Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 50 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 79 reviews
on August 1, 2016
This is the standard text for a reason. the 4th edition is much needed, although the typeset selection is slightly obnoxious for people used to the SBL font. as always the slightly lutheren bent is still present and should be checked against something like Little and Scott's Lexicon for serious academic work, but the pastor/scholar this book should be within arms-reach on every desk.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2016
This is an excellent example of the bookmaker's art. The book is large but sturdy with good thickness to the page so there's no "bleed-thru." The content builds on the work of earlier superlative scholars of both biblical and extra-biblical literature. The latest editor, Frederick Danker, was my professor and an acknowledged expert in his field, yet his focus in the classroom was to make the ancient texts applicable to the spiritual welfare of modern and post modern humanity. I recently wrote a homily with a heavy focus on the biblical word 'peace' and found the definitions in this lexicon for the Greek words for peace--nouns, verbs and adjectives--very helpful for understanding the message of Jesus to his disciples.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2016
Probably the best Lexicon available. I did not buy a new one as the cost was very high.This used one was in pretty decent shape for less than $100. Just a reminder to those purchasing......you must be able to read Greek in order to use this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2015
One of the best lexicons one can own! The historical background and comparative usages it provides greatly add value to this work. It should be used by serious students of Greek as well as those who are serious about exegeting a text accurately.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
What is there not to love with this edition with a much improved lay out?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2015
I like this lexicon, but you have to know the root words to be able to find what you are looking for. Thankfully, the scriptures referenced are in bold, so it makes it easy to find them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
After being hesitant to drop the money on this reference work for almost 2 years, I finally gave in and ordered. I must say, I was not disappointed at all. This is an absolute necessity for ANYONE who wants to work through the NT Greek and be faithful to the Biblical text! Just forgo buying a few of the modern Christian books coming out every week and save up to buy this. You will be much more blessed and edified by the years of use you'll get out of this work
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2015
I took too long in purchasing a copy which is far more expedient than making many trips to a library. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2011
These reviews constitute such a unanimous flood of approval that it is difficult to add much original thought to what has already been said. All I can offer is that this lexicon deepens, widens, lengthens and heightens your understanding of the Koine vocabulary, so that your apprecation and perception of each word becomes three dimensional instead of one dimensional, in a manner of speaking. The definitions are honed using so many sources, both from within the Bible and outside of it, that you have a well of information for each word, especially those requiring multiple shades of definition.
This is an expensive volume, but a wonderful one, and it is right at the top of the food chain when it comes to Greek study aids, as far as I am concerned. BDAG has the potential to add exceptional depth and clarity to one's understanding of the Koine, and what more could one ask for?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2015
I do specialize in all Biblical languages, and I work with Ancient Greek a lot, therein, and I use this book a lot. I highly recommend it for its scholarship. It's just one of those books you get on a very tight budget. It's a keystone work for the private library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse