Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now toystl17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$7.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 904 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,570 reviews
on February 3, 2017
Abject cruelty and the rarest compassion coexist on death row in this Louisiana prison in 1935. Paul Edgecomb (Tom Hanks), head guard, exhibits the latter. The green mile refers to the final walk of inmates to their deaths along a green corridor. A marvelous huge man and recently arrived prisoner is John Coffey (Michael Clarke Duncan), convicted in the rapes and murders of 2 young girls. Coffey keeps urging guard Edgecomb, who is suffering excruciating pain from what is likely kidney stones, to go to him. Finally he succumbs, and is stunned as he watches the huge hand of Coffey reach through his bars and firmly grasp his genitals. Then comes a great gyration and explosions of light. Coffey doubles over, ostensibly extricating the pain from Paul and taking it into himself, until a wild collection of bits of matter explode from Coffey's mouth, signaling the release of the vicarious pain. And then Coffey is spent and collapses in exhaustion. What results from this amazing gift, you will see. The bond that forms between these 2 and the mutually supportive dynamics are moving. The paradox of this supposedly cruelest of men as a symbol of the most exquisite empathy is breathtaking. This is a casting phenomenon -- such exceptional acting everywhere! The directing and writing by Frank Darabont, adapted from Stephen King's novel are so worthy. Cinematography, editing, artistic and special effects,all filmmaking disciplines are extraordinary and in perfect sync. It's a film for the ages, a must see!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2016
A beautiful story about hope and love and forgiveness. This is a very heartwarming story that sucks you in the entire time. An innocent man who has the mind of a child is on death row for a murder he did not commit. But throughout the time he awaits execution he has nothing but simple love for all he is in contact with. He has a special gift of healing that hurts himself whenever he uses it. But he selflessly heals others--the same people who are to put him to death (Not their desire..just their "job"). I would encourage anyone to watch this story. This is Stephen King at one of his finest.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
Working on death row, the green mile (because the floor is green), is manned by Tom Hanks and several other man as guards. The place is supposed to be mellow to keep the inmates calm. John Coffey, a very large black man is a new inmate with special powers (which you'll find out) and Dell has a trained mouse named Mr. Jingles who is present throughout the movie. It's a great movie and I hear that it was written. Y Stephen King.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2016
Always a favorite of mine. I love how Tom Hank's character shows the prisoners respect although in his position of authority he doesn't have to do so. Also is a great reminder of how flawed our justice system is and how inhumane the death penalty can be. This film makes you think about your feelings on the subject. While there is no doubt the "Billy the Kid" character deserved to be there there is a question as to two of the others, Dale and John Coffey, should be especially given how low their mental functioning is and their ability to understand things on an adult level. Great film, I enjoy it each time I watch it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2015
The Green Mile just had to be watched again, and maybe again after that!

I fist saw it as a first run release. I had considered seeing it a second time, but that's not really me- to repeat a movie.
I heard about the passing of Michael Clark Duncan, "Big Mike".to fellow actors.
I then heard about Tom Hanks cracking up the members during the Memorial service for Big Mike.
I was reminded of both of them and the memorable performances in the Green Mile, and HAD to see it again!

Tom Hanks plays Paul Edgecomb the Warden in a penitentiary, who oversees the "Green Mile" on death row.
The character has a fairness worthy of the supreme court justices, as portrayed by Hanks, unusual for a "jail house movie"
however this is Stephen King, so its not going to be any typical Jail House flick!
Its the character played by Michael Clarke Duncan's character, John Coffey that should have spawned the Innocence project
back in the 1920s. Illiterate, quiet and afraid of the dark, you can see how he was presumed guilty by the circumstantial evidence surrounding a crime in that point of American history, southern locale, and cultural environment. Not to mention the unintelligible response given to the circumstance by Coffey. "I couldnt take it back"

Told in a first person narrative through Hanks character in old age, the story (without spoilers) was a pivotal point for
everyone working in the prison at the time. Coffey touched all of them, especially anyone he was close enough to physically "touch".

A side note, Michael Jeter also delivers an outstanding performance as "Delacoix"
If you shy away from the spookiness of Stephen King, dont! This is a heartwarming semi supernatural tale that's
suitable for all ages. Its an atypical feel good for King, written so well that you wont want to miss a minute without hitting "pause".
A :MUST SEE
(at least once).
Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
Upon receiving this movie, having only seen bits and pieces of it here and there, I knew what to expect, but at the same time wasn't sure quite what to expect. I'm very glad that I took the chance on this film in all respects. The movie is indeed rather long, but the acting is brilliant as well as the story captivating, and it's definitely worth a purchase at all costs.

In a Louisiana nursing home in 1999, Paul Edgecomb begins to cry while watching the film Top Hat. His elderly friend Elaine shows concern for him, and Paul tells her that the film reminded him of when he was a corrections officer in charge of death row inmates at Cold Mountain Penitentiary during the summer of 1935. The scene shifts to 1935, where Paul works with fellow guards Brutus "Brutal" Howell, Harry Terwilliger, and Dean Stanton.

One day, John Coffey, a giant black man convicted of raping and killing two young white girls, arrives on death row. However, he is shy, soft-spoken, and emotional. John reveals extraordinary powers by healing Paul's urinary tract infection and resurrecting a mouse. Later, he heals the terminally ill wife of Warden Hal Moores. When John is asked to explain his power, he merely says that he "took it back."

Percy Wetmore, a sadist with a fierce temper, has recently begun working in the death row inmates block; his fellow guards dislike him, but cannot get rid of him because of his family connections to the governor. He demands to manage the execution of Eduard Delacroix, promising that afterward, he will transfer to an administrative post at a mental hospital. An agreement is made, but Percy then deliberately sabotages the execution: Instead of wetting the sponge used to conduct electricity and make executions quick and effective, he leaves it dry, causing the execution to malfunction dramatically.

Meanwhile, a violent prisoner named "Wild Bill" Wharton has arrived, to be executed for multiple murders committed during a robbery. At one point he seizes John's arm, and John psychically senses that Wharton is also responsible for the crime for which John was convicted and sentenced to death. John "takes back" the sickness in Hal's wife and regurgitates it into Percy, who then shoots Wharton to death and falls into a state of permanent catatonia. Percy is then admitted to Briar Ridge Mental Hospital as a patient rather than an administrator. In the wake of these events, Paul interrogates John, who says he "punished them bad men" and offers to show Paul what he saw. John takes Paul's hand and says he has to give Paul "a part of himself" in order for Paul to see what really happened to the girls.

Paul asks John what he should do, if he should open the door and let John walk away. John tells him that there is too much pain in the world, to which he is sensitive, and says he is "rightly tired of the pain" and is ready to rest. For his last request on the night before his execution, John watches the film Top Hat. When John is put in the electric chair, he asks Paul not to put the traditional black hood over his head because he is afraid of the dark. Paul agrees, shakes his hand, and John is executed.

As an elderly Paul finishes his story, he notes that he requested a transfer to a youth detention center, where he spent the remainder of his career. Elaine questions his statement that he had a fully grown son at the time, and Paul explains that he was 44 years old at the time of John's execution and that he is now 108. This is apparently a side effect of John giving a "part of himself" to Paul. Mr. Jingles, Del's mouse resurrected by John, is also still alive -- but Paul believes his outliving all of his relatives and friends (including Elaine, who is shown to have died at the end of the movie) to be a punishment from God for having John executed, and wonders how long it will be before his own death.

This is such a brilliant film and yet another adaptation of a novel that was never paid its full respect.

Definitely a keepsake for the truest movie buff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
Not sure why it took me so long to watch this movie. I had the same (unknown) issue with Shawshank Redemption. Maybe it has to do with my preconceived ideas about old-timey prison movies. But I ended up loving Shawshank (I guess who didn't?) and, yes, I ended up loving Green Mile, too! What changed my mind was a description that included the words "supernatural" and "mystical". What? It's not a movie about people in striped pajamas? Anyway, if you've lived the culturally secluded life that I have and you STILL haven't seen the movie, you might as well jump on the band wagon! I think you'll be surprised. I know I was. Have something nearby in case stuff gets in your eyes. One last thing. To prove I wasn't just having a weak moment, I showed the movie to my mom. That lady can sleep through anything! But she was riveted! And it she stays up the full 3 hours, you KNOW it's good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2015
Great film about seeing past the superficial aspects of someone, and their perceived shortcomings/faults, and finding the true strength of their heart. Also touches on the egocentricity of someone with new "power" and a connection to real power, and how cruelty combined with that makes for a dangerous combination- and beautiful karma. I always get more out of this film each time I see it. Great ensemble cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2001
Writer-director Frank Darabont adapts Stephen King's story for the screen, choosing to let the characters and plot gently unfold at a leisurely pace ... thus creating a splendid example of visual story-telling. Tom Hanks, as the tale's narrator, once again demonstrates his incredible generosity as an actor; although his is the leading role, he delivers a superb ensemble performance that never overwhelms his co-stars. It's nice to see him reunited with Gary Sinise ("Forrest Gump") and Barry Pepper ("Saving Private Ryan"), and his scenes with the wonderful Michael Clarke Duncan give the movie its emotional heart. Great work is also turned in by Michael Jeter as the sympathetic Del, Doug Hutchison as a wormy guard, and Patricia Clarkson as the woman who receives a miracle. It's also nice to see veteran players Dabbs Greer and Eve Brent (she played Jane to Gordon Scott's Tarzan in the 1950's) given a chance to shine in the roles of the aged Hanks and his nursing home romance. Worth seeing for the performances alone, the film also offers a wonderful blend of drama, mystery, and fantasy; some striking sets; and is beautifully photographed.
The DVD is a real treat. The film to video transfer cannot be faulted; picture and sound are both sharp and clear. And there are some great bonus features, including the theatrical trailer and a short production documentary (make sure you watch this all the way to end -- past the credits -- or you'll miss a great comedic payoff). "The Green Mile" is solid gold, and this is one DVD that deserves a space in your home theatre library.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2017
10 by 10!
I rarely give a FIVE star rating - regardless of the item.
But this movie ... you need to see - to understand why.
Don't forget the popcorn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse