovin', Sharp Dressed Man, Legs, My Head's In Mississippi, Rough Boy, Tube Snake Boogie and much more. They even threw in a couple of new songs, Gun Love and their version of Elvis' Viva Las Vegas.

ZZ Top - Greatest Hits includes eighteen songs, and if you're in the mood for hearing ZZ Top music from their highly successful MTV years, this covers the era as well as it really needs to. I'm a fan of the band's early years (Tres Hombres is my favorite ZZ Top album), but I like this era as well. So while I mostly listen to the early stuff, every now and then I'll break out ZZ Top - Greatest Hits and recall all of those cool ZZ Top videos that were on MTV in those days and rock out Tejas style.
1111 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2001
This is an excellent collection of ZZ Top hits. Some of the classics, particularly "La Grange", have been re-mixed with WAY too much reverb. In my opinion, this ruins a classic sound, which was very tight and done right the first time around.
For the real mix, buy "The Best of ZZ Top". This older hits collection has many other ZZ Top hits that are missing from "Greatest Hits", including "Waitin' for the Bus", "Jesus just left Chicago", "Just got Paid", "Beer Drinkers and Hell Raisers", and "Heard it on the X".
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
All their hits including ones I hadn't heard. After listening to it, I had to go to youtube to see the videos I remembered from years ago. Their sound is awesome and tight. The only disappointment was the last song...Legs. For some reason, the version they put on the album was the 'remix' version...and it sounds...wooden. Hence only 4 stars. Other then that, it is an album that one can listen to start to finish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse